We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Inn at USC Wyndham Garden
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$127
$118
Staybridge.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$87
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$186
$149
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$89
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$164
$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$159
$143
SpringHill Suites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$158
$129
Sheraton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,234)
Filter reviews
1,234 results
Traveler rating
792
312
87
27
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
792
312
87
27
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrocking chairssweet teafive pointswafflesuniversity of south carolinamade to order breakfastsouthern charmfree shuttlecollege visitbreakfast was includedomeletshuttle servicefresh fruitmanager's receptionthe location is perfectwonderful stayfront desk staff
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,182 - 1,187 of 1,234 reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2011

I have stayed at the Inn@USC several times over the last few years and enjoyed each time I was able to stay. The front desk is very friendly and helpful, giving suggestions on dining and entertainment in the area. Parking is convenient. The breakfast is the best out of any hotel I have stayed in.

Room Tip: Ask to be in a room away from kitchen and away from laundry, they tend to get loud and may wake you if you are not usually up at 5.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anthonykirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm-usc, General Manager at Inn at USC Wyndham Garden, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2011

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at the Inn at USC! As you mentioned, we are centrally located to all of the best restaurants and attractions in Downtown Columbia. And not to mention, just steps from the historic Horseshoe at the University of South Carolina. We sincerely hope to see you again soon when traveling to Columbia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

It is always difficult to handle a large noisy and demanding group of foreigners, but the staff of the Inn at USC did it marvelously. Helpful, speedy, nice and polite, they managed to make our stay here a great time. The hotel is beautiful and comfortable and a great place to be, but it is the staff that makes it so much more, everybody from Diane to Angela and Valery and so many other wonderful people have turned this into a most wonderful experience for us.

We will recommend the Inn without hesitation, the rooms are clean and spacious, the breakfast is delicious and the wi-fi is free :)

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

We have "no reservations" about recommending The Inn at USC! We've had the pleasure of staying there for the last 3 years on occasion for business combined with pleasure. Never have we been disappointed in our experience. The Inn is clean, tastefully decorated and comfortable. Someone else boasts a "heavenly bed", but the Inn beds are every bit as divine! The Inn is in a fabulous location for walking, shopping and dining. No need to venture out for breakfast! The made-to-order meal, along with piping hot coffee, is consistently delicious. It is a treat to take coffee, iced tea or lemonade (all available in the lobby) out on the porch to sit and rock, relax and read. The grounds are beautifully manicured and something is always colorfully in bloom. The people at The Inn at USC are what truly makes you leave wanting to come back for yet another stay! They consistently fulfill the Mission Statement that is posted upon entry...they are building long lasting relationships, training passionate hospitality professionals while providing one and all with a unique taste of gracious Southern hospitality!

Room Tip: We love the corner rooms with a desk placed at the corner window. Charming!
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm-usc, General Manager at Inn at USC Wyndham Garden, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2011

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your kind comments concerning your recent stay at the Inn at USC! I love that you took special note of our Mission Statement. It's not just a saying on the wall, but it's something to we try to live by everyday. We truly want to build long-lasting relationships while providing a unique, turn-of-the-century experience steeped in Southern Hospitality and Gamecocks pride! Hope to see you again soon when your travels bring you through Columbia!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

My family of three adults stayed 5 days/4 nights when we were in town for a wedding. Our room was very quiet and easily darkened so we slept well. The room had central air with a thermostat that was easy to adjust. The hotel is all non-smoking. As a "scent-sensitive" person, I appreciated that the rooms were very clean but without a trace of scented cleaning products. As other reviewers have said, the breakfast was excellent and the staff friendly. We also enjoyed the free newspapers, the coin washer and dryer, and the opportunity (for an additional small fee) to use the spectacular gym/fitness facility on the USC campus. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm-usc, General Manager at Inn at USC Wyndham Garden, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2011

Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Inn at USC! I'm happy to hear that you found your room to be comfortably and clean. Many people suffer from allergies so we do all we can to offer a clean room that is scent free. We look forward to seeing you again when your travels bring you to Columbia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2011

If you will be visiting the University of South Carolina you cannot find a more convenient and pleasant place to stay. The rooms are very nice. You get a cook to order breakfast in the morning with something to please every one. The omlet was delicious and loved the touch of Old Bay...not to mention the pleasant exchange of conversation with the gentlemen preparing them. The lobby is warm and inviting. The Inn hosts an evening social hour with complimentary fare and a cash bar. You can linger in the lobby on one of the sofas by the fireplace, relax in the dark wood library or rock away in one of the rockers on the covered front porch overlooking campus buildings. There are also two patios with table and chairs. Some rooms have private balconies as well. The Inn's core is a lovely old private home and the staff will give you the history. Look for the apartment building that the Inn was built around and enjoy a lovely stroll on the beautiful campus.

Room Tip: The only negative I can mention is that all bathrooms are rather small. Some rooms are right next to the elevator which could be disturbing at night.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kimshe2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm-usc, General Manager at Inn at USC Wyndham Garden, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2011

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at the Inn at USC! I'm so happy that you found it to be such a special place. It has a homey feel to it that today's hotels don't typically provide - whether it's the rocking chairs on the front porch with a glass of lemonade or a cocktail and good conversation in the library. We hope to see you again soon at the Inn at USC!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews