We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite in Columbia”

Motor Supply Co. Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Motor Supply Co. Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 984 Restaurants in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Park and Lincoln Sts.
Transit: There are several transit stops throughout the vista and downtown area, one of which is located half a block away from us. Taxis are also readily available.
Description: Located in the historic Congaree Vista with a heated patio and free valet parking, Motor Supply has been serving progressive, New World cuisine using classic French culinary techniques for over 20 years. Led by Executive Chef Wesley Fulmer, the kitchen's lunch, dinner and brunch handwritten menus change daily, featuring contemporary New American cuisine, with nods to Creole, Cajun, New Southern, French, Italian and Asian cuisine. We are Columbia's foremost "farm to fork" restaurant, working with local, sustainable farms for produce, meats, SC seafood and more. Seafood is caught off of the Carolina coast, and all of our stocks, sauces and desserts are made on site, including our charcuterie, with house-made sausages, bacon, country pate, and rillettes, all the way down to the pickles and mustard. Our early 19th century, solid-oak bar with marble columns, imported from Europe, serves 180+ fine wines (Wine Spectator's Award of Excellence, 2006-12), an extensive list of imported, domestic and local craft beers, as well as an artisan farm-to-shaker cocktail list made from house-infused liquors, handmade bitters, barrel-aged spirits and locally-sourced ingredients and garnishes.
Columbia, SC
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“My favorite in Columbia”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

I am never disappointed when I dine at Motor Supply Co. Bistro in the Columbia Vista area. The menu changes daily so it is always fun to see what is in store for the special occasion. As always, the food and service was excellent. It is a great place to go before a show at The Koger Center or the Colonial Center.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    516
    181
    73
    26
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Drinks and Ever Changing Menu!”
Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

We had a reservation for a Tuesday evening for a party of four which was a good idea because of the Masters going on. Drinks from the bar while waiting were delicious and the bartender was very helpful in choosing the perfect cocktails. The bacon vodka martini is a must try!

Dinner was delicious with great lamb and clam appetizers. 2 of us had the flat rib and 2 had the pork loin and every plate left empty.

While on the pricey side, the price was appropriate for the level of service and quality and portion of both food and drink. A definite must try and we will definitely return when in the area again!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Itsbasils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place to take in-laws - there will be no complaints!”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Fun place that literally used to be a motor supply warehouse. Menus are handwritten because it depends on the ingredients the chef acquires. Service is of the best, food is fresh and hot. A favorite for business lunch and special dinners.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynrjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great, well-rounded dining experience.”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

My husband and I dined here last week and were pleased as usual. The menu is always impressive and exciting. We brought a nice bottle of wine to enjoy with our meal and were pleased to see that the corkage fee was only $10. Our sever could have been a little more attentive, especially since the restaurant wasn't busy. The only other minor complaint was that my steak was a bit too salty for my taste. Motor is always a pleasure and one of the best in Columbia!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Done to perfection”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Mussels, shrimp, steak--everything we tried was perfectly cooked and beautifully presented. We shared the mussels "a la Julia" for a starter, using the bread basket to soak up the garlicky broth. I had the shrimp with rabbit ragu over grits; my dining companion had the steak with mushrooms over mashed potatoes. Both came with a small bundle of green beans in between the base and topping--a somewhat silly conceit that somehow actually works. The restaurant is renowned for its wine list but also has a worthy beer selection including local brews. We should have stopped while we were ahead but we ended by sharing a chocolate peanut butter pie--good but nothing you haven't seen before. One very nice touch--the owner worked the room, making sure all was going well. Yes, it's expensive, but I'd say it's worth it.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank D P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Motor Supply Co. Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Motor Supply Co. Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing