We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst than an Average Buffet--Seriously!”

Red Bowl Asian Bistro
Ranked #168 of 973 Restaurants in Columbia
Cuisines: French
Restaurant details
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worst than an Average Buffet--Seriously!”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Food: Chicken with broccoli; General Tso's chicken; Orange peel chicken; Bourbon chicken. Drink: Water, Milk, Cabernet and Chardonnay. Summary: Ridiculously overpriced food (higher price than a meal at PF Chang's--Lord I wish we'd gone to PF Chang's). Nasty quality (e.g. the chicken was low quality, mostly foul-tasting breading, and tasted of fish since it's assuredly prepared in the same uncleaned vat or grill as the seafood. Food was cold. Vegetables were ICE cold.). Poor service (server came back once after 20 minutes, and then had to hunt her down for the check). Wine selection non-existent. Wines of poor quality and taste. Silverware badly beaten up and dirty. Table cracked and filthy. Unbelievable! This was a family meal with visiting relatives, and we thought we'd give it a try since we're all just visiting Columbia and love Asian food. I could go on and on...seriously. Verdict: Needless to say, we won't be back. Avoid!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    19
    9
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Horrible”
Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

This was the worst Asian food ive had and would be surprised to see an asain eating here but I'm also not from the south so this might be typical its just sad..I also got food poisoning from the honey chicken yuck don't go here please

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank caliqueenvega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Matthews, South Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very good value.”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Visit the first time. Great food. Good and fast service. All this for a very reasonable price. Will visit again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hans165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bar Mills, Maine
Level Contributor
105 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“One of our favorites”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

The food here is always good. I love their "bento box" specials--which is a good value for the price and the amount of food served. The staff is usually extremely friendly and helpful. We come here often.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank acchapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Awesome, fresh sushi!”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

My boyfriend and I go here all the time. The service is great and there gamecock sushi roll is amazing!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lovepink823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Bowl Asian Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Red Bowl Asian Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing