We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool”
Review of Liberty Tap Room

Liberty Tap Room
Ranked #13 of 984 Restaurants in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Liberty means many things to many different people. It is a celebration of the great American farmer and the rich bounty he puts on our tables. It is a celebration of America's melting pot of rich ethnic cooking styles. It is a celebration of the resurgence of the hancrafted-brewing style of the pre-prohibition small American brewery. It is a celebration of life, family and the pursuit of happiness. So bring us your hungry, your thirsty and fun-loving, we'll send you home refreshed and fulfilled.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cool”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Wow the cowboy burger bucked me I couldn't finish it. The teriyaki green beans were good. The Collards had to much vinegar. The Crab dip was good. Over all we enjoy our anniversary dinner here.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Liberty Tap Room, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you for dining with us at Liberty Tap Room. We are so happy that you enjoyed your recent experience with us. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    264
    97
    30
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Okay, but won't go back.”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

I generally try to avoid chain restaurants and the Liberty, unfortunately, reminded me of one. They try to gear a menu to apply to all patrons rather than stay with specialties. Of our meals, although the waiter was asked how they cook their steaks and the temperature ordered accordingly, it still came out well over-cooked. When asked for dinner rolls, they simply don't have any.

They do have an extensive beer list, a redeeming factor.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MizzouMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Liberty Tap Room, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you for visiting us at Liberty Tap Room and Grill and thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your experience. We were glad to hear you enjoyed our extensive selection of craft beers on tap, but it was unfortunate to hear your comments on the lack of care and attention to detail we displayed in the preparation of your steak. Being a locally owned and operated restaurant that only serves the highest quality Certified Angus Beef, we take a tremendous amount of pride in providing every guest we encounter with the highest level of service and hospitality possible. From your comments, it is clear we did not entirely succeed in reaching those goals however. We do place a tremendous amount of value in the feedback we receive from our guests, whether positive or negative, and we will be sure to review your comments with our entire staff and culinary team. While your recent experience with us was by no means great, we appreciate the opportunity to correct these mistakes, and we still hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the future. Thank you again for visiting us and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Just OK.”
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Liberty was nothing special. The food was something like a chain restaurant. The service was OK. It was all in all unremarkable for the most part.

Helpful?
Thank pumpga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Liberty Tap Room, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for visiting us at Liberty Tap Room and Grill and thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your experience. We will be reviewing your comments with our Chef and team, as our goal is always to exceed your expectations in every aspect of your visit. We apologize these goals were not met in this recent experience, but we do place a tremendous amount of value in the feedback from our guests, and we will be using your comments as a learning opportunity, as well as a chance to improve upon future guest experiences. We still hope to have the privilege to serve you again soon and we thank you once for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, TX
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great bar!”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

My experience at this bar was completely opposite than the last review. The bartenders were super attentive, even while I was so indecisive. They talk to me about some of the beers they had on draft and my orders were timely. The bar was very busy that night but regardless I was still treated great. Had the pepperoni pizza and a caesar salad, the pizza tasted very good but it was a little soggy in the middle, the salad was delicious. I love that they have a vast number of beers on draft. A hotspot in downtown Columbia.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vtafs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Liberty Tap Room, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you so much for visiting us at Liberty Tap Room! We are so glad that you enjoyed your most recent experience with us. We hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Eh”
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

Came here for an early dinner. Food portion was very big and it was good (I got nachos & associate got chicken salad). The food again was not bad. The drinks/bar was not so great. The drinks are expensive and very small. The bar service was slow and the restaurant was dead at the time we went. We sat in the bar area and I watched the bartender and waiter have about 4 drinks while I waited for mine. Now mine was super small and expensive. I'd eat here again just not get any bar drinks

Helpful?
Thank Grumpylicous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Liberty Tap Room, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for visiting us at Liberty Tap Room and Grill in Columbia and thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your experience. Providing exceptional food and beverage, paired with a high level of service and hospitality, is always our goal at Liberty. From your comments, however, it sounds like we did not nearly succeed in meeting those goals in your recent visit. We do place a tremendous amount of value in the feedback we receive from our guests and we will be reviewing your comments with our team, in order to guarantee this sort of experience is a learning opportunity for us. We look forward to another opportunity to serve you again soon and thank you again for taking the time to tell us about your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Liberty Tap Room also viewed

 

Been to Liberty Tap Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing