We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It doesn't get more fresh!”
Review of Gourmet Shop Cafe

Gourmet Shop Cafe
Ranked #39 of 978 Restaurants in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Wise, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“It doesn't get more fresh!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This place is amazing! Great service, friendly--even though they were very busy. I had a great egg salad sandwich and tomato bisque soup. Both were great. Everyone else I was with enjoyed their meals as well, although my mother rated the chicken salad as average--not enough "goodies" like fruit or nuts, and way too much mayo. The shopping next door is fun, but very expensive. It was fun to look around though and they had samples of some great cheeses.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cathie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    53
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
651 reviews
376 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 379 helpful votes
“Great lunch and shopping too!”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I stopped here to look at the gourmet goods and kitchen items not even knowing there was a little cafe. What a delight! The busy, energetic little cafe was packed at lunch time and the servers were right on top of their game. Little bistro style tables are packed with happy diners! The salads are fresh and seasonal, the sandwiches are varied and delicious, they have paninis and soups, too. I would not only go back again, but recommend it for a nice little lunch spot. Wine and beer are also served. When you're done you can drift through the well stocked shop for cooking utensils, kitchen supplies, tableware and deli salads and desserts, and a large wine shop. A great little spot!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia SC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Horrible”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Why this place is so popular I will never know. The food is so overpriced for what little you get that its almost an insult. Half the time, menu items are missing ingredients that are promised in the menu. This has happened many times. The attached shop is an overpriced fresh market and an insult to intelligence.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank negattn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pleasant”
Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I went here for lunch today. I had a delicious chicken salad sandwich, generous amount if chicken salad. The tomato bisque was yummy. My husband ordered off the brunch menu. Egg and sausage croissant with grits was sn excellent choice. Service was great. We will definitely be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PossumCookies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best lunch place”
Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Close to USC, this is our favorite place for lunch. We go there often and were always happy with food and service. Try it if you haven't been.

Helpful?
Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gourmet Shop Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Gourmet Shop Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing