We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit”

California Dreaming Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #9 of 983 Restaurants in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Voted “Best Salad” 12 years running, by Free Times and Columbia Metropolitan, “Best Date Spot, Best Overall Restaurant and Best Place to Take your Parents” by USC’s The Daily Gamecock. Enjoy giant-sized fare from the California Dreaming kitchen; start with the Barbecue Chicken Nachos, then slow-cooked Prime Rib or a hearty pasta dish. The restaurant also features late night bar bites; large party carry-out and catering; live music and seasonal patio dining. The historic landmark building, Union Station, is located steps away from USC.
Columbus. Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
326 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

As other reviewers have said, this restaurant is housed in an old train station. It looks pricey with its white tablecloths, but is quite reasonable. We ate in the bar area and were served quickly. A garlic, chicken, and mushroom pasta was very good, as was the salmon salad, which came with a nice-sized piece of salmon. It's worth a visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank peebs777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    350
    251
    128
    30
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
391 reviews
246 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 470 helpful votes
“Good food and Nice location...”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

California Dreaming in the old train station.
The building is huge,the food is good and the service is great.

We stopped in after going to the Italian Festival (no we did not eat at the festival as I hate having to purchase tickets and then go stand in line at the food booths).
Salads were excellent as are the croissants,the potato soup is great and my shrimp dinner contained large size shrimp that were breaded lightly just like I enjoy.
Our first visit and we will return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolinaCoopers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ligonier, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Evening B”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Traveling south stopped in Columbia for the night thought we would check the great reviews. We weren't disappointed great food and atmosphere. Located downtown near University. We were glad we had GPS to find the restaurant. We did call ahead for seating (suggested) but found it unnecessary as there was a seat your self area around bar. Food great service even better. Only negative parking in area is at a premium.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ligonierian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“huge salad, wonderful homemade bread”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Unbelievable salad and fresh made bread. I hate one of the biggest salads with a large salmon fillet on top served with a honey coated freshly made bread that was out of this world. The portions were huge and you didn't need anything else for your meal.

For lunch, it seems to attract a business clientele since i saw more ties and coats than I had expected.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sheldon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinesville, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice Charm”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Dined here for our Anniversary and it was a nice atmosphere. Dimmed lighting gave you a sense of privacy. We called ahead of arrival to avoid the wait and were seated immediately. Great food, about $60 for 2 to include appetizer, meal and drinks. Had enough left over for a big lunch the following day.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christie31313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed California Dreaming Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to California Dreaming Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing