We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Columbia Center
Ranked #9 of 93 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Stayed here during a college visit. Pleasantly surprised at how nice this hotel was. staff
was great, very clean, good value, and had a Ruth/Chris Steak house attached. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank surfside08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonytam, General Manager at Hilton Columbia Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2012

Dear Surfside08 from New Cannon, Connecticut,
I appreciate your wonderful feedback on our Hilton Columbia Center. Thank you for taking note of our helpful Hilton team and superb accommodations. We are proud to feature Ruth’s Chris Steak House on our property that is open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Thank you for taking the time to recommend the Hilton Columbia Center and we look forward to having you back again soon.
Thank you,

Tony Tam, General Manager, Hilton Columbia Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (961)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

891 - 897 of 961 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2011

Stayed here for an event on USC campus. Very pleased to have this choice. Convenient to campus & restaurants with a Ruths Chris in the building. Nicely appointed. Attached parking garage is pay only but not outrageous at $10/day for self park. Will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MsVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonytam, General Manager at Hilton Columbia Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2012

Dear MsVB from Charlotte,
Thank you for choosing the Hilton Columbia Center and taking the time to review our hotel. I appreciate your comment on the prime location of our hotel. We are proud to be located within walking distance of various restaurants and other great attractions nearby. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon and please do not hesitate to ask if you need any assistance next time you are visiting Columbia.
Thank you,

Tony Tam, General Manager, Hilton Columbia Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2011

We were on a road trip and decided to stop here for the evening. Had I not been so tired, the location of this hotel is great because of the night life around. We had dinner at Ruth's Chris which is attached to hotel and our food was fantastic. The next morning we went to the workout center which was not a huge area but worked just fine for what we needed. Our room service was less than exciting but overall i thought this hotel had a great staff and the rooms were very comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kruezers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonytam, General Manager at Hilton Columbia Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2012

Dear kruezers from Prior Lake, Minnesota,

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Columbia Center to stay at during your travels. Ruth’s Chris is known for its fantastic food and we are happy to have this option as a key feature for our guests. I appreciate your comment on our wonderful staff and relaxing rooms as we pride ourselves on giving our guests high quality services. If you are ever traveling through Columbia again, I hope to have you back to our Hilton Columbia Center again!

Thank you,
Tony Tam, General Manager-Hilton Columbia Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2011

I have an issue with cleanliness and I just wish Hilton would pay more attention to these things. The room I stayed in with my kids had an amazingly nasty carpet. It was so bad that our white socks turned dark grey. You could actually see the dirt on the carpet and feel it on your skin if you sit. I had to limit my kids to playing on the bed because I was so concerned.
If you get a room with clean carpets it is worth the stay. The staff is very nice and you simple can't beat the location.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reesie1515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonytam, General Manager at Hilton Columbia Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2012

Dear reesie from Atlanta, Georgia,

Thank you for your review of the Hilton Columbia Center. I sincerely apologize for the carpet in your room not being up to our Hilton standard. If there is ever an issue with your room, please do not hesitate to contact myself or a team member and we will get it resolved it immediately. I appreciate your comment about our kind staff and centrally located hotel. We look forward to having you back to the Hilton Columbia Center if you ever find yourself in the beautiful city of Columbia area again.

Thank you,

Tony Tam, General Manager-Hilton Columbia Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2011

I have family and business associates stay at the Hilton when they visit. The staff is friendly and very good at their jobs! I have personally stayed in regular rooms, suites, and the presidential suite -- they are all great rooms and the service is above average across the board. The in-house restaurant is a Ruth's Chris Steakhouse, so food is great! Highly recommend. Plus, the location in The Vista is easily one of the nicest parts of Columbia for visitors to downtown -- there are a ton of great bars and restaurants within easy walking distance to this place.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rainmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonytam, General Manager at Hilton Columbia Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2012

Dear Rainmax from Columbia, South Carolina,

I am pleased to hear that your multiple experiences at our Hilton Columbia Center have been terrific! I appreciate you sharing about having experienced most of our room types and enjoying all of them. We have various room type options that can accommodate the varying needs of our guests. Thank you for your comment on our above average service and our great location; we are proud to have a very professional and friendly staff and to be centrally located within walking distance to a variety of fantastic restaurants. I look forward to having you back to the Hilton Columbia Center again soon, and please do not hesitate to ask if there is anything I can do to improve your stay.

Thank you

Tony Tam, General Manager--Hilton Columbia Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

The Hilton Columbia Center is a newer hotel smack dab in the middle of the Vista with lots of clubs and restaurants nearby for those in town for the night life. We were there with our 19-month old and still enjoyed the hotel. We had a small corner suite with plenty of room for the pack and play and a huge bathroom. While the 'living room' was definitely on the small side, they made excellent use of the hall between the living and bedrooms by adding a small kitchen area.

Overall, the place was clean, the staff pleasant, and our stay was an enjoyable one.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaxineInVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonytam, General Manager at Hilton Columbia Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2012

Dear Maxineln from Virginia,

I am very happy to hear that your stay at our beautiful Hilton Columbia Center was a great experience for you and your family. Thank you for your review of our King Junior Suite guest room, which gives our guests more spacious rooms to accommodate families. I am thrilled that your interactions with our staff were pleasant; we pride ourselves on having a wonderful team that truly values each guest. We look forward to having you and your family back to the Hilton Columbia Center in the near future and please always let us know if there is anything we can do to make your stay more relaxing.

Thank you,

Tony Tam, General Manager--Hilton Columbia Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2011

I stay at well over 25 different Hilton branded hotels per year, and I must say that this property is the best Hilton around. Located in an excellent entertainment district, the Hilton Columbia Center is nestled in the perfect location for business or leisure guests. Just a few steps away from the Colonial Life Area and within easy walking distance of the State House, this hotel offers something for everyone. The customer service is outstanding, as all staff members were extremely professional and courteous. I have stayed at this property four times in the past several months and have never been disappointed. I hope to stay again soon!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank schotelguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonytam, General Manager at Hilton Columbia Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2012

Dear schotelguy from Pageland, South Carolina.

I appreciate your kind review of our Hilton Columbia Center and am thrilled to hear that you had an awesome experience. Our location is in a perfect location for both business and leisure guests who are looking for easy access to restaurants, other businesses, and night life. Thank you for noticing our extremely professional and courteous staff members and we continue to look forward to having you back for many future stays!

Thank you,

Tony Tam, General Manager--Hilton Columbia Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.7 mi away
Inn at USC Wyndham Garden
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District
0.5 mi away
Columbia Marriott
Columbia Marriott
#20 of 93 in Columbia
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Columbia / Downtown / The Vista
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC
0.2 mi away
Aloft Columbia Downtown
Aloft Columbia Downtown
#17 of 93 in Columbia
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Columbia Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Columbia Center

Address: 924 Senate St, Columbia, SC 29201-3158
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Columbia
#11 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
#14 Business Hotel in Columbia
Price Range: $152 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Columbia Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant in atmosphere and striking in detail, the Hilton® Columbia Center is ideally located in the center of the financial, entertainment and historic district. Our hotel provides a spacious haven for business and leisure travelers coming to Columbia, South Carolina. Enjoy our graceful combination of historical architectural elements with modern facilities, chic design, and Southern hospitality....Hilton-style. We feature 222 signature guestrooms and suites including 2 Presidential Suites, 12 Executive Suites, and 3 Junior Suites - all surprisingly spacious and inviting. Each of our guestrooms and suites was decorated with warm rich earth tones and elegant dark woods, floor-to-ceiling windows to entice business travelers and vacationers alike. We offer all the amenities needed to ensure an unforgettable experience each time you stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Columbia Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Columbia Hotel Columbia
Hilton Hotel Columbia
Columbia Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing