We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
South Carolina Confederate Relic Room and Military Museum
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Very interesting CSA artifacts!

Their collection includes some very interesting and rare artifacts from The War Between the States... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
John M
Very interesting repository of civil war relics

The South Carolina Confederate Relic Room and Military Museum is very informative for some one who... read more

Reviewed September 1, 2018
H9973PGjosephh
Read all 98 reviews
  
Reviews (98)
Filter reviews
95 results
Traveler rating
64
26
4
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
64
26
4
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews south carolina historical artifacts battle flags gift shop small fee war information fought contribution room guns lecture clothing regiment curator material event
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 95 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Their collection includes some very interesting and rare artifacts from The War Between the States! Well worth a trip to see them.

Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2018

The South Carolina Confederate Relic Room and Military Museum is very informative for some one who is unfamiliar with contributions made from the Revolution War to the Confederate war to current day. An impressive variety of relics and memorabilia. As a northerner, it was interesting to hear and learn about the other sides perspective on what has been labelled as a war of "northern aggression".....seems like the war is still smoldering in many respects. The museum represents the pride, contributions, and heroism of South Carlonians from the Revolution to the present day military conflicts. I wold recommend a visit to this museum.

Thank H9973PGjosephh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2018 via mobile

I'm originally from Western PA and had visited Gettysburg several times over my years.
Now living here in S.C. I'm trying to learn about it's history.
South Carolina has a great military history from the Revolution to the present and that is what this museum honors.
The pride of those who have served from S.C.
They do have a great collection of Confederate flags, not just the one everyone seems to know about.

Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2018

If you are into Civil War history, especially South Carolina Civil War history, this is the place. The flag displays are especially interesting. A very well done museum covering nearly all the state's military history from colonization to present day.

Thank gordon f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCCRRMM, Owner at South Carolina Confederate Relic Room and Military Museum, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2018

Thanks for the nice review!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2018

The South Carolina Confederate Relic Room & Military Museum offers a fascinating glimpse into the state's military history through material items which belonged to the soldiers themselves. Ranging from guns to uniforms to decks of cards, these items help emphasize the human component of war and illustrate a full accounting of South Carolina's Confederate military heritage.

The exhibit includes items from both the War Between the States itself and items used afterwards to commemorate the war. The regimental flags are particularly breathtaking.

The museum also has a surprisingly well-stocked book and gift shop filled with mementos to help one remember what one has seen.

I strongly recommend a visit to for anyone who is interested in early American or Southern history.

Thank EbD20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2018

We revisited the South Carolina Confederate Relic Room and Museum. Each time we visit something has been added and more history is learned. This is definitely a site children should visit. It will be a real history lesson for them.

1  Thank ASH814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2018

I went there not knowing for one second the amount of information I would learn, Super impressed with everything and recommend everyone to take the time and check it out.

Thank NarrowMender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2018

By all means, take in the SC Confederate Relic Room and Military Museum in downtown Columbia,SC. It provides tremendous insight into tragic times when Americans fought against Americans to support their beliefs. Each room provided the viewer with exhibits and background into the War between the States, from the weapons, clothing, medical practices, and insights from personal diaries. Well worth the time.

Thank Rodney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2018

I went to the special day long event of the sword at the Confederate Relic Room. A demo run by Dr. Jane Littman on modern fencing complete with members of her club with electric fencing scoring apparatus for the Columbia fencers Club was excellent. It was followed by a lecture on Swords and cavalry and another lecture on swords used through the ages. A great venue and a fun learning and observing day was enjoyed by all.

2  Thank Edward S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2018

I feel that the information was presented in interesting exhibits. There was quite a bit more in there than I thought there would be and it took us a while because we enjoyed looking at it all.

Thank NPTRSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews