We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extremely Impressed” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Columbia - Harbison

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Columbia - Harbison
Ranked #3 of 94 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Peoria, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Extremely Impressed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

I've stayed at many hotels. This is the first time the employees were outstanding. They loved their jobs & it showed. They want the guests to be happy & feel warm & welcome. Jessica (bar/restaurant), Will (front desk), Jarrod (cook) & Dwight (the go to man) simply WOWed us. Dwight & Will thank you for making us laugh. Jarrod cooked delicious schezuan wings. Jessica made great drinks & kept the conversations going. Johnathan (cook) was quiet but friendly & oh I wish I had more of his mac n cheese. The burgers were juicy & flavorful. The rooms were clean, beds comfortable & nights quiet. Free cookies, coffee & USA Today. Thank you Hilton, Jessica, Will, Dwight, Jarrod, Johnathan, Natasha, Shetiema, Preston, Matt & Donald. You all & so many more make us want to stay here when we are in the area again. This trip was awesome & fun. Everyone should stay here. There are many surrounding restaurants and the mall close by for your enjoyment too. I almost forgot about the great location because the staff blew me away with their charm, friendliness & personality.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor. The nights were quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seanbranch, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Columbia - Harbison, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Wendy R,

What a wonderful testimony to our hotel and employees. You picked up on the essence of our hotel that makes us and our associates successful; sincerely enjoying their jobs and serving all guests. We have developed a team that only has the best intentions of providing hospitality at its finest. This is a rarity in such a collective form across all employees. We are very lucky to have some a wonderful team. Thank you for recognizing each one of those team members personally as your feedback is what makes our jobs so rewarding. I have shared all of your comments with those individuals as well as the rest of their team. When you are with us your stays will always be awesome and fun. You are right, we are located close to many great options, but you never have to go out when you are with us because you are right at home. We look forward to seeing you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    628
    157
    35
    10
    6
See reviews for
268
161
54
293
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Grayson, Georgia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

We just arrived back home from our quick trip to Columbia. We read all the hotel reviews and decided to wait until we arrived in Columbia before making a reservation. We wanted to actually see the hotels before we made the reservation. I know, I know - what can I say - I guess we love living a little dangerously :-) Fortunately, this hotel (our first choice) had rooms available. This is what we experienced:

When we drove up to the hotel, we saw that it was very well maintained on the exterior - a good sign. The lobby was very welcoming with the fireplace burning nicely as people milled about. When we asked about availability, two of the nicest people at the desk helped us to decide what room we needed. They treated us like honored guests! They were friendly, accommodating and helped us to pick a "suite" instead of a room, and we were not disappointed. My husband and I were traveling with our teenage daughter, and she (as well as us) wanted a little space. The suite was perfect.

When we arrived at our suite, we were very impressed. We had 1-1/2 baths, a kitchenette with a granite countertop, wet bar, microwave and mini refrigerator. There were complimentary bottles of water on the counter for us. All the baths had granite, and the main bath had a separate tub and shower. The tub was a whirlpool tub. There were two TV, too, and a door that connected the two room in case someone wanted privacy. The king bed was firm but excellent for sleeping. The sheets were welcoming and soft. The bed had about 5 super fluffy sleeping pillows. The other room was like a den with a sofa bed; so you essentially had a two room suite. The place was super clean, so clean I was actually shocked. This was the first time in a long time that the place was so clean, I could actually relax and feel at home. Everything smelled nice and fresh, and we were thrilled.

We used the fitness room during our one-night stay. It was not very big, but it was quite adequate with a variety of equipment. There is an indoor pool and Jacuzzi. Everything was very nice. I don't know how old the hotel is, but I guessing fairly new because there wasn't any "odor" or musty, stale air lingering in the hallways and common areas - just a clean smell.

The location was perfect. Right in the middle of commerce and you could find any and everything you wanted, with everything just a "stone's throw" away.

All in all, I can understand the #1 rating of this hotel. We could not find one thing wrong, and we couldn't have been happier. Will definitely stay again.

Tip: If you have kids, or you just want a bigger room, for just a little bit more, go for a suite. They are spacious and offer tons more for the price. We stayed on the 6th floor.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bev N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seanbranch, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Columbia - Harbison, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Bev N,

Thank you for "living on the edge" and choosing us during your recent with visit to the Columbia area, Your posting was an excellent, thorough review of our hotel and amenities we have to offer our guests. No matter who you are be it a first-time guest or familiar face, you will always be treated like an honored guest. We hope that next time you will join us at the Great American Grill, on-site restaurant, where we offer a full cooked-to-order breakfast, dinner, and room service. You can also enjoy a cocktail or beverage in the evenings at our bar where we have some excellent company in our bartenders who can tell you about the city. No matter what you need we will provide it for you or point you in the right direction. We are so glad that you chose us and look forward to seeing you back soon. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

Staff wonderful. Rooms are very clean, breakfast was excellent. The staff is extremely helpful no matter if it is late at night or early in the morning. Located by alot of good restaurants. Be sure to join Hilton Honors program.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VIKINGS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

The general manager and his staff are amazing! Will go above and beyond to satisfy all of your needs! This hotel should be the role model for all Hilton Brand hotels! Excellent location to many restaurants!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brandon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honea Path, South Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Staff was wonderful. Very friendly and very helpful. The room was nice and clean. Had a training seminar at the hotel so was a convienient choice. Lots of restaurants close to hotel to choose from. Parking was fine.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chocowinity, North Carolina
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

The room WAS EXCELLENT. Fairly priced at $89, but did not include breakfast.

Excellent size and decor, very clean and comfortable. We have enjoyed staying at Hilton and Hampton hotels. Always meet expectations.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elainew312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrimack, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

We can all talk about a hotel or motel that has been nice and clean,but if you want to experience true southern hospitality, you have to stay at the Hilton Garden Inn. Sean Branch and staff will make you feel right at home. The staff at his hotel is a cut above the rest. If you have been trying to train your staff on how to take care of your clients, I think you should send them to stay at this hotel. These people know how it is done! My wife and I found ourselves on the door step of this hotel with no reservations and were taken in and treated like they had been expecting us for months in advance, after being treated horribly at a place we had reservations, made through AMEX. The cleaning staff, the kitchen staff,the bar staff, and the people working the front desk were all on the same page. ( take care of the guests period. )
Thank you to Sean Branch and all the staff at the Hilton Garden Inn Columbia / Harbison keep up the great work!

Room Tip: I can guarantee there is probably not a bad room in the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve03054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbia hotels
12.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Columbia / Northeast
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia-I-26 Harbison Boulevard
9.9 mi away
Inn at USC Wyndham Garden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia/Southeast-Ft. Jackson
6.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia
8.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Columbia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Columbia - Harbison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Columbia - Harbison

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Columbia - Harbison
Address: 434 Columbiana Dr, Columbia, SC 29212-1652
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Columbia
#1 Family Hotel in Columbia
#3 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Columbia - Harbison 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Columbia - Harbison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Columbia / Harbison Hotel Columbia
Hilton Columbia
Columbia Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing