We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious entrees. ”

Saluda's Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Saluda's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #31 of 984 Restaurants in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Greene street
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious entrees. ”
Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

Visited Saluda's for the first time tonight with my friend, and it definitely exceeded my expectations. The country fried duck with the Mac and cheese was fantastic, as well as my brothers shrimp and grits. Dessert was ok, nothing extraordinary.

Helpful?
Thank nellanaesp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    54
    9
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Back again - very good but appetizer and dessert not up to par”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We went back to Saluda's and the entree's were still awesome. There were 4 of us and we had Shrimp and Grits, a rib-eye and the sweet tea pork chop (one person had an appetizer for their meal). All were great.

We were disappointed this time with 2 things - the foie gras appetizer was very small for $18. I know foie gras is expensive but for $18 you should get more than a small sliver covered with toast points. We were also disappointed with the peach cobbler. A southern restaurant should make excellent peach cobbler. Saluda's was not very sweet and the cobbler itself was small and thin and dwarfed by the scoop of ice cream.

We really like this restaurant so would encourage you to go there. We've never had a bad entree and have had other desserts that were quite good.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cu1981fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level 6 Contributor
850 reviews
379 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 410 helpful votes
“Great location, nice atmosphere, good service - need to up the meal a notch”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We visited on a Monday night when many other restaurants are closed in Columnbia. Saluda is located near metro Columbia with cafes and other businesses around. It has a long flight of stairs to the second level, with no elevator in sight. If your group has elderly people, this could present a problem.

The restaurant has an open airy feel, with elegant dark wood finishing. A nice full bar. Crisp white linen adds a touch of class. Our waiter was attentative, knowledgeable, and very friendly. It was so disappointing to hear that they did not have the lamb osso bucco.

Our group ordered the duck: cooked with a slight pink middle; grouper with creamy grits and asparagus; porkchop - most disappointing as it was not tender, on the dry side. Lastly, we ordered the meat and cheese plate - excellent all around. The fried green tomato with pulled pork was fantastic, especially the pulled pork!! Moist and flavorful!

We ordered 3 desserts, the panacotta, creme brulee, and an ice cream filled peanut butter chccolate crust bomb! We would like to try this again on a weekend, maybe that's when the "A" chef is on staff.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brown_Samantha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Shrimp and Grits for California!”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

How would one even begin to write a review this incredible? Saluda's is near the heart of metro Columbia so its excellent location was a given for friends in town from California. Naturally, I chose to introduce 'Shrimp & Grits' and a cold glass of southern sweet tea only after our waiter brought Oysters Rockefeller and Pan Seared Crabcakes. I was proud to introduce busy city folk to a truly awesome Saluda experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Danielle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Interesting dishes, top dessert”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We enjoyed a meal with nine hear following a graduation in town. The appetizers and entrees were interesting, but the chocolate cake dessert was a show-stopper. It had a scrumptious caramel sauce that I will be dreaming about for a while.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cindy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saluda's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Saluda's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing