We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently Excellent”
Review of Basil Thai

Basil Thai
Ranked #70 of 983 Restaurants in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Consistently Excellent”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

I began going to Basil in Charleston years ago and the Columbia location is equally as exquisite. The Tom Yum Soup is incredible and all of the various entrees I've had are fantastic: Masaman curry, Red curry, Basil chicken, Cashew chicken, etc. Everything is always fresh...the quality is never compromised and you can get your food as hot as you'd like. Basil is undoubtedly a top 5 restaurant in Columbia and it's only a matter of time before it accrues enough votes to get it up there.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    22
    8
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Order pad Thai and what a nice surprise that it didn't come swimming in a salty, peanutty, cocoanut sauce as is common in so many places. Menu stated chicken, shrimp, and egg. Asked for the shrimp to be replaced with chicken and the egg to be left off. Received as ordered. Make sure you get the side of three condiments to add a little zip and zing to the dish. Dish was $10, I think eight would have been more appropriate for a lunch portion.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Zantar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gator Nation, FL
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Unexpected Deliciousness”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

A friend and I happened to be passing by and stopped here for lunch. It was some of the best Thai food I have had since being in Thailand. Very nice atmosphere and seemed like a great place for a nice dinner out or just an informal business lunch. Would highly recommend and will defiantly be back myself!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanith13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

The service here was very good and the restaurant has a great modern look inside. We ordered some soup, and I never had Thai soup or knew what to expect but it comes out in a large container with a little fire flair setup to keep it warm since it's enough to share. We had wontons too, which were good as well as our main dish so there were plenty of leftovers. I look forward to coming back and trying something new again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsWilliamsColumbia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very good food”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

I have eaten here 3 times. I have tried something new each time. The food is always good. The service is always good.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 55butterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basil Thai also viewed

 

Been to Basil Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing