We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice hotel near fort jackson and restaurants”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Columbia/Ft. Jackson, SC
Ranked #61 of 94 Hotels in Columbia
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    34
    27
    29
    23
See reviews for
78
31
23
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2011

On our way to Florida from Ohio we stopped in at the Super 8 in Ft Jackson/
Columbia SC. We didn't stop until about midnight- we were tired but I've traveled enough to make sure I look at the room before comitting. As it was, the owner was there training a new desk clerk. When I asked to see the room, he enthusiatically offered to show me the available rooms. This room was very clean and well kept - not the typical "motel". I was very impressed. Being from a large city in Ohio and concerned about bed bugs, I pointedly asked him about them. The owner pulled back the sheets on both beds and showed me that there were new mattresses. He also patiently explained how to look for the tell tale signs of bed bugs. It may not have been the Hampton (It wasn't as expensive either) but it was an excellent value. I would recommend it. Also would recommend checking for bed bugs no matter where you stay.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before renting
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carmen7978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8columbia, Manager at Super 8 Columbia/Ft. Jackson, SC, responded to this review, December 28, 2015
Hello,

Thank you for sharing you recent experience here at the Super 8 fort jackson Columbia Downtown. We sincerely appreciate the kind words you have provided in reference to our property and our staff members. We would love to have you return as our valued guest during any future travels to the Downtown Columbia area. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cadyville, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2010

We stayed here because my son was graduating from boot camp. It was not a pleasant stay. The room was okay but the staff seemed like they didn't want to bother with us. There were all kinds of cobwebs in the stairwells also it is not located in a very attractive place. If you don't mind pavement everywhere and no trees of flowers then stay here. We would never stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hiker4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Statesville, NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2010

What a sleazy diry dump! First the positive: Our reservation for two nights was booked online. We arrived late at night. They were prepared for our arrival. We were greated by a friendly and effiicient night clerk named Shelly. Here's ends the positive segment of our review.

We entered a hot room. Keep in mind this is South Carolina in August. The window AC unit was off. One can only assume is was intentionally left off to conserve energy costs. The room temperature was 80+ degrees.

The shower stall was filthy. Guests are provided two small bath towels that are only marginally bigger than a hand towel. No soap was in the room. High speed internet access is not provided as advertised. No continental breakfast is provided as advertised. But most disturbing were the bed bugs living between the matress and box spring. Yep, bed bugs. It's worth repeating, this motel is not only dirty it is infested with bed bugs.

We couldn't get away from this dump fast enough. This is a low rent, bed bug infested, and unkempt motel. At $70 per night it is 50% overpriced. But I would never stay here again even if it were free.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GerardStatesville_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8columbia, Manager at Super 8 Columbia/Ft. Jackson, SC, responded to this review, December 28, 2015
Dear Valued Customer ,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for our property as your feedback is important to us.I am sorry to hear that you were not pleased with your recent experience as our guest. I have shared your comments with our leadership, in an effort to continue improving our services and our property. We hope that you will consider giving us second chance in the future as we promise to provide you with a a more satisfying experience. Thanks again for sharing your experience and enjoy your holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
2 reviews
Reviewed April 16, 2008

I stayed at this motel for 5 days, it was a great stay, I came to see my son's graduation, and had my children with me and was given a roll away cot for a very small fee, as we needed extra bedding. The staff was quite courteous and helpful. Can't wait to go back
The Roman family
Florida

  • Liked — comfort
  • Disliked — absolutely nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank khairool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8columbia, Manager at Super 8 Columbia/Ft. Jackson, SC, responded to this review, December 28, 2015
Hello,

Thank you for sharing you recent experience here at the Super 8 fort jackson Columbia Downtown. We sincerely appreciate the kind words you have provided in reference to our property and our staff members. We would love to have you return as our valued guest during any future travels to the Downtown Columbia area. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nc
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2008

Dropped in here very late. Was charged $70+ even with AAA. As I unpacked my car I was approached by a guy in the parking lot looking for money.

Not the best location, not a very good value. I'd look towards other options.

  • Stayed March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank hwt.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8columbia, Manager at Super 8 Columbia/Ft. Jackson, SC, responded to this review, December 28, 2015
Dear Valued Customer ,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for our property as your feedback is important to us.I am sorry to hear that you were not pleased with your recent experience as our guest. I have shared your comments with our leadership, in an effort to continue improving our services and our property. We hope that you will consider giving us second chance in the future as we promise to provide you with a a more satisfying experience. Thanks again for sharing your experience and enjoy your holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Columbia - Ft. Jackson
3.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn Columbia East - Ft Jackson
3.8 mi away
Sleep Inn near Ft. Jackson
Sleep Inn near Ft. Jackson
#49 of 94 in Columbia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Columbia NE Fort Jackson
4.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Columbia/At Fort Jackson
4.2 mi away
Quality Inn Fort Jackson
Quality Inn Fort Jackson
#56 of 94 in Columbia
3.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Columbia/Ft. Jackson, SC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Columbia/Ft. Jackson, SC

Property: Super 8 Columbia/Ft. Jackson, SC
Address: 5321 Forest Dr, I-77 Exit 12, Columbia, SC 29206-4921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 94 Hotels in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Columbia/Ft. Jackson, SC 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Super 8 Columbia/Ft. Jackson, SC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Columbia Fort Jackson Hotel Columbia
Super Eight Columbia
Columbia Super Eight
Columbia Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing