We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Splash Park” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saluda Shoals Park

Saluda Shoals Park
Ranked #7 of 108 things to do in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Lexington, South Carolina
Level Contributor
550 reviews
290 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 588 helpful votes
“Splash Park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

My family was visiting from IN with a 3 year old and we were frantically trying to locate fun places for him. Splash Park would be my #1 choice in the Columbia area. All the water thrills, spouts, climbing rock and rides were very entertaining. We really enjoyed watching the buckets of water dump onto the children and seeing their thrilled faces was fun. Their were busloads of children, however their was plenty of room for everyone.Plenty of parking and restrooms on site. Would suggest taking your own seating.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank kythoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    49
    8
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
1,311 reviews
769 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 534 helpful votes
“Some trail segments are closed during the park expansion project”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

There’s a lot of buzz right now about the major expansion project that recently got underway in the east end of this popular park. It will add a sports complex with 8 soccer fields and 10 tennis courts, plus a zipline, additional trails, a new boat launch/takeout, a paved shuttle road, and related facilities. Unfortunately, it’s been necessary to close some very nice trail segments while the site preparation and construction phases are underway. I discovered this during a recent visit when I found a fence blocking a trail I have walked many, many times.

As thousands of Saluda Shoals hikers, joggers, dog-walkers, stroller pushers, bicyclists, and horse riders can tell you, the longest and most scenic trails are in the eastern two-thirds of the park. This is also the area of the park most likely to provide quiet and solitude. Now, neither the Saluda River-focused paved trail nor the power line-focused equestrian trail are open for use on the eastern side of the Lorick Branch Creek pedestrian bridge. This puts the best part of the equestrian trail off limits and as well as a stretch of the paved trail that is especially enjoyed by solitude seekers. The good news is that many miles of trails in the park remain open, including the greater part of both trails affected by these access restrictions.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Citallwic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
Level Contributor
86 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“This park is for everyone”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

We love Saluda Shoals. We just visited for Father's Day, we are attending a birthday party this weekend, a wedding in August, and I booked my son's birthday party May 2015 (the space sells fast). They have a splash pad, train, dog park, and water activities. It is very affordable and there is something for everyone.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank cnp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
81 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“great park, wish I was closer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

While staying in the area for the week I decided to visit Saluda Shoals Park after only visiting for the annual Christmas light drive-through. I greatly enjoyed the quiet and open nature trails as well as the many scenic overlooks of the Saluda River.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CFordham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, SC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great for outdoor activities”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

Several miles of paved paths along the beautiful saliva river for walking or bike riding. Horseback riding on weekends and canoe rentals. Also a nice place for company parties in the meetings polity. Would highly recommend annual membership.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RTAboss1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Saluda Shoals Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing