We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressed”
Review of Golden Corral

Golden Corral
Ranked #438 of 973 Restaurants in Columbia
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
Restaurant details
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Impressed”
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Love the soul food cooking. Salad bar was nice and fresh, all food was hot and ready to eat. Wasn't impressed with the chicken it was kind of uncooked a lil, overall I was impressed. Will I come again yes.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Billy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    11
    8
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Food and Service are taking a slide down.”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Having lived in Columbia for 17 years or so, I have visited the Golden Coral several times. In fact, the restaurant in Newnan Georgia was just across the street from a hotel we frequented and became my son's favorite spot. However, I was sorely dissappointed to find that service at the Forest Acres location near Shandon Church and Fort Jackson in Columbia is taking a slide down hill. A new system should be created to accommodate the number of customers on a busy Sunday afternoon. My companion actually had to hold a tray of six large drinks for ten minutes until a table could be found. As he was at the front of the line, there was no place to rest it. Had he placed it on the railing that ended five customers behind him, people would have been breathing on our drinks or bumping against them.

Worse was the fact that there was some putrid smell like feet while we waited for seating. Maybe it was a sour mop or place in the carpet. I had never considered sanitation before, but looking at the clientele, I began to wonder how many hands, from all economic levels and backgrounds, had handled the same utensils I was using to capture my food selections. I thought about the hundreds of adult and children's hands picking up the same dipping spoons, etc. Uuum Maybe, I should reconsider and wash before AND after I get my food. Because of the quality and service I used to get, I had never made this consideration before.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank gail q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, Minnesota
Level Contributor
63 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Getting tired of the disappointing experiences.”
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

NEVER ONCE has the chocolate fountain been working. Food availability is variable. Need to manage takeout folks grabbing up every piece of meat, leaving diners with only veggies. Wait/floor staff are usually pretty nice. Servers behind bar usually aren't, especially at dessert bar (VERY rude lady). Last time, ice cream machine and chocolate fountain were broke. Get your dishes cleaner too. It's a real shame...been to GC locations in other cities - this one could and should be MUCH better.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“food fresh and price amazing for family of 6”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

all food fresh and hot. cost 29 for family of 6 for lunch. drinks constantly refreshed and plates cleared. staff freindly. kids loved cotton candy.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank 557Dawns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“After Graduation lunch!”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Gets too busy expecially after the ARMY graduations. A lot of the ARMY families and locals congregate on the place for lunch after the graduation. Locals go around the restaurant congratulating the new soldiers and their families. Very nice gesture from them!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank HAYHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Corral also viewed

 

Been to Golden Corral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing