We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love to walk by the canal on Saturday morning”

Columbia Canal and Riverfront Park
Ranked #6 of 108 things to do in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
105 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Love to walk by the canal on Saturday morning”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

Nothing to dislike about the Riverfront Park. It is easily accessible from parking. It is convenient in downtown Columbia. You can get there also by driving to the dam where the diversion canal starts. Sometimes I come in from one direction and sometimes from the other. My typical Saturday morning walk is 4-5 miles on the paved walkway that runs between the Saluda River and the Columba Canal.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank MarionPaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    91
    17
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

What a great park to have in the middle of the city! Interesting history and nice walk along the water. Great places to sit. It was a nice finish to our visit in Columbia.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Arida41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgefield, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Where we wanted to walk was closed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

We headed to the canal for a walk and so I could photograph the Gervais Street bridge. But, the walkway in that directioin was closed for construction. Yes, it was disappointing. We'll just have to go back. Not a bad deal at all.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Absolutley beautiful place for a run or walk (or roller blade - the trail is smooth and flat). Most of the trail is right after you cross the river but go left to check out the dam too.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelitaMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Worth seeing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

This place is worth seeing and taking a nice walk however if you are a tourist such as ourselves it is a little overwhelming the local s who flood in to run and bike. It makes you feel uneasy to stop and take photos however I did anyway because I wasn't going to pass up an opportunity for some scenic photos! It was clean safe and beautiful. We went in the evening to see and photograph the sunset....other than all the powerlines obstructing the view of the sunset there was the river and canal to photograph as well.there were many neat trees along the way! It is definitely worth the free effort. I would like to go back just to exercise too.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank rissymalee614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Columbia Canal and Riverfront Park also viewed

 

Been to Columbia Canal and Riverfront Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing