We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Columbia
Post
Inbox
Search

“Pre-concert dinner and drinks”
Review of Thirsty Fellow

Thirsty Fellow
Order Online
Ranked #10 of 1,137 Restaurants in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Description: Located by the University of South Carolina, we are a full service restaurant and bar open 7 days/week. Casual atmosphere, dining room and covered deck, close to USC athletic activities and concerts at the Colonial Life Arena and Koger Center.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Enjoyed the food and atmosphere. It was parents weekend for Univ. of SC so they were out of a couple of menu items. Those we got were delicious.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank vbelk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (241)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 241 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Stopped by Thirsty Fellow for lunch because of the great reviews, and when we showed up the line was out the door, and it was packed, which tends to be a good omen. Sadly, that's where the good news ended. Given that it was just the two of us and we didn't want leftovers, we ordered a couple of appetizers and a pizza. I will be the first to admit, the pizza was very good, and the crust was clearly fresh and homemade. The appetizers were really sub-optimal, and tasted as though they were simply reheated products off the Sysco truck. The bread that came the spinach-artichoke dip hadn't even been toasted, and it was just bland Italian bread. If a group of you is just coming for pizzas and beers, have at it; it's great, but if you're going to eat off the rest of the menu, you are likely going to be underwhelmed.

Date of visit: October 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jandrewbarr65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry D, Owner at Thirsty Fellow, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

So sorry you didn’t have a good experience. The reviews and line really do tell the true story. Give us another try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2019 via mobile

Came here after a swim meet. Watched some football and ate a really good lunch. We had pretzel and cheese and that was friggin awesome! Hubs had French dip and house chips and said the bread being really fresh made it above average for him. Kid had chicken fingers and fries and she seemed to really like those. They were real chicken not processed crap. I had Philly cheesesteak with American cheese (American cheese is not philly in my book) and fries. It was pretty good but would’ve been better with the real cheese used in most Philly cheese. All in all we would come here again.

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank Rebecca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2019

Have eater here twice while visiting my son at USC. Solid beer selection, great food. Delicious burger (with egg on it). Can be crowded, but a great choice to hang out and eat.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2019

Bustling place, many TVs with sports on. Best Philly Cheese Steak in town. Spinach salad is great. Parking available and a paid lot nearby, close to Colonial Life Arena and Founders Park

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jfcq2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thirsty Fellow also viewed

 

Been to Thirsty Fellow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing