We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Tex-Mex In Greater Columbia”
Review of El Chico - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
El Chico
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Lexington, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Best Tex-Mex In Greater Columbia”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

I eat here frequently with my family of four and the food is always fresh and well seasoned. The chips and salsa alone are worth the trip. If you like burritos, enchiladas and tacos, they serve the best. I have not had anthing on the menu that was bad. Prices are higher than I'd like, ranging from $8-12 per person, but the portions are large and filling. The Mexican Apple Pie is tops! The restaurant is clean and the staff are friendly and helpful. Staff and servers are much better than in the last few years.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PalmettoPatriot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    8
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Consistently Excellent”
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Have never had a bad meal at El Chico. The dishes that they offer are varied and creative. My plate was the Revolutionary Tacos with chicken, Three soft corn tortillas
filled with fajita chicken & chipotle drizzle with avocado & topped with cilantro & cojita cheese. The dish was absolutely delicious. Sides were refried beans and "diablo corn." The beans were excellent and the corn was a fantastic dish full of taste. The corn had spices and roasted green and red peppers in it. We ordered coffee with our meal and it was very good as well. The waitress, Kirby, took excellent care of us and was very informative regarding the menu and ingredients of the dishes. The restaurant was clean, as always as was the table ware and utensils. This is my go to restaurant in Columbia for this type of food. My wife was just as satisfied with her meal and shares my enthusiasm for this restaurant.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Above average but not great.”
Reviewed December 5, 2011

Service was only average (or maybe below-average). Had to make requests for basic things (lemon for water, for example) at least twice. Food quality was very good and tasted wonderful. But.....the portions for the queso sauce and the child's quesadilla were TINY for the cost. Be sure to order the large queso sauce if there are more than 2 people. And, if your child is older than 6 or 7, they will likely need 2 of the kid's menu quesadillas.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pjgator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surf City, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“great location”
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Easy to find location. Clean and colorful interior. Freindly wait staff provides great service. Well developed menu and huge portions.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank lickerdelivery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Simply The Best Mexican Food In Town”
Reviewed October 6, 2011

Absolutely the best tasting Mexican food in town. We started the meal with a queso dip that was the best that I have ever had. The dip was made of pepperjack cheese, ground beef, tomatoes, and onions. The dip alone made the trip worthwhile. My dish contained three burritos one chicken, one bean, and one beef with appropriate topping sauces and a serving of refried beans and rice. The food was hot, tasty, the consistency of the dish was appropriate, and appearance of the dish was first class. My dining partners felt that their tacos and burritos were excellent as well and that their Marguritas were among the best that they had ever had. The waitress was knowledgable of all the dishes on the menu and constently visited the table to check on our satisfaction and to refill drink glasses and clear the table. All of our entrees cost approximately $10 each and were well worth it. I suppose that I would be remiss if I did not review the salsa and chips - they were delicious. After the meal there was just a clean taste in your mouth and no film or strong aftertaste.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Chico also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing