We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice park taken over...”
Review of Finlay Park

Finlay Park
Ranked #63 of 109 things to do in Columbia
Attraction details
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice park taken over...”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

I used to love to come here for the large swings at the top of the park on warm summer nights. This beautiful park has been taken over by the homeless, which is such a shame because it has always been a wonderful place. I hope that this will change for the better, and regular citizens be able to visit the park without having to see people urinating all over the place.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Nanci O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    32
    23
    20
    23
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We can't do it”
Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

My family and I went her yesterday. The park looks very nice. However, it filled with homlesses. Because the area look unsafe, we couldn't enjoy our time and we leaft early.

Helpful?
1 Thank Mohammed202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Summer concert series”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We enjoy Finley Park in downtown Columbia.
They do a summer concert series where you can bring your own chairs, and there are some food vendors or you may bring your own. Free family fun!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank nanasjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto ON
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great water feature”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Went to this park on a Sunday afternoon in October because of its waterfall feature seen on this site. The park itself is quite nice with the waterfall feature which is really cool and the swinging benches and large open green space for picnic or playing games. However, the homeless like to congregate here and the park didn't feel all that safe. As soon as we parked we had a homeless person approach us for money stating meter parking was free and we could give him the money instead. In another part of the park there were about 10 homeless people congregating on the stairs, so we avoided that area altogether as we were the only other people in the area.
The park itself is nice, however the people who make this their home would deter me from coming back and that is the only reason I can't give this park a better rating.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank sakic19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Big park”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Big park, great grassy areas for playing frisbee or picnicking or what have you. Great playgrounds for children. But I wouldn't ever stay after dark. The homeless community often stays in/around Finley Park.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Brenda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Finlay Park also viewed

 

Been to Finlay Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing