We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Creamy shrimp and grits”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cola's Restaurant

Cola's Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Cola's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 965 Restaurants in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Lady Street
Transit: There is a bus station 50 feet from Cola"s front door.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Creamy shrimp and grits”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Cola was a nice surprise. It is located in an old RC Cola bottling plant building that has been very nicely remodeled yet kept some of the old walls for character. We didn't have reservations so opted for seating at a bar table. I had oysters for appetizer. They were tasty, served over a corn salsa. The shrimp and grits entrée was an excellent entrée. They were creamy and very tasty. The almond cup dessert topped off the meal. It was a nice balance of sweet crushed almonds and vanilla ice cream with fresh assorted berries. The service was very good. .I would recommend this restaurant

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peggy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    100
    27
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
183 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“A Fortuitous Mistake?”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Salads for three and I thought I ordered Shrimp and Grits but got Lump Crab cakes instead! Instead of complaining and requesting what I had ordered because we were pressed for time I just enjoyed the error! Our waitress was attentive, atmosphere is tastefully industrial and all the food that our party of four received was praised enthusiastically! We'll certainly try it again!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food - great atmosphere”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

The whole crispy flounder at Cola's is possibly the best seafood dish you'll find in Columbia (and we've tried quite a few places...). The place may be considered a bit pricy, however the food is great and so are the service and the overall atmosphere. You won't be wrong taking your date there...

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mathieu A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, SC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good food and good service.”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Overall our meal was great as was the service. Clever combinations of unexpected items. We'll certainly return.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BryanColumbia_SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
121 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“I'm a Fan”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Cola's has an interesting menu with some really solid items. But my favorites are their salads -- Great alone or as a meal. Good bar staff, too.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chapinite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cola's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Cola's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing