We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Southern twist”

Mr Friendly's New Southern
Ranked #3 of 974 Restaurants in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Southern twist”
Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

being from Georgia I definitely love grits ... So my mother , boyfriend and I decided to try the fried grits ... ummm.. I'm not sold on the friend grits but it was about trying something new! The resturant was a bit difficult to find with gps being that weren't familiar with the city. But once inside the atmosphere was very classy and relaxing. The peach tea martini was a bit strong but the captain Morgan's rum and pineapple juice was delicious .. So was my grilled chicken with mash potatoes !!!

Helpful?
Thank Alexzandria J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    289
    121
    24
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Keene, KY
Level Contributor
50 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Would Reccommend.”
Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

Good food with nice combinations of sides that match the entrees well. Excellent service. Would recommend.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ManofBrass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
50 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best Pimento Cheese”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

This place is one of my faves in Columbia! You have got to get the steak with melted pimento cheese, it is to die for! They also have the best fried green tomatoes as a app so you got to try that as well. This place is open for lunch and their lunch menu is wonderful as well, I have lived in Columbia for 15 years and make a point to come here as often as I can!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HallieD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manning, SC
Level Contributor
182 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“A nice surprise”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Hidden away in an alley right near lots of action and very close to Five Points. Very good food and value with comfortable outdoor seating.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BobOZee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent casual, yet upscale dining in Five Points/USC area”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

I have lived in Columbia, SC since 1992 and have been a regular at Mr. Friendly's since the restaurant opened in the mid 1990s. It has been my go-to restaurant in town for so many years because it serves up wonderful, creative dishes and provides consistently excellent service. I have taken many out-of-town guests there, and even my most discriminating guests from "foodie" cities like San Francisco have always been impressed. Tonight I took my family there for dinner and had beautiful, fresh, fried oysters and two soft shell crabs, perfectly seasoned and cooked and served with grits, asparagus, and slaw. My wife had filet mignon topped with house-made pimento cheese. My son had chicken tenders and tater tots (there isn't a children's menu, but ask and they will be happy to fry up some chicken and taters for your kid). Everybody left full and happy, as usual. If your travels bring you to Columbia,you should not miss Mr. Friendly's.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Randall D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr Friendly's New Southern also viewed

 

Been to Mr Friendly's New Southern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing