We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food & service”

Mr Friendly's New Southern
Ranked #4 of 983 Restaurants in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent food & service”
Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

We had the baked pimento cheese as an appetizer and it was just as good as advertised! Highly recommend it. You might not need anything else to eat! I had a hamburger and it's one of the best I've ever had. Absolutely delicious! Served with tater tots which were pretty tasty, but nothing special. The service was excellent. We sat on the porch since it was a pretty day. Unfortunately, the view is of the parking lot, but that shouldn't keep you from trying out this place.

Helpful?
1 Thank AmyFromAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    298
    126
    25
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina, United States
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Catered BBQ”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

I attended a conference in Columbia and Mr. Friendly's catered the lunch. The BBQ was delicious as well as all the complementary foods. Would recommend for anyone finding themselves hungry while in Columbia, SC.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deborah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“older local couple re-found this place tonight!”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We live west of Columbia in Lexington County. We'd eaten here a couple of times in 2011. We realized it had been a while and went back tonight. Had blackened shrimp & grits and the taco soup: excellent! We will be back!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank poptopEBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best in Columbia”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We live in Columbia and Mr. Friendly's is outstanding. The menu will have a variety of seafood specials, trout, yellow fin tuna, or whatever else was fresh and the regular menu is excellent. The wine list is outstanding and reasonably priced. No reservations but rarely a long wait.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Definition of Consistent Excellence”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We all have our favorite restaurants and I think most people would admit that sometimes the meal isn't like, the best they have had. However, after eating at Mr. Friendly's for the better part of 14 years, I can honestly say that I have never been there and not been blow away. Lunch, dinner, whatever. It is exceptionally consistently excellent. I take out of town guests there and it's all they can talk about. This restaurant deserves credit for never changing who they are because it's trendy, never compromising and always committing to offer an excellent experience every single day.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pickles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr Friendly's New Southern also viewed

 

Been to Mr Friendly's New Southern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing