We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice roomy affordable accomodations for family with young children”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbia
Ranked #40 of 94 Hotels in Columbia
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice roomy affordable accomodations for family with young children”
Reviewed December 24, 2010

This new hotel on Piney Grove Road offered a fabulous room for the price for a family with young children. Two queen-sized beds in one separate area (with nice TV, great decor, etc.), nice bathroom, vanity, fridge, microwave, separate living area with pull-out sofa - TV - and a good-sized desk. The breakfast on the main floor had something for everyone. It was a little out of the way of the 26/77 interchange, but the short drive was worth it.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank formerfloridafamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    119
    71
    47
    39
See reviews for
211
65
22
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2010

We passed through Columbia on a road trip and needed to find a hotel around midnight. We have had wry bad luck with this in the past, but country inn and suites offered a great rate and the night manager was pleasant and professional. The lobby was warm and inviting (fireplace aglow). The manager went ahead to turn on the ligts and warm up our room while we grabbed our luggage from the car. The standard room was terrific! Modern furnishings, giant down comforters, large flat screen tv, refrigerator, tea and coffee, large white shower, giant white bath towels, and above average tolietries. The staff was so pleasant in the morning, too! The breakfast ( hot and cold) was above average, as well. Multiple brews of fresh coffee, scrambled eggs, sausage biscuits and gravy, make your own waffles, cereals, FRESH pastries! I know where I am staying next time I stay pass through Columbia! This hotel is of Marriot quality, at a great price.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mam0102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 23, 2010

Bad customer service!!! I heard doors slamming shut in the hallway all throughout the night - asked hotel clerk to address the problem and did nothing. Noisy water pipes, etc probably due to poor building frame construction. Paid way too mauch for the bad experience I will never stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel1analyst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upstate new york
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2010

We needed a room for our daughters graduation from basic training at fort jackson. There were many choices of hotels, and we had never traveled to south carolina before. We decided to book our room on priceline.com to save a little money. When we bid for a two star room and got this for 40 dollars per night , we had little expectation for anything great. But, we were pleasantly surprised. When we arrived,the lobby area was very homey with a couch area and fireplace. It looked like someones living room. The people were very nice and helpful, and we were settled quickly. Graduation the next day was at 10am but we wanted to arrive on base by 8. The breakfast each morning was wonderful. You had a choice of things, hot and cold which is very different from any other free breakfast we have had anywhere else. It was so fast and the food seemed always fresh. They would keep bringing it out as needed, which was great. The beds were soooo comfy, I really slept well. The rooms were always kept clean and they had everything you would need. Love when you get an iron and board. It was nice to press our clothes before we left. The location is nice, right near 77, which gave us easy access to fort jackson. I would highly recommend this place for anyone who is going to graduation, or columbia for any reason.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snorklesue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodstock, GA
1 review
Reviewed November 14, 2010

This hotel excells in customer service. The rooms are clean, pretty and well appointed. Special accomodations were made for my service dog, the room service food was incredible, the complimentary breakfast tasy and had a lot of variety, the value was top notch ($71.99 for me and my teenage daughter- two beds--)

The only drawback was the indoor pool wasnt heated, and we didnt get more coffe and shampoo on our second day there, but a comment to the desk clerk took care of that immediately.

If you are in Columbia for your soldiers graduation, the hotel is close to the base, easy to get to, has excellent reviews and is a great value (we werent charged for an additional person when my son got a 24 hr leave off base)

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cllathemwoodstock_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 20, 2010

This place is great for a long stay. Nice and clean. Great price and close to everything....

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JFILI73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2010

Look for another hotel! This one was dirty and in disrepair. Our room was to be a non-smoking room, but definitely smelled like someone had smoked in it and then they tried to cover it up with some really strong chemicals. When I approached the front desk about it - they were not able to switch us or resolve our issue. The pool area was very dirty and our bathtub looked like someone had kicked a hole in it. We have stayed at other Country Inn & Suites and been very satisfied - so this was totally not what we expected!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cruizin2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia/Southeast-Ft. Jackson
0.0 mi away
Sleep Inn near Ft. Jackson
Sleep Inn near Ft. Jackson
#49 of 94 in Columbia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
13.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbia at Harbison
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Columbia Fort Jackson
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn Columbia SE / Fort Jackson
0.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Columbia/At Fort Jackson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbia

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbia
Address: 220 E Exchange Blvd, Columbia, SC 29209-2172
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 94 Hotels in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbia 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Carlson, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Columbia Hotel Columbia
Country Inn And Suites Columbia
Country Inn Columbia
Columbia Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing