We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Who said holiday inn was bad? They should be smacked lol”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbia Downtown
Ranked #34 of 93 Hotels in Columbia
Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was great. Much better than expected. The front desk staff was very informative in directing us to the nearest drug store for well need aloe Vera. They also gave us a map of the area.

The room was neat and clean and no harsh fragrances! Awesome. The toiletries were from bath and beyond, which is hardly heard of, another plus.

Oh and by they way, these folks do a wine reception with snacks for an hour. Now when was the last time you heard of a holiday inn doing a reception?

Stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amethyst D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiex C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbia Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Thank you for the wonderful review, we appreciate it! The front desk staff is always happy to help a guest get to where they need. We have multiple maps to provide for the area. If the staff member is not familiar with where you are trying to go we will always look it up and print you out directions as well. We don't want our guest getting lost! We are happy to hear you enjoyed the room while here. Housekeeping does their best to make sure it is spotless and no overbearing smells in the room. We hope all guest enjoy the new White Citrus scent from Bath & Body Works that we offer in the rooms. Our hotel host a managers reception every Monday - Thursday for an hour and a half to help our guest relax and enjoy the hotel. We hope you will come back again soon and we look forward to your future stay!

Cera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (214)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 214 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2013

Stayed on a Thursday night for USC graduation. The staff was very friendly at check in. The room was clean, quiet, and comfortable. Breakfast buffet was good, including eggs and other proteins. $8 cab ride from Five Points.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scubatude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiex C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbia Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

We hope you enjoyed the USC graduation and congradulations on your graduate! We are happy to hear you had a good stay in the hotel. I have passes along the kind comments to the front desk staff. I have also infomed housekeeping that the room was to your likeing. We like to have a large selection on our breakfast bar to accommodate all guest taste. We are only about 3 miles / 8 minute drive from 5 points, a favorite area for the USC students. We hope you get to return soon to the area! Thank you for taking the time to review us!

Cera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We came into town for a concert and stayed 3 nights at the Holiday Inn Express. The hotel was easy to get to and was close enough to the Vista area to be convenient for restaurants and nightlife. The rooms were comfortable and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The first night we were there, they had a manger's reception where they served complimentary snacks and beer and wine. What a nice touch! We asked the two young men who were workng the event for restaurant and activity recommendations and they were very helpful. We tried two of the restaurants they recommended and we're so glad we did. The gals at the front desk were also very friendy and helpful, providing us with maps, directions and their recommendations.
The only negatives for us came in the way of maintenance issues. We found that our room had 2 of the 4 lightbulbs in the living/sleeping area burnt out. We called the front desk and were able to go down and pick up replacements. We also noticed that there was no battery in our smoke detector (the battery door was open) and that there was another bulb burnt out in the fixture over the sink in the bathroom. We informed the manager about these items on day 2 of our stay and the smoke detector battery was replaced, but not the light bulb. These were minor problems and did not effect the quality of our stay. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Our friends stayed on the first floor and their ceilings were much higher than our room on the third...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beach_Bum_tlc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiex C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbia Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

I am happy to hear you enjoyed your multiple night stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review and for the comments. We do host a managers reception every Monday - Thursday from 6-7:30pm. We provide complimentary beer, wine, sweet tea and light snacks. I have passed along the great compliments to the front desk staff. They always go to the best reaches to make sure all guest are comfortable and get what they need. I do apologize for any inconvienence the lights being out may have caused you. I thank you for bringing that to our attention. The housekeeping staff is very diligent about making sure everything works in the room so we are looking into how those were missed. The staff here at the Holiday Inn Express Downtown will always do the best they can to meet guest needs and issues. Always feel free to bring any issues to the front desk team. You are correct in that the first floor rooms have a higher ceiling due to the construction of the hotel and the lobby. All rooms are still the same standard size though. We hope you will come back to Columbia again soon and stay with us again. Have a wonderful Summer and we hope you enjoyed the concert!!

Cera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed one night for a business meeting. The bed was very comfortable. The room was nice and clean! I was facing the highway so it was a bit noisy, but at a reasonable hour the noise was minimal. The hotel was very well located to all the places I needed to be the next day!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaseyKathryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiex C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbia Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Thank you for taking time to write us a review! We appreicate the time you took to do this. I have passed along the compliments on the cleanliness of our rooms to the housekeeping staff. They are always happy to know their hard work is appreciated. You are correct that there can be a little noise some nights due to the fact that we are situated on a main intersection in the downtown area. We are well located to the vista area with all of its resturants, a mile from the USC campus and 3 miles from the stadium and fair grounds. Most businesses are only about a 5-10 minute drive from the hotel. We hope you will come back again soon and look forward to having you back!

Cera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I stayed here the first weekend of April while visiting my kids who are students at the University of South Carolina. Got a good deal on Priceline. There is plenty of parking and although the hotel fronts a busy street the traffic noise is negligible. The king size bed in my room was very comfortable. There was also a small refrigerator and a microwave. The room was very clean and nicely decorated.

Breakfast choices are many and varied - oatmeal, eggs, sausage, muffins, cereal, cinnamon rolls, coffee, tea, etc. There is an outdoor pool as well as a business center and a workout room. My only small complaint is the shower curtain. It just wasn't big enough to reach from wall to wall on the curved shower curtain rod. I kept pulling it to one side then the other in an attempt to make sure water didn't get on the floor.

The staff I came in contact with were very friendly and pleasant. Overall this is a great place to stay and I would stay here again on my next trip to downtown Columbia.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiex C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbia Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

We appreciate and thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the comfort of your room. All rooms are equipt with a mini fridge, microwave and coffee maker. We do like to keep a large selection on breakfast to accommodate all guest choices. We will look into the issue of the shower curtian in your room, we thank you for bringing it to our attention. The staff was happy to hear your compliments regarding them. We hope you come back to visit the area soon. Make sure you book soon if you are coming in for parents weekend!

Cera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed one night. The hotel is relatively new. The reception desk staff were freindly. The room was clean and bed comfortable. The hotel is very close to a busy intersection and we had some road noise in our 1st floor room. Breakfast was adequate . The hotel is close to the state capital and resturants and shops but not really walking distance.

Room Tip: Upper room on back side of hotel would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank romintheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiex C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbia Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are located in the main downtown area so the traffic noise can be a little loud depending on the time of day. The front desk staff is always willing to help you find a quiet room so please always feel free to ask. We hope you come back again soon!

Cera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed here while visiting Columbia from Charleston to see Bill Maher at the Koger Center. We also checked out The Oak Table while we were here. Both were awesome.

This place is basically a mile from both so easily walking distance--if it's not "Famously Hot" that night!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smydauf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiex C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbia Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

We are happy you enjoyed your stay with the Holiday Inn Express Downtown! We are in a good location to get to the main attractions and sites in Columbia without having to be located in the crowded areas. Thank you for taking the time to send us a review. We hope you will get to come back again soon!

Cera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown/The Vista
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC
0.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Columbia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Columbia / Downtown / The Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbia Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbia Downtown

Address: 501 Taylor St, Columbia, SC 29201-2738
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 93 Hotels in Columbia
Price Range: $123 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbia Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Historic District of Downtown Columbia, SC and just minutes away from USC, Finley Park, and Columbia Metropolitan Civic Center. We offer free hot breakfast, free wired and wireless high speed internet, manager reception Mon - Thurs, free local calls, and 32 inch HDTV's in every room! Whether here on business or leisure, Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbia has what you are looking for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, IHG, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbia Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Columbia Downtown
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbia Downtown Hotel Columbia
Comfort Suites Columbia
Columbia Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing