We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wholly Crap!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Flying Saucer

Flying Saucer
Ranked #22 of 961 Restaurants in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Greer, SC
Level Contributor
110 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Wholly Crap!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

First, how much beer is there? Second, how much beer can one person drink? The ansers are apparantly, a) an unlimited amount and b) nearly 2,000 different kinds of beer by a single person.

Great service, interesting story, and I'm finding out that there are more of them.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank NobodyInParticular
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    67
    19
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

We had a great time at a big table on the covered porch. It wasn't cramped and the waitress was great.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent beer venue -- OK food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

Beer selection was impressive and wait staff were knowledgeable on the beer selections. Beer specials were an excellent value. Food was OK, but nothing remarkable. I would think of it as typical bar food, nothing more.

I would definitely return, but only for the beer. I would eat elsewhere first or afterwards.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grovetown, Georgia
Level Contributor
230 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Great food, service, and vibe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

I forgot I went ot the on ein San Antonio, OMG, never Againg, the atmosphers was relaxe, an olde english pub feel, the waitress was dea on , DO try the Reuban best this side of Katz Deli in NYC. The beer was alwys super, I never had wamr german potato sald but once agin , NEVER AGAIN WILL I deprive myself of such good grub. This is a great spot off the main stip of downtaown Columbia and highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank emanuel s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Do you like beer and brauts?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

This place has something like 200 beers!
And the food is pretty damn amazing as well!!!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SnakPak3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flying Saucer also viewed

 

Been to Flying Saucer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing