We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooftop bar not what it used to be”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel
Ranked #39 of 93 Hotels in Columbia
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Went to the rooftop bar last Saturday night. I haven't been in a while so I didn't know there were changes. I went to order different martinis from the menu they used to have. Evidently they are no longer serving food and no longer have a martini menu with specialty drinks. When we asked about it at the bar, the blonde bartender was rude and acted like we were crazy for asking for the menu. They also used to have waitresses coming around asking for drink orders and they did not have that either. I was with a friend who had never been and was from out of town, I was so embarrassed by the service, we left.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank winthropdsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina B, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am so sad to hear about your experience at the Rooftop. Please know that this is very out of character for us, and I am working with the Food and Beverage Director to seek out not only the staff member that made your visit unpleasant but also to get the establishment back to its original glory.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (583)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

457 - 463 of 583 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2012

Checked in on 4/18/2012 and was greeted by two of the most warm and friendliest young ladies. My check in process was smooth and fast; plus one lady was so kind to recommend a special Starbucks drink that was whipped up across the hall in what seems like seconds. The room was small, but cozy and had lots of character; dark hardwood floors, moldings, small comfortable club chair and the piece de resistance....flat screen TV in the bathroom.
The bed was perfect; not too soft or too firm and it was at the perfect distance from the television. The bathroom lacked a tub (only a shower) but was clean, even under the rim of the toilet (yes...I checked),and the towels were absorbant and soft.
I had no disturbances while there (no noise in the hallway or from the street) and from what I can see, they run a tight ship.
I will stay again if the opportunity presents itself.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ATLtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina B, Sales Coordinator at Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2012

Dear ATL Traveler,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property! We are so honored that you chose to stay with us and pleased to hear all about your positive experience with our staff and with our accommodations. We know that comfort, convenience and attentive service are top priorities for our guests, so it we are always glad to hear that we have fulfilled that expectation. We hope you will choose to visit with us again in the future!

Warm Regards,

Sheraton Downtown Columbia Management


PS: If you would like to experience our jetted garden tubs, simply request one when you make your reservation and front desk will be happy to accommodate your preference upon availability!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

We had a very nice overnight stay at this historic hotel in downtown Colmbia. There are a lot of nice walks for your dog(or yourself). The bedding was comfortable and the room very quiet. The staff was excellent from the valet to the lady who checked us in.

Room Tip: We had a corner room and it was very quiet. I think you are better the higher up you go because it i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvonne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina B, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2012

Hey! and thanks so much for taking the time to review our property! We are so happy that your family (including your dog of course) could stay with us and enjoy everything our hotel has to offer! I hope that you guys come back and visit us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

I stayed here last night (4/18). Loved the room, even if it was a bit tight (it managed to use the available space pretty well). A couple of cool features, including the bathroom TV. The internet connectiion, on the other hand.... I tried to use the internet in my room, no success, even with the ethernet cable in the room. The staff, however, was extremely helpful and provided me access to the club room to use the wireless connection in there. Would I stay again... Absolutely.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whit_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina B, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our property! I really appreciate your kind words about our staff and look forward to passing it on during our next "all staff" meeting. I am sad that our internet issues carried over into your room. We have been working with our internet supplier, on getting the connectivity working properly on all sides of the property. I look forward to having you stay with us in the future, and having all parts of your stay be as exceptional as the other.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Nice Sheraton on Main Street in Columbia. Walk to the Statehouse and don't miss the rooftop bar and the martini bar in the old bank vault.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrizSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina B, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2012

Thanks for taking the time to review our property! We're so happy that you got to enjoy the many ammenities and venues at our property!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

This is a fine old hotel, tastefully brought up to date, with front desk staff as friendly, pleasant and helpful as I've ever encountered. Entering the quaint little lobby we were anticipating a wonderful stay. Walking into our 15th floor room, I was impressed, and certain I was going to rate this grand old place high. But then we discovered that, while there were two TVs (the room and in the bathroom), there was only one remote control. No big deal. Then nature called and I discovered the commode seat was loose. Then we pulled back the duvet and it weighed a ton!. It was much too heavy to sleep under. But we didn't sleep a lot since we found two tiny SPIDERS in the bed. I pulled everything off and checked behind the headboard, and determined those two were not part of an infestation. I really don't know what rating to give. "Average" doesn't describe it. It wasn't really "Poor," and certainly not"Terrible." I'd like to give it a "Disappointing!"

The next morning we went to the Club Room for breakfast. It was unattended, the cans of heat that were supposed to keep the eggs, bacon, etc., warm had not been lit (everything was room temperature or cold), there was no juice, no napkins, trash everywhere, and I got half a cup of coffee before the coffee urn ran out. We called the desk to report the situation, but had to leave before anyone came...if they ever did.

Oh, one other thing. We discovered you either park on the street at a meter, in a pay-by-the-hour city garage that is an elevator, an unfriendly ally, and about a block walk to the hotel lobby, or pay $24 for valet service. Didn't care much for those choices. The Marriott, next door, has a direct indoor access to the parking garage.

Again, the desk staff was exceptional, the old building delihtful, the room well appointed, updated, and clean, but spiders, unbearable bed covers (literally), loose commode seat, one remote for two TVs, and the inexcusable conditions at breakfast in the Club Room... Dear Sheraton, thanks, but we won't be back to your Columbia hotel!

Room Tip: Check it out before you settle in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PGinNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina B, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. Without guests such as yourself it is sometimes difficult to pinpoint what we can do to make a better stay for our guests. I am so pleased to hear that your encounters with the Front Office staff were exemplary, but saddened that the remainder of your visit experiences did not match. I know that we are pushing forward with finding an attendant for the Club Lounge, and the new housekeeping managers that are coming in will surely remedy many of the problems that you encountered. I hope that in the future you will give us the chance to turn that dissapointing into a phenomnal!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stayed for two nights at this rennovated former bank and laywers office building in the heart of Columbia downtown. Nicely styled, yet very small room, and noisy from street sounds on 4th Floor. Valet parking appeared the only option and at $22/night it added unexpected expense. Nice breakfast on Club-level for Preferred-Gold members. Stayed using SPG Points, and not sure I would repeat stay if paying full price out-of-pocket.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina B, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2012

First I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our property! We appreciate any input from our guests so we can adapt our methods to best fit your needs. I am so happy to read that you had such great encounters with our employees, but saddened by the fact that you might not be willing to make a return back to our property. I do want to let you know that we are working towards making better parking options for our guests, and that I would welcome any further input on what we could do to better future guest's stays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Columbia Center
Hilton Columbia Center
#9 of 93 in Columbia
951 reviews
0.1 mi away
Columbia Marriott
Columbia Marriott
#22 of 93 in Columbia
595 reviews
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Aloft Columbia Downtown
Aloft Columbia Downtown
#19 of 93 in Columbia
75 reviews
0.6 mi away
Inn at USC Wyndham Garden
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Columbia / Downtown / The Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel

Address: 1400 Main St, Columbia, SC 29201-2806
Location: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Columbia
Price Range: $154 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This sophisticated hotel is 1.3 miles from the South Carolina State Museum and 3.1 miles from Riverbanks Zoo. Modern rooms and suites with vaulted ceilings and hardwood floors offer free WiFi, desks with ergonomic chairs, flat-screen TVs and coffeemakers. Some rooms add whirlpool tubs. Club rooms provide access to a lounge with complimentary breakfast and evening appetizers. There's a restaurant that serves breakfast and dinner, a trendy martini bar in a historic bank vault, and a hip rooftop lounge/bar. Full service Starbucks Reserve store in the lower lobby with fireplace and lounge chairs. Additional amenities include a 24/7 business center and a fitness center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbia Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing