We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good lunch place”

Mr Friendly's New Southern
Ranked #3 of 973 Restaurants in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
71 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good lunch place”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Had lunch here because it was located near our hotel. Weather was nice so we sat at outdoor patio. Great, satisfying lunch, good service.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rwa006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    291
    122
    24
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

This was my first time to friendlys and I was not impressed.

Downtown Columbia with a large car park attached and valet parking if your feeling lazy.

The staff were preoccupied and did not seem concerned with our welfare, we had 2 plates sent to the table which we had not ordered.

I had meat loaf which I usually like, this was sloppy and tasteless.

Friendlys was more like a dyatime diner than a dinner location.

I wont be rushing to go back.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Roger186402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, SC
Level Contributor
177 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Comfortable, Casual, Memorable Dining Experience.”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Mr. Friendly's is owned by people who love cooking, love hospitality and enjoy eating. Priced only a couple dollars higher than some forgettable, noisy, generic T.G.I. Lobster Garden dinner, Mr Friendly's makes a name for themselves by providing great authentic southern cuisine that almost no one serves and even fewer know how to make well anymore. Fried Green Tomatoes, Shrimp and Grits, Peach Pie. Mmmm. The atmosphere is pleasant and great for conversation. Great bartending is always a priority so if you like a drink with dinner you'll be pleased. Dress is casual. Parking can be difficult, as is everything in Five Points at prime meal times. Save room for a dessert!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DugRau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

Oh my goodness, this place is divine! I am very picky about my crab cakes but these were amazing! Also, make sure to try the pimento cheese- incredible.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TNSel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food!!!”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We recently ate at Mr. Friendly's restaurant in 5 Points and were totally impressed with our meals. If you haven't tried a true southern restaurant, this place is a must. I had the crab cakes with their signature grits. I must tell you, these are not ordinary quick grits from the supermarket but are slow cooked yellow grits with cream and spices and are simply delicious! My wife got the shrimp and grits was also very impressed with her meal. The service was great and wait staff knowledgable and very friendly. They have specials throughout the week so check their website.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carolinacountry296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr Friendly's New Southern also viewed

 

Been to Mr Friendly's New Southern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing