We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"very good"” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbia

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbia
Ranked #44 of 94 Hotels in Columbia
Arkansas
2 reviews
“"very good"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2009

Recently, we attended my son's graduation at Ft. Jackson. I was pleased to discover a friendly atmosphere,good breakfast,comfortable rooms, and very convenient to stores if you needed something I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    113
    69
    45
    38
See reviews for
200
64
20
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorktown, Virginia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2009

This hotel is the worst experience ever. We cancelled our reservation with the front desk due to a delay. One hour later the clerk called and stated the manager would not allow us to cancel. When we arrive at 1:30 in the morning we were greeted with "What do you want?!" We were interupting the night clerks' video. When the rate was 3 times the quote given us we questioned it. We were told to pay it or get out. We got out. Yet the hotel charged us anyway. After 8 days of attempting to get this location to work with us we had to get corporate Country Inn to intervene. This hotel is a con job. BE CAREFUL, the manager is less than honest. Go to Marriott Fairfield at Exit 17.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YorktownBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLORIDA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2008

Starting to age...... TV remote occasionally worked, rips in curtains and sheets, cigarette burns and rips on comforters/blankets ( I was in non-smoking room). Only one person working in the hotel when I checked in and room service did not come around until late ~ 4pm. There were a lot of families with small children visitng our brave soldiers at Ft. Jackson just be advised walls and floors are paper thin, had a family above the room that kept me up until 3am with kids yelling and running. This hotel is not a very relaxing or conductive atmosphere for business travelers, altough WiFi was fast. Will stay somewhere else on next visit!

  • Liked — WiFi
  • Disliked — Hotel Starting to age, thin walls
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tjm6515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2008

My wife and I needed a little get away time and we wanted a room with large jacuzzi tub. Those can be hard to find. Many of the ones we found were either just a regular tub with jets or were in hotels where we were afraid to touch anything.

Well we were very happy when we got to Country Inn and were warmly greeted by the staff. Our room was huge (room 210) and the tub was perfect for the two of us. The king bed was extremely comfortable. While this isn't a hotel with all the cheesy "romantic" get away stuff, it was perfect for me and my wife to just put out the "Do Not Disturb" sign and relax. The staff was very helpful (our coffee maker wasn't working, we mentioned it on the way out to dinner and when we got back, we had a new one) and the free breakfast was very good and well stocked.

While not a 5 star hotel with all the extras, for the price this is a very nice and comfortable stay even for couples who want to get away and soak in a tub.

  • Liked — Great Jacuzzi tub
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Roeshead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2008

I stayed here for business for 5 nights. The hotel is 2 exits from the main gate at Fort Jackson and is easily accessible. The room was sufficient with a microwave, fridge and coffeemaker. The room was suprisingly quiet and, even when the hotel was full, I could not hear my "neighbors". For the price, it was a decent hotel and I would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Liked — Good value for the price
  • Disliked — Bathroom was not the most updated
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mdcrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowansville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
112 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2008

stayed at motel during return trip from orlando. rooms are beginning to look aged. the tub in our unit (Room 111) did not plug properly so that a tub bath could be obtained. there also was some problems with criminal activity in the parking lot but thankfully i was not a victim. the pool was average and the free continental breakfast was standard. overall an average stay. hard to find initially because you have to turn off of a main road onto the road to the hotel. no sign indicating where to turn.

  • Liked — close to highway
  • Disliked — hard to find, rooms looked a little tired
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stay-home-mom-pa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas Gulf Coast, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2007

I booked the Country Inn and Suites Columbia based on the great reviews and the ranking on TripAdvisor. It was only average, not as great as the reviews I had read.

I went out of my way by about 15 miles to stay here, and expected a little better than what I got. On approach the hotel grounds and landscaping were nice. Upon entry, the lobby was clean. The room was clean and the bathroom was very clean. However, there was someone else's food in the microwave. There was a problem with the bathtub. The remote control in the room was for a different brand television and the front desk could not find the correct one for us. I could hear every noise from the room above.

As I said, it was clean, and a good value, but I don't think I would go out of my way to stay here again.

  • Liked — Clean
  • Disliked — Average everything
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank rrpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia/Southeast-Ft. Jackson
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn near Ft. Jackson
Sleep Inn near Ft. Jackson
#49 of 94 in Columbia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Columbia Fort Jackson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites Columbia Southeast/Fort Jackson
13.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbia at Harbison
0.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Columbia-Ft. Jackson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbia

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbia
Address: 220 East Exchange Boulevard, Columbia, SC 29209
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 94 Hotels in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbia 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Columbia Hotel Columbia
Country Inn And Suites Columbia
Country Inn Columbia
Columbia Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing