We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For most, this hotel leaves little to be desired”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Columbia Center
Ranked #9 of 93 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 6, 2013

It is beautiful, the service is excellent, the room furnishings are very nice, and it has an excellent restaurant. I am one of a subgroup with acute mold allergies. We did not smell any mold, but as a result of the 'monsoon' in which we arrived, the bedding in our room was damp and the room felt clammy. We had to leave at 3 a.m. in order to limit problems from my allergies. We regret that, as we liked this hotel, and were looking forward to spending several days in it. Unless you have mold allergies, you will find the Columbia Hilton a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonytam, General Manager at Hilton Columbia Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear David M from Camp Hill, PA

Thank you for your recent review of the HIlton Columbia Center. We also love our hotel and greatly appreciate all of your positive comments in the such. If we can do anything to make a future visit to Columbia more enjoyable, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Sincerely,

Tony Tam, General Manager-Hilton Columbia Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (961)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

763 - 769 of 961 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed here twice over the course of a week in late June. It is located downtown, in the heart of the Vista district. It is just off the main street in this section of town and just down the street from both the capitol and the state university.

Self-parking is in a public garage just behind the hotel and conveniently connects with the hotel on the second floor of the garage. Just go through the doors and you are in the hotel lobby. Very convenient.

The lobby itself has a sort of grandeur, with marble floors and columns. The front desk staff is pleasant, efficient and gets you off to your room quickly. The rooms themselves are roomy, especially for a downtown hotel, with comfortable and pretty new furniture and a large bathroom with a walk-in shower. The room was comfortable and quiet absent a few revelers slamming their doors when staggering into their rooms.

Many restaurants are within a 5-minute walk of the hotel. The hotel itself has a Ruth's Chris steakhouse but I don't go there - far too excessive for my taste. We did have a nightcap before returning to our room in the restaurant's small bar area and were treated very nicely and quickly by the bar staff.

I've stayed in a number of hotels in Columbia and I prefer this one. The others were less expensive but they were convenient only to getting on and off the Interstate. Restaurants, bars or other venues for post-driving activities were all quite a drive away. No problem with that at this hotel, with more than two dozen bars and restaurants a very short and safe walk away.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rbirds49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonytam, General Manager at Hilton Columbia Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear rbirds49 from Jacksonville, Florida,

Thank you for your recent review of the HIlton Columbia Center. We also love our hotel and greatly appreciate all of your positive comments in the such. If we can do anything to make a future visit to Columbia more enjoyable, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Sincerely,

Tony Tam, General Manager-Hilton Columbia Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We have been visiting this Hilton since it opened almost 5 years ago. The location and quality of the staff are outstanding for anyone looking for an upscale hotel in downtown Columbia. The rooms just aren't as clean as they have been in the past. Dusty fixtures and many stains on the bathroom textured wallpaper has been the trend the past several times we haved visited the property. The last trip was USC graduation weekend, and the staff did their very best but they were very overwhelmed. There were no pool towels the whole weekend and the dirty ones were only taken care of when we mentioned to the staff the area needed help. Breakfast used to be a wonderful Hilton Gold perk in the steakhouse but now they are also very understaffed and the quality of the food just isn't there anymore. It is still an awesome location; the comfy clean beds and the wonderful staff here is what keeps us coming back every time we are in Columbia.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julesgeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonytam, General Manager at Hilton Columbia Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear Julesgo from Richmond, VA,

Thank you for your recent review of the Hilton Columbia Center. We are so thrilled to have you as a return customer and take care of you as always. Thank you for the kudos and update on your last stay and accommodations, we will defiantly share them with the team. If we can do anything to make a future visit to Columbia more enjoyable, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Sincerely Yours,

Tony Tam, General Manager--Hilton Columbia Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

All the aspects of our trip were great including breakfast. We did have an issue with black mold on the shower curtain that was not addressed however. I would expect this issue will be corrected before our next visit.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Kolbe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonytam, General Manager at Hilton Columbia Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Dear Kolbe from Farmington,

Thank you for your recent review of the HIlton Columbia Center. Your great comments on the hotel will most definitely shared with our team. We all look forward to hosting you again soon in Columbia. If we can do anything to make a future visit to Columbia more enjoyable, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Sincerely Yours,

Tony Tam, General Manager-Hilton Columbia Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Checked in this past Saturday night for 1 night. First of all, the room keys didn't work. Had to get maintenance to fix the lock.Then they told us there were towels at the pool. There were not. Had to go ask to get some towels and then they only brought out 4 towels on a Saturday afternoon. Really? Finally, when I pulled back the covers to go to bed there was a very noticeable blood stain on the sheets and it wasn't from me. THAT was inexcusable in my opinion. They took 10.00 off of the bill. Seriously people? You can do better than that. If I was paying for the room I would have demanded a free night. The blood stain thing is just gross.

Room Tip: Check the sheets for blood stains
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonytam, General Manager at Hilton Columbia Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Dear Erick K from Orlando, Florida,

Thank you for the recent review of the Hilton Columbia Center. The items mentioned in your review are of great concern to us because it's not an experience we want any guest to have at our hotel. We take items like this very seriously and have tried to verify your stay and address it with you. We have researched the past 3 weekends and have not had any guests with the first name Eric or any guests from Orlando, Florida. My best guess is that this review may be for the wrong hotel since we cannot located the name and the items are not indicative of our facility. If we are mistaken, please contact us at 803-744-7800 and ask for the manager on duty. If your future visits bring you back to Columbia, South Carolina, our hotel is the Hilton Columbia Center located at 924 Senate Street.

Sincerely Yours,

Tony Tam, General Manager--Hilton Columbia Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

I stayed here for two nights in March. I hadn't been to Columbia before, so I wasn't too familiar with the area. The staff were extremely helpful in providing restaurant recommendations and directions. They also gave us free breakfast after we had to move rooms (there was an AC issue). Rooms were very spacious and clean. Quick walk to plenty.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
Thank alpacasuitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonytam, General Manager at Hilton Columbia Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Dear alpacasultcase from Boston,

Thank you for your recent review of the Hilton Columbia Center. We are so glad you thought the staff was very helpful, rooms spacious, and very clean. If we can do anything to make a future visit to Columbia more enjoyable, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Sincerely Yours,

Tony Tam, General Manager-Hilton Columbia Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

The staff was very helpful and polite. My room was very comfortable and nice. I was here on business and used one of their meeting rooms. The sales and catering department was probably the best I have worked with in years and I use Hilton for about 20 meetings each year. The location was great. Lots of places to eat within walking distance. Parking was high, but typical for a downtown hotel. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheTravelingMan70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonytam, General Manager at Hilton Columbia Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Dear BigJ54jnha from Sedalla,

Thank you for your recent review of the Hilton Columbia Center. I am so glad you thought our hotel was one of the best staff and facilities you have ever worked with. If we can do anything to make a future visit or meeting more enjoyable, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Sincerely Yours,

Tony Tam, General Manager--Hilton Columbia Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.7 mi away
Inn at USC Wyndham Garden
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District
0.5 mi away
Columbia Marriott
Columbia Marriott
#20 of 93 in Columbia
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Columbia / Downtown / The Vista
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC
0.2 mi away
Aloft Columbia Downtown
Aloft Columbia Downtown
#17 of 93 in Columbia
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Columbia Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Columbia Center

Address: 924 Senate St, Columbia, SC 29201-3158
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Columbia
#11 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
#14 Business Hotel in Columbia
Price Range: $152 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Columbia Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant in atmosphere and striking in detail, the Hilton® Columbia Center is ideally located in the center of the financial, entertainment and historic district. Our hotel provides a spacious haven for business and leisure travelers coming to Columbia, South Carolina. Enjoy our graceful combination of historical architectural elements with modern facilities, chic design, and Southern hospitality....Hilton-style. We feature 222 signature guestrooms and suites including 2 Presidential Suites, 12 Executive Suites, and 3 Junior Suites - all surprisingly spacious and inviting. Each of our guestrooms and suites was decorated with warm rich earth tones and elegant dark woods, floor-to-ceiling windows to entice business travelers and vacationers alike. We offer all the amenities needed to ensure an unforgettable experience each time you stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Columbia Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Columbia Hotel Columbia
Hilton Hotel Columbia
Columbia Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing