We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for an Overnight Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Baymont Inn & Suites Columbia Fort Jackson

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Baymont Inn & Suites Columbia Fort Jackson
Ranked #54 of 94 Hotels in Columbia
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good for an Overnight Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed here prior to going to see The Masters. Arrived late around 10PM, and the gentleman working the front desk was kind and helpful to getting us tired travelers into our rooms quickly. Room was nice and clean as you would expect. A continental breakfast was offered the next day, but we needed to leave before it was open. Lots of fast food restaurants nearby.

Nothing wrong with staying here, but nothing out of this world either. If you need a quick overnight, this hotel will do just fine.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gentryst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    108
    116
    54
    77
See reviews for
243
86
24
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

We arrived around 2:20 p.m. and were told that there we absolutely no check-ins before 3 p.m. So my 82 year old mother, my son and our mini-dachshund hung around the lobby for about 30 minutes until another desk clerk "arrived with the room list" and we could be checked in (I thought everything was computerized these days?!) We went out to sit by the pool which surprisingly was drained and covered (which I have never seen a southern motel do) and later we noticed they had locked the gate to the pool area so we could not even enjoy a deck chair in the sun . . not that we would have gone swimming it was a bit cool in April, but it would have been nice to sit outside. Attendant said pool would open "next week". The room was very clean as was the lobby, hallway & grounds. Beds were comfortable, didn't notice any excess noise at all. Breakfast the next morning was OK, standard continental with hard boiled eggs, gravy - pancake maker was broken - items began running low around 8 a.m. and were not replenished - it was supposed to last until 9:30 - so late breakfast eaters beware! Thought this was also odd as the hotel was fully booked - they should know to replenish the food. Would probably not stay in this location again unless I had a pet with me or others were fully booked.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Front desk at both check-in and check-out were very nice. The bed was comfortable, windows open. The place is a bit worn w/ too many poor housekeeping/maintenance issues: nightstand drawer full of sticky substance, shower head would not adjust/weak water stream, refrigerator had been set to Max & froze all my fruits/veggies/milk, alarm clock (that I did not touch) was pre-set and went off at midnight waking me from a deep sleep(!), unable to connect to weak wi-fi, no luggage rack, closet hangers too low, bottom of tub is several inches higher than floor which could be a hazard when stepping out, breakfast ok but not exceptional. The place is surrounded by many other hotel chains, no reason to stay here. Oh, my room had a jacuzzi not far from bed with a large mirror next to it. I didn't use it, but it reminded me of the country song of this title...and might have been the source of all that sticky stuff in the drawer.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Dave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Even tho this hotel is fairly new, it was not a good deal for the price we paid. The rooms appeared nice but small things ruined it. i.e. the remote didn't work, the toilet paper holders were both broken and any nose from the hall filtered in. The elevator is at one end of the building and if you are handicapped or mobility issues are a concern, better request rooms near the elevator. The water pipes rattled the ceiling in the room when someone was taking a shower.

Now, on to staff and "breakfast." Cleaning staff was friendly and greeted us in passing. Desk staff upon check-in was somewhat scattered and had some issues. The computer system went down at check-in and I also overheard at 7 am it was down again so no receipts were available.

Breakfast was the typical continental style these days, HOWEVER, they ran out of coffee cups....twice...the gravy was nearly empty and what remained was cold. (This was at 7:30 am, not like it was the end of breakfast hours.) The juice machine was showing three of the four options as empty, but they weren't.

This hotel is frequented by families of graduating soldiers and the rate is a high one because of that. I would think they would be more customer oriented and make the premium $ worth it. I would not stay here again..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mona L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
189 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stay was 13-14 March 2013. Had a 2 bedroom and a suite with 2 beds. It was the first time I had to stay in a pet friendly hotel but my sister has a dog. It turned out to be okay. I kind of thought I would cross some smells but I did not experience any of that. They do their best to keep the place up. One room was on the 2nd floor and I was on the third floor and it was a quiet sleep. But can’t say too much about the housekeeping cleaning of the rooms. I had to clean the toilet seat and back of toilet cover that had stains on it and they were not urine stains. And around the room edges by my bed I guess they vacuumed the carpet and end up pushing the stuff that did not get picked up toward the wall. The room rug looked clean and not worn; the hallway rug could use some cleaning though. The staff was all friendly, helpful and nice. As for breakfast, although the little old lady was pleasant, if breakfast is supposed to start at 0600, then it should not be coming out at that time. Most of us were there to go to the basic training graduation on Fort Jackson but us early folks could only get hot drinks or foods that required hot water or the toaster. The pancake machine was just turned on during our brief snack breakfast. Most stuff was still cold and the apples looked bad with dark brown spots. The biscuits, bread and some other things tasted like they been around too long for us. We did pick up something on the way. The hotel is situated in a safe location to me. East Exchange Boulevard has all the newer hotels located on it. It is located next to a major highway. There are places nearby to get something to eat. If you would ask me to stay again, if I don’t have a dog tagging along, I probably would not. I choose places for specific things and if you offer breakfast, then I expect it to be ready and fresh. If it had been fresh then I probably would not have complained about it being a little late, but I was disappointed and so was my family.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank msworldadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Virginia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stayed over night whille we visited Congaree National Park outside of Columbia. Rooms were very clean and well kept. Staff was very helpful and accommodating. I had looked the hotel up on line before we got there. The price of a stay was listed at $65.00. When we got there the nights stay was suppose to be $83.00. When I told him aboaut the on-line price, they reduced it to $69.00 which was fair and made me happy. The only downside was the beds were very hard.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Retiredandhappy6563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbia
8.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbia Northeast
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Ft. Jackson Maingate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn Columbia SE / Fort Jackson
10.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Columbia Northwest
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn near Ft. Jackson
Sleep Inn near Ft. Jackson
#49 of 94 in Columbia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Columbia Fort Jackson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Columbia Fort Jackson

Property: Baymont Inn & Suites Columbia Fort Jackson
Address: 240 E Exchange Blvd, Columbia, SC 29209-2172 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Fort Jackson)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 94 Hotels in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Columbia Fort Jackson 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Columbia Fort Jackson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Fort Jackson Hotel Columbia
Fort Jackson Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing