We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible customer service!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Executive Inn & Suites
Ranked #18 of 94 Hotels in Columbia
Wilmington, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Horrible customer service!!!”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I had made a reservation that I needed to cancel. When I called to cancel the reservation the front desk manager Singita Patel told me that I could not cancel anymore since it was after he 48 hr period that you have to cancel. She said the full cost of my two night stay would be charged and spoke to me in a very condescending manner. This "manager" was very inflexible, mean, and would not let me speak. She continued yelling at me until she made me cry out of frustration. I pleaded with her to please calm down and to listen but she just continued until I gave up. I didn't mind paying the deposit which was already charged to my credit card, but it did Not make sense to keep a room that would stay empty when it could be freed up for another customer. She also refused to tell me who her superior was and just kept saying that she was the front desk manager. This was horrible and now I don't know who to report this to. I am so glad I am not staying at this hotel this weekend. I am also glad this was over the phone since In person I would have had a panic attack or something due to the stress. Nobody deserves to be treated like an idiot.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    99
    36
    15
    11
See reviews for
82
77
21
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Love it soo much we are coming back again. Friendly and clean. The beds are made up like in Europe with the sheet and down comforter. Not the usual blanket and bedspread.
I will keep coming back to this hotel whenever I am in Columbia. We enjoyed breakfast and the friendly service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inge312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We had a great time staying at your hotel. Everyone was so friendly and helpful, especially the front dest clerks Oliva and Hanna who were so informative about directions and places to go during our stay. We were there on September 17,18,19, 2013. We just want to thank you for making our long trip very enjoyable and most of all comfortable. The room was extremely clean and the conforter and pillows were the best I ever slept on. I highly recommend this wonderful place for anyone traveling to Columbia, SC.

Room Tip: We stayed in a handicap room so everything was very convienent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlene E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Beware of the Best Western online reservation system! On a Sunday afternoon in the spring, I made a reservation for what I thought was Monday night of the following week. It turned out that the reservation system had gone back to the default date, which was the next day. When I discovered my mistake, I called this motel as well as the BW reservation office, and my credit card, to alert them. I was told that nothing could be done until the following day, since I'd made my reservation after 4pm EST. Next morning I spoke with the manager, who I gather is a Ms. Patel; she told me that she could not cancel my reservation but that she could give me a free night the following Monday. I did not like that arrangement, since I was not sure that our trip was going to be routed through Columbia, SC. The reservation had been a mistake. She would not listen. Since I could get nowhere with her, I tried cancelling through BW reservations, was given a cancellation number, and thought we were done. But no. Ms. Patel insisted that the only thing she could do was to give me the following Monday night "free." In the meantime, my trip was indeed re-routed. The day after I had been given the cancellation number, BW headquarters called to say that they could not cancel my reservation. The agent spoke to Ms. Patel when I was on the line, and she insisted, as always, that she could not change the charge. BW headquarters wished me luck but said that they were powerless in this case. I called my credit card once again to dispute the charge, but there was no charge on the account. Ms. Patel insisted that the reservation was already processed, but it did not show up on my credit card (and I called the Mastercard people repeatedly to check) until some time after the Monday that she was supposedly holding a room for me. When I saw the charge, I filed a claim with my credit card to dispute it. Unfortunately, the credit card company was unable to remove the charge, since the Patels insisted that they had followed the correct procedures regarding cancellation. Technically, they have, though I could probably pursue this further. I was treated unfairly, and I would not recommend dealing with such people.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Elizabeth7555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stay at the Best Western, on Bush River Road, 3-4 times per year, as our preferred home base for South Carolina Gamecocks Football. Our experience here is always extremely warm and positive. You will be greeted by the superb management team of Sangita and Steve Patel and their courteous staff. The hotel is extremely well maintained, rooms are very clean, the pricing is right, the location is delightful - with restaurants on each side (The Villa; for fine Italian and El Chico; for great Mexican (although El Chico is temporarily closed, due to a fire). A bountiful breakfast (hot and cold) is served each morning. Your trip to the Columbia, SC area is off to a splendid start, if you select this fine hotel.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank RichardMoore49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Hotel is about 20 minutes from base and VERY easy access. Lots of convenient gas stations and restaurants within walking distance. Also very easy access and close to Zoo and Earlwood Park (Frisbee golf). Hotel staff was excellent and helpful. Room was awesome and bed super comfortable. Breakfast was so-so. Coffee a bit strong and the gravy for biscuits was cold at 6am.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I travel for business and chose this hotel for it's location. I is the cleanest hotel I've stayed at in quite awhile. Staff very helpful. Good selection for continental breakfast - actually more items than expected.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Julie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Columbia Northwest
10.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Columbia North East
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#21 of 94 in Columbia
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn at Bush River Road
0.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Columbia
3.8 mi away
Comfort Suites at Harbison
Comfort Suites at Harbison
#27 of 94 in Columbia
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Executive Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Executive Inn & Suites

Property: Best Western Executive Inn & Suites
Address: 1720 Bush River Rd, Columbia, SC 29210-6812
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 94 Hotels in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Executive Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Executive Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing