We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbia Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbia Downtown
Ranked #39 of 94 Hotels in Columbia
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2010

My daughter and I stayed here for two nights when we were in town for her orientation at the University of South Carolina. The room was very nice - looked to have been updated recently. We had a king bed along with a refrigerator and microwave. The decor was very nice and the bed was very comfortable. Got a great deal on Priceline. There was some traffic noise from the main road. If that might bother you request a room on the side of the building facing the parking lot. Plenty of parking and fairly close to downtown. You could walk but we drove as it was quite hot the days we were there. I would stay there again the next time we are in Columbia. Also the breakfast was very good with a nice variety.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank erinhelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    63
    25
    11
    15
See reviews for
52
38
19
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2010

Conveniently placed for walking into central Columbia. Good breakfast with outstanding staff, (Michael Johnson who worked at the weekend in the dining room was a really friendly and helpful person) The room was spacious, comfortable and clean and overall very good value.

Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank skyhigh123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Florida
Level Contributor
76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2010

We stayed here one night in a king on the ground floor. With early booking rates, we paid only $89, taxes and all. We were in town for Beer Fest and a hotel within walking distance, and with a lower rating, cost about twice the price. We opted for this hotel and paid for a cab to the convention center (approx $5 each way). The continental breakfast was an added plus (eggs, sausage, biscuits, gravy, cinnamon rolls, bagels, cereal, juice, coffee, oatmeal, ect).The room was really clean and recently renovated. I definitely wouldn't hesitate to book here again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shanebarnes1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
316 reviews
173 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2010

First off don't take 3* as a bad rating. That's average which I think this hotel is, average. There were a few things that lost big points for me.

Checkin
Was no problem and quick. He recognized me as a priority club member but didn't give me any welcome gift like I was people later receiving.

Room
The rooms were very nice looking and appeared to be fairly newly renovated. I had a king with fridge, microwave and flat screen TV.

Bed
This is one area they lost huge points. The bed was horrible. Very uncomfortable!

Bathroom
Another negative was how long it took to get hot water in my room. It doesn't sounds long but I'd say the water was running for 30 seconds before it started to get warm.

TV
Nice flat screen. No HD channels but a wide selection of 40 or so channels.

Breakfast
Regular HI Express breakfast. One thing that annoyed me was the woman that was keeping the food stocked had a tip jar out and she wasn't even friendly.

Internet
Internet worked better in my room when I was plugged in. The wireless was spotty.

Parking
Free parking and a good amount of it.

Fitness room
Another that leaves a lot to be desired. The elliptical really didn't work. Then there was a bike and treadmill. Very basic and older. Time to upgrade!

Street noise
It was bad. I was on the main road side and I heard cars all night. It was really disturbing if you were trying to take a nap during rush hour or in the morning. This was another area they lost points for me.

Managers reception
They did have a managers reception at night from 6-730 with beer, wine and snacks.

Overall it was an average hotel. I wouldn't recommend to a friend but I wouldn't talk them out of staying there if they already booked. I would head back if all the other hotels were more then my job wanted to pay for a hotel. Everything looked nice but it was more of a polished turd.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank morganrep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2010

We were flying in and out of CAE and needed a place to just stay over night, so we pricelined it. We got this room for 38/night! Wonderful space, wonderful customer service. Huge comfy bed.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsC7906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2009

Taken over by Holiday Inn. Can't use Choice Hotel points here. Prices are higher now, now that it's Holiday Inn.

Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gajaybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexAlzate, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbia Downtown, responded to this review, November 5, 2009
We appreciate your feedback and are working with TripAdvisor to change our listed name on their site. We hope that being a Holiday Inn Express and offering free hot breakfast, free managers reception Mon - Thurs, Free High Speed Internet, and 32 inch HDTV's will be enough to visit us again.

We look forward to your arrival.

Alex, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buffalo ny
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2009

we stayed at the holiday inn express on taylor road as we were making our annual trek from florida to new york. we usually void the major cities but columbia was a perfect stopover. we were exhausted at check in and asked where we could eat dinner. much to my shock, they had a complimentary hot buffet complete with beer and wine. our entree was turkey with dressing and veggies, soup and salad. they even had cupcakes for dessert! the next morning we were greeted with a hot breakfast buffet and then we were off for another day of driving. when you figure the cost of two meals for two people we ended up paying peanuts for the room - which was clean, large and had a great new tv. we would definitely go there again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank damily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown/The Vista
0.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Columbia
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Columbia / Downtown / The Vista
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbia Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbia Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbia Downtown
Address: 501 Taylor St, Columbia, SC 29201-2738
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 94 Hotels in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbia Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Historic District of Downtown Columbia, SC and just minutes away from USC, Finley Park, and Columbia Metropolitan Civic Center. We offer free hot breakfast, free wired and wireless high speed internet, manager reception Mon - Thurs, free local calls, and 32 inch HDTV's in every room! Whether here on business or leisure, Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbia has what you are looking for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbia Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Columbia Downtown
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbia Downtown Hotel Columbia
Comfort Suites Columbia
Columbia Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing