We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect combo of traditional and modern in great Southern cuisine” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tombo Grille

Tombo Grille
Reserve with OpenTable
Tombo Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #74 of 962 Restaurants in Columbia
Price range: $11 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Gamewell Drive
Tupelo, Mississippi
Level Contributor
56 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Perfect combo of traditional and modern in great Southern cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

I hosted a group of business associates here in March and it couldn't have gone better. Food was great, service was excellent, atmosphere appropriately casual. The value was exceptional, as the final bill for a group of 12, including appetizers, salads, entrees and a drink or two apiece was less than $600. Would highly recommend.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KevinMTate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    19
    9
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best shrimp and grits I had in a long time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

My husband and grandson had the veal meatloaf and raved about it. This place would be a regular for us if we lived in Columbia.

Helpful?
1 Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Late dinner”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Went in for a late dinner and although the service was very good the food was terrible. The "steak" my date ordered tasted like it was still part of the cow and the rest of her plate looked like the kitchen threw the leftovers in one big slop heap.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hondo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wedges Salad and Shrimp and Grits”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

I would go again, but only for the Shrimp and Grits. They really were quite delicious.

My wife and I ordered an appetizer, two entrees and a dessert here and the only thing I could honestly recommend is the Shrimp and Grits and the Wedge Salad (if you like that sort of thing). Everything else was really just average, but you pay a slightly above-average price.

Also, just beware that if you are under 35 years old you will probably be the youngest person in the restaurant. It may have just been a corporate party going on or something when we visited, but I encountered more than my fair share of blatantly-intoxicated middle-aged people during my visit.The atmosphere really isn't that charming and was actually a bit loud like a bar. That wouldn't be a problem except their menu and booths suggest they are going for a more upscale dining atmosphere, at least that's what it seemed like to me. I just didn't quite understand what crowd they were trying to cater to here.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overpriced food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

For a family if six celebrating a birthday it was overpriced. Overall the food was excellent and service was on par with other high end restaurants in Columbia. I normally go out 2 to 3 times a week to eat with my family. An added benefit was the live music. It's also a 50 plus crowd.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tombo Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing