We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Columbia Center
Ranked #10 of 94 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Camden, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I recently stayed here as I celebrated my anniversary. The bonus was we were able to go down and enjoy a fantastic dinner at the Ruth Chris restaurant which is located in the hotel. There are plenty of places to eat and socialize across the street as well in the Vista. It is an easy check in and check out and there is a parking garage, which is also attached. Valet parking is also available. There is a fitness room with ellipticals, treadmills, a recumbent bike and some small weights which is also very nice. The bed offered fantastic nights sleep and the pillows were outstanding.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coachreyes55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonytam, General Manager at Hilton Columbia Center, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear coachreyes55 from Camden, South Carolina,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Hilton Columbia Center. I am so happy you chose our hotel to celebrate your wedding anniversary. Please do not hesitate to let us know how we can make a future visit even more enjoyable.

Best Regards,

Tony Tam, General Manager-Hilton Columbia Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    507
    234
    83
    31
    20
See reviews for
239
143
53
379
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for one night on my way to Miami.

I believe for this city that this hotel had a great location and was of great quality.

The staff was warm and inviting. The front desk even gave a voucher for a free breakfast due tot he holiday season. The area around the hotel was clean, safe, and had a young vibe.

The only thing they need to improve is their door handles. The room door unlocks but still will not open without considerable force at times.

Room Tip: High Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianO271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonytam, General Manager at Hilton Columbia Center, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear BrianO271 from New Albany, Ohio,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Hilton Columbia Center. I really appreciate the great comments on the staff and accommodations. If your visits bring you to Columbia, South Carolina soon, please do not hesitate to let us know what to do to make your stay even more pleasurable.

Best Regards,

Tony Tam, General Manager-Hilton Columbia Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

First of all I was very disappointed to discover there are no real luxury hotels in Columbia! This hotel is very impressive from the outside and in the lobby. Very elegant and clean. Stayed in a junior suite with my daughter. It was not clean. There were scuffs all over the walls and doors... The carpet was worn and stained both in the hallways and in the room. Furniture in the living area of this suite was just okay. From the photographs on the website I was expecting a big bathroom with double sinks and a large tub. The photos are deceiving. It is a shame because it is a beautiful older building and it just hasn't been kept up. The housekeeping staff could be definitely be a little bit more on the ball. Rooms need paint , new carpet, and just some tlc in general.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travlingrlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonytam, General Manager at Hilton Columbia Center, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear travelingriz from Myrtle Beach, South Carolina.

Thank you for taking the time to review the Hilton Columbia Center. I do apologize that we did not meet your expectations for a luxury hotel. All of your comments have been taken seriously by our maintenance and housekeeping staff and I am happy to report that the Hilton Columbia has just received it's 2nd consecutive AAA 4-diamond award, one of only about 20 hotels in the entire state and the only hotel in Columbia, South Carolina to receive it. I do hope that you re-visit the award-winning Hilton Columbia Center soon.

Best Regards,

Tony Tam, General Manager-Hilton Columbia Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed here the weekend before Christmas, and we had a great stay. This was our third stay at this hotel, and each time, the outstanding service has stood out. All of the staff members were friendly and helpful, particularly the front desk staff. Our room was very clean and quiet. The room and the common areas of the hotel seemed to be very well-maintained. We had dessert and the breakfast buffet at the Ruth's Chris in the lobby, and both were very good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jwfoodog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonytam, General Manager at Hilton Columbia Center, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear jwfoodog from Columbia, South Carolina,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Hilton Columbia Center. I am very pleased that you chose to spend your Christmas Holiday with us and found the hotel and staff very accommodating. If we can do anything to make a future visit more enjoyable, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Best Regards,

Tony Tam--General Manager-Hilton Columbia Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thurmont, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

Hotel stay was for business meetings. Staff response to questions on local activities was helpful. It is nice to have restaurant on site. My Room was quiet and perfect for business stay. Location downtown is in a walk able area.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tellico1200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonytam, General Manager at Hilton Columbia Center, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear tellico1200 from Thurmont, Maryand,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Hilton Columbia Center. I am very happy that you found our hotel "perfect" for your stay. In the future if we can do anything to make your stay more enjoyable, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Best Regards,

Tony Tam, General Manager-Hilton Columbia Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Just got turned away from guaranteed reservation for the 3rd time this year. Booked room 3 weeks in advance. Went to check and was turned away. Gold Hilton Honors member and this is how they treat you. Last 2 times this has happened the general manager would not call me back. Travel 60+ nights a year and have never had service like this. Terrible hotel and would recommend checking in prior to 4pm with a back up reservation in Columbia if you dare to stay here. Marriott is a better option. This time Hilton has lost a long time loyal customer. Good luck!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PlylerS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonytam, General Manager at Hilton Columbia Center, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Mr. Plyler,

I appreciated your time and the opportunity to speak to you last week regarding your prior reservations. As I explained to you unfortunately sometimes we have unforeseen overbooking and in-house guests request to extend their reservations forcing us to relocate some arriving guests. Our policy is always to pay for any guest's hotels expenses associated with a relocated reservation.

I am glad at the end of our conversation, you gladly accepted my compensation offer and wanted to very much come back to the Hilton Columbia Center to stay with us. Your business and your clients business is very important to us and I look forward to hosting them all in the near future.

Thank you,

Tony Tam, General Manager--Hilton Columbia Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stay often in Columbia to break up a regular trip we make up north. This time we stayed at the Columbia Center Hilton.

The hotel is located downtown, next to the convention center and a stone's throw from the state capital building. Within a short walk are 50 restaurants and bars so there is no shortage of places to spend an evening and fill your stomach.

The hotel itself is a lovely property that echoes the statesman-like quality of the capital. The lobby is large and has a faint Regency feel to it. The rooms are unusually large and are nicely furnished and quite clean. We were on the 7th floor and had a nice view of the downtown area.

Checkin was as efficient and trouble-free as we expect from Hilton. We arrived later than expected and so ate bar snacks and had a drink at the Ruth's Chris steakhouse on the premises. Ruth's Chris is just what you expect from any of their restaurants. The food - even bar food - was excellent, the drinks were nicely put together and the bill was just what we expected. If we had arrived earlier in the evening we would have eaten elsewhere - something less large and less expensive - but we got what we paid for.

If you are a Starbucks fan the closest store is just a block away.

Parking is either self-park at the adjoining public parking garage or valet parking. Park on the second floor and you walk right into the lobby.

All in all a well

Room Tip: Corner rooms are especially nice if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rbirds49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonytam, General Manager at Hilton Columbia Center, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear rbirds49,

Thank you for your recent review of the Hilton Columbia Center. I am so happy you enjoyed our property and amenities. If your travels bring you back to Columbia, please do not hesitate to let us know if we can make any part of your stay more enjoyable.

Thank you,

Tony Tam, General Manager--Hilton Columbia Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Columbia / Downtown / The Vista
0.7 mi away
Inn at USC Wyndham Garden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel
1.0 mi away
Staybridge Suites Columbia
0.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown/The Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Columbia Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Columbia Center

Property: Hilton Columbia Center
Address: 924 Senate St, Columbia, SC 29201-3158
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
#12 Family Hotel in Columbia
#14 Business Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Columbia Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant in atmosphere and striking in detail, the Hilton® Columbia Center is ideally located in the center of the financial, entertainment and historic district. Our hotel provides a spacious haven for business and leisure travelers coming to Columbia, South Carolina. Enjoy our graceful combination of historical architectural elements with modern facilities, chic design, and Southern hospitality....Hilton-style. We feature 222 signature guestrooms and suites including 2 Presidential Suites, 12 Executive Suites, and 3 Junior Suites - all surprisingly spacious and inviting. Each of our guestrooms and suites was decorated with warm rich earth tones and elegant dark woods, floor-to-ceiling windows to entice business travelers and vacationers alike. We offer all the amenities needed to ensure an unforgettable experience each time you stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Columbia Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Columbia Hotel Columbia
Hilton Hotel Columbia
Columbia Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing