We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barbeque is colors not found in nature”

Maurice's Piggie Park BBQ
Ranked #468 of 974 Restaurants in Columbia
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Description: South Carolina's Favorite Barbeque! Real BBQ, Cooked on our Hickory Wood-Fired Pits for 24 Hours!We cook our BBQ the old fashioned way, over hickory coals for 24 hours to optimize that smoky flavor with no preservatives or chemicals! Taste our Ribs, Chicken, & Brisket, and one of the Best Burgers in Columbia! Family Owned and Operated since 1953.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Barbeque is colors not found in nature”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

My family stopped her on a road trip to North Carolina. Unfortunatly, We knew nothing about this restaurant, so we decided to eat there. The staff was accomadating and pleasant with a southern charm. However, the food was quite terrible. I understand that South Carolina bbq is mustard based, but this bbq was glowing bright yellow. The bun was squishy and soaked in mustard, the actual bbq had a horrible taste, and the hush puppies, onion rings, and fries were just a greasy mess. We left with grease balls covered with mustard in our stomachs. I DO NOT recommend this place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank doubtmenot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    14
    6
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Bad Experience”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

The food was not good and the service was poor and maybe that's because it was sort of busy. But I will not return..........

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank pricescsu8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
88 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great hash & rice, not so great brisket”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I saw the sign on the interstate and thought I would try it out. I am not a big fan of the southeastern style mustard based sauces as I prefer a dry rub or tomato based sauce. The brisket was a little on the dry side but had a good flavor. The hash & rice was great and the cole slaw tasted like dill pickles. It was Ok for something a little different but not my next time through.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rich T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Bad food, dirty run down restaurant.”
Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

I love BBQ, but this place is an insult to my senses. I have no clue how this local chain has lasted as long as it has. Avoid this place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CreepyCarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington,KY
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“BBQ wasn't anything to write home about”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

The BBQ we had was average, hush puppies were hard, but the mustard based sauce was very good for a change. Wouldn't want to make it a weekly happening. A bit pricey for what we got, service was decent, and the restaurant was clean.
I think much better BBQ could be had in Columbia.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FHF2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maurice's Piggie Park BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Maurice's Piggie Park BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing