We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst food establishment we've ever been to.”

Zorba's Greek Restaurant
Ranked #99 of 974 Restaurants in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek, Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Private Dining, Reservations, Takeout
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worst food establishment we've ever been to.”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We would have had a field day watching Robert Irvine or Gordon Ramsey rip this place apart. The decor is abominable. We had an eggplant parm and gyro sandwich. A cold can of spaghettios tastes better than their version of eggplant parm. And as a Greek American, I am embarrassed for they what they call a "gyro". In fact, I didn't think anyone could make a gyro that bad. The tzatziki sauce alone was enough to send a customer running for the door. It's supposed to be a bright white sauce and it resembled old, yellowed, rotten mayo. The only redeeming quality was our attentive, apologetic waitress who seemed to anticipate, understand and sympathize with our disdain fir this food. Enter Zorba's at your own risk!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TheAlmightyReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katerina K, at Zorba's Greek Restaurant, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
The extremely negative slant and the derogatory and almost taunting tone of this review makes it a little difficult to answer. Tripadvisor guidelines advise to craft a reply "in the same language as the review".--yet this review is nothing but hateful insults, so perhaps it is just best to say that this person is better off, and WE are better off, if they just take their hate elsewhere. Needless to say we do not agree with any of it, and in fact it is so far off- base from the truth of what this restaurant is and has been about for 34 years, that it is safe to say we would have gone out of business years ago if any of this diatribe were actually true. The only thing that is worthy of addressing, is to clarify about the sauce used on the gyro sandwiches. We use a creamy parmesan-based sauce instead of the traditional Greek tzatziki sauce unless it is requested by the customer. We have found over the years that most people here prefer it over the tanginess of the yogurt-based cucumber sauce. Our homemade tzatziki sauce IS absolutely delicious, however-- made old-world style from all the traditional ingredients-- and we certainly recommend ordering both the gyro and souvlaki sandwiches that way for the most authentic taste experience. We make these delicious sandwiches--both ways--all day long, every day, for many, many satisfied customers, much of which is repeat business. THAT is what it is all about, THAT is why we are here. So in the spirit of turning what seems hopelessly negative into a positive, we will also use this public forum to extend a big thank you to all of the people we are here to serve, present and future, all the incredible and wonderful people who come in and LOVE our establishment..and not to mention all of the support we do receive online as well. As of today our facebook 'likes' have reached three thousand, four hundred, and four...and growing almost daily. Thank you, we appreciate you all!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    39
    11
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Dining room has not been cleaned in years!”
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Basically a pizza and sub shop with a few sub par Greek dishes. My dinner came with a salad which consisted of all lettuce some feta, one olive and a single grape tomato. Not terrible but would it hurt to trow on some cukes, onions and maybe you could spare an extra grape tomato. My daughter got the the meatball sub, decent roll but it had one razor thin slice of meatball tuning through it. Definitely not worth 7.49. I don't normally notice cleanliness bu our boot was disgusting ther were thing growing on the photo above our booth an the chair rail on the side had thick dust on it. I can say I would not go back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sztrdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katerina K, Wife of owner at Zorba's Greek Restaurant, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for visiting our restaurant, we are very sorry you did not enjoy your visit. We would like to take this opportunity to clarify some things about our wonderful restaurant, and to present the truth for all those who have not visited our establishment. All of our regular customers--many of whom have been dining with us for most of the 34 years we have been in business--know the truth. YES our dining room is clean and is cleaned regularly! Our carpets are professionally cleaned once a month, and all booths and fixtures wiped down regularly, as we do enjoy keeping our A rating from DHEC. The description given here of pictures and booths is just flat-out mistaken. In fact this particular seating area is popularly requested, as it is more private and dimly-lit.
As for the extremely unfair opening line of this review, let us clarify that as well. We are first and foremost a Greek restaurant, offering MANY selections of Greek specialties, from Greek-style chicken, seafood, steaks, chops and kebabs, to the traditional homemade spanakopita, pasticio, mousaka, and gyro and souvaki sandwiches and platters. And we do make a killer Greek pizza! We are left wondering why this person chose to call all of our delicious Greek meals 'subpar'...obviously without even trying them.
We remain grateful to the many loyal patrons we have built up over the years, and who have 'forced' us to expand the restaurant out several times over the decades to accommodate you all--we love you! And we welcome all newcomers to come in and see exactly why this is the truth of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, SC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Consistent choice for lunch”
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

I'm not a huge Greek food fan. I only go for their Jimmy's pizza. A few coworkers and I may dine here for lunch at least twice a month, always when we have a taste for some delicious pizza. This pizza rivals the main competitors easily. Not a fan of the atmosphere, servers are a hit or miss, but I still go for the pizza. Very quick in and out....this plus good food is a must for lunch time patrons.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank barbekirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Greek food ever!”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Great place to dine out! Their Greek chicken salads are better than any I've ever had, and they serve generous portions too. Greek chicken and potatoes and steak tips with mushrooms are two other favorites. Customer service is excellent.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Melmp31764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
472 reviews
417 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Big portions, good food”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I've been eating a Zorba's for over 30 years and have rarely been disappointed. The half greek chicken with greek potatoes and salad is my favorite. They also have excellant Souvlaki platters. My wife occasionally get's the pizza which is also good. Very family friendly and laid back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Lbouknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zorba's Greek Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Zorba's Greek Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing