We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little place!”

Uncle Maddio's Pizza Joint USC
Ranked #167 of 974 Restaurants in Columbia
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: It's a place where everything is fresh, from the pizza dough that's made in-store each day to the veggies that are delivered every morning. First you choose whether you want a handmade pizza, gourmet salad or Foldwich. Our pizza has 3 different dough options (white, wheat and gluten free), 4 sizes 6", 9", 12" and 16", 6 different sauce options and over 45 different cheese, meat or veggie toppings. You build the pizza by talking directly to the pizza maker and tell them exactly what you want. "A little more of this." "A little less of that." "And can I add that too?" Until it's exactly how you want it. Your perfect pizza. So come to Uncle Maddio's and see if it's your kind of place.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
73 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great little place!”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

The staff is so friendly and this location and always remember us when we come in! The service is generally pretty fast except during the lunch time rush! The food is always quality food and delicious! We love to bring our family here when they are visiting !

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jade G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    9
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Concept and Good Value”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I think the concept of having fresh ingredients out in front of you and being able to select the ingredients you want and watching the workers add it to your pizza before it is baked is a fun and exciting concept. The prices are pretty reasonable for what you get as well.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Edward D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Awesome find!!”
Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

We stopped in Columbia during a road trip and were looking for gluten-free food options for our kids. This was close to our hotel so we tried it out. It was excellent!! The staff really knew their stuff when it came to GF issues and served us up some excellent pizzas. My wife and I took advantage if the GF beer selection as well. Great location with lots of good people watching.

Helpful?
Thank Florida G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
90 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Good pizza, not to expensive and within walking distance of the courtyard and many USC venues. The ingredients are fresh and the staff was really great. Lots of extra and lots of choices, great place for a good pizza. Although I would have liked if the pizza was cooked just a little more, I should have asked.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank RyanS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“This is not pizza. Cardboard tastes better.”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

The place was popular with the kids from campus probably due to the plethora of tables and t.v.'s. My dinner partner and I tried a 'pizza' and bread sticks. Mal. This 'joint' is one block up from campus. I would expect the food to be good because of its proximity to campus but the food is not good. Moe's, a couple of doors over, was tasty. Uncle Maddio's was not edible. We left most of our food on the table. The service was great. We stood in line and watched as 'pizza's' were being made. Waitstaff were pleasant. We helped ourselves to our drinks. We tried to aide the taste of the 'pizza' with peppers but it really couldn't be saved. Seek food elsewhere.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kari6425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uncle Maddio's Pizza Joint USC also viewed

 

Been to Uncle Maddio's Pizza Joint USC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing