We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't let the appearance fool you Good Food”

Julia's German Stammtisch
Ranked #42 of 974 Restaurants in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
451 reviews
409 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Don't let the appearance fool you Good Food”
Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

After seeing on trip advise found it and at first thought twice about trying it because it is a hole in the wall. But the food was very good. Family run business and a I think the owner is also the cook. Serving are very large. Food cooked fresh while you are there.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank billreedred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    23
    16
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
sumter,sc
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“CASH ONLY”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

great food... bring cash though... they dont take credit or debit cards. easy to miss. service was excellent.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dancingpig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“good food- great little authentic hole in the wall”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stopped here on our way home to Charlotte after a week at isle of palms. Didnt want to go to a chain or fast food, and found this on yelp.  Glad we did!  Julia and her grand daughter were very hospitable. the food was very good- though the spaetzle lacked flavor, in my opinion. They have recently expanded, so past comments about how tiny the restaurant is are not necessarily applicable anymore. We brought our two sons, ages 9 and 5, and they liked it very much. It is pricey, but for home-made food it is worth it to us to pay more.  If we never stepped foot inside another place like Olive Garden or Ruby Tuesdays again it would be too soon, so it makes us happy to support small local restaurants. We will go back the next time we are passing through Columbia. 

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lisay11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great service, family friendly place etc.”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Went to Julia's while visiting Columbia for a conference and to see family though I have been several times in the past. I love the food and the family run atmosphere... it is excellent German food... the best schnitzel you will find stateside, great desserts, good beer and huge portions. The menu is small but they do what they do best and I think it is reflected in the line up you see outside the door. No question... it is a Guy Fieri's Diners, Drive-Ins, and Dive's type of place! It is in an old motel outside Ft. Jackson that I suspect was built during WWII. I understand it has been expanded just recently, but it is not fancy at all, though it is exceedingly clean. So, if you want GREAT German food and don't care if the plates match... GO TO JULIA's!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Food, Huge Portions”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Ate here while visiting Columbia. The staff was friendly, food was good, and the portions were huge! They had freshly baked cakes that I was just too full to try. They do some seasonal things...no soups in the summer, and they had Oktoberfest beers on hand. Not impressive on the outside, but I was going for the food. Would recommend it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Odysseus167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Julia's German Stammtisch also viewed

 

Been to Julia's German Stammtisch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing