We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ehhhhh”
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #17 of 94 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Ehhhhh”
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Was ok, not great. There seemed to be some kind of huge family reunion going on and about 20 men were outside smoking around the entrance. There was so much smoke it was coming in through the air conditioner. Gross. Bed was way too soft.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Pattiwig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCI-AGM, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Pattiwig,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with the Comfort Inn Columbia. Your willingness to share your thoughts is genuinely appreciated.

We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. Please accept our sincerest apologies. We hope you will continue to use Choice Hotels as your lodging of choice and look forward to welcoming you back in an effort to provide you the level of service you expect from Comfort Inn.

Regards,
Amy T
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    163
    66
    27
    21
See reviews for
178
140
56
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Have stayed here at least 2-3 times a year for the past four years. Close to the freeway, but still has a quiet atmosphere. About 5 miles to the University of South Carolina, so it's a good spot for parents visiting their college kids. Really nice breakfast; does not skimp on the extras like some chains. Waffles, scrambled eggs, bacon and sausage, plus all the pastries, bagels and cold items. Staff opened the breakfast area early when we were there in May for my daughter's graduation, so we could get breakfast and still get to the graduation in time to get good seats. Staff always friendly and helpful. Really worth a visit!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back side of the Lobby if the morning sun bothers you.
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel exhibits a concern about the environment and encourages guests to reuse towels and save water. I'm sure it also helps them to manage their expenses better, but I am all for saving money, where ever it's possible.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank USCmom427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCI-AGM, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear USCmom427,

We appreciate your loyalty to our hotel and Choice Hotels. You described our breakfast perfectly and we do make every attempt to accommodate our guests when they are in a hurry to get somewhere of importance.

Thank you for sharing your experiences with us about the last four years. We hope that you will continue to visit us even though your daughter has successfully completed her studies at USC. And, congratulations to her on that fine accomplishment.

Regards,
Amy T
DOS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Ive stayed in this hotel numerous times in the past 3 years. They always remember me which is very nice !! Easy access off of I-26, a short drive from the Riverbanks Zoo. They have a pool in front of the building, free continental breakfast each morning, plenty of free parking. Rooms are always clean and comfortable. Great value for the price paid.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCI-AGM, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Kim A,

It is a delight to always welcome you back to Comfort Inn Columbia. We are happy to hear you are so pleased with our hotel, service and accommodations that you continuously choose us for your hotel needs.

Thank you again for your loyalty to Comfort Inn and to the Choice Hotels International brand. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm regards,
Amy T
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeast
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stopped here overnight on a road trip. Room was clean, bed comfortable, everyone was friendly. Conveniently located to the interstate, yet easy to find. Maybe not the best neighborhood, but for a stop-over, it was great!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthernSweetT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCI-AGM, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear SouthernSweetT,

Comfort Inn Columbia appreciates you taking the time to express these kind words about our hotel and our staff. We take a great amount of pride in ensuring all of our guests are satisfied when they arrive and happy when they leave.

We hope that you visit us again when traveling back through the Columbia area.

Warm Regards,
Amy T
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north geogia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I have stayed here many times while I worked for a company located here. I have never been disappointed with this property. It is an older property but is very well maintained and managed. .Rooms are very well appointed and comfortable. Very good breakfast. Good fitness center with resistance training as well as cardio machines. Excellent hot breakfast and very professional staff. No complaints!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank youneverknow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCI-AGM, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear youneverknow,

We appreciate you taking the time to inform us of your most recent stay at Comfort Inn Columbia. We are pleased to hear that you have such a pleasant time when you visit us each time while here on business. Our fitness center is a great way to release some energy after a busy day and the breakfast has great hot and cold options each morning, including sausage, biscuits, eggs, yogurts, pastries, cereals, muffins and fresh fruit.

Thank you for letting us know that you enjoy our hotel and our staff. Your business is highly important to us and you are a valued customer. Thank you again for allowing us to serve you.

Regards,
Amy T
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phenix City, Alabama
1 review
Reviewed June 10, 2013

My wife and I visited this hotel one night and we were very surprised about how friendly the staff were. We were at the continental breakfast on 6/9/13 at the last minute and the lady jumped up and made more eggs and sausage. She didn't have to do that as there were a few left and it was about to close. Then as I was trying to get all the bags in "one trip" (I'm a guy of course) the cleaning lady Jaki noticed I was struggling and offered to help. It isn't very often that people offer to help these days. The staff was great at customer service and I would recommend this place to anyone passing through and I thank the staff for keeping customer service a priority.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCI-AGM, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Kevin W,

Our primary goal is to make sure all our guests feel welcomed and invited. We are delighted you received such stellar service at our breakfast. Thank you for sharing your comments with us and the rest of our potential customers. We value you taking the time to convey your experience.

Regards,
Amy T
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband and I spent one night here on our way from Ohio to Florida. The staff was friendly and helpful, the room was clean and comfortable, and the breakfast gave us a good start for our road trip.

Access to the hotel was a bit confusing. Though the property is visible from the main road, the entrance is accessed from a side road which is easy to miss.

All in all we were pleased with our stay and would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryC1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCI-AGM, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear MaryC 1981,

We are pleased you chose our hotel while traveling from Ohio to Florida. Breakfast is always a great way to start the day, so we are delighted you were able to enjoy our deluxe hot breakfast buffet.

Sorry to hear you had difficulties find access to our location but glad you were able to find us in the end. In the future, feel free to call the property. We are more than willing to help you with directions.

Sincerely,
Amy T
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Columbia Northwest
0.8 mi away
Best Western Executive Inn & Suites
9.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Columbia North East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia-I-26 Harbison Boulevard
0.9 mi away
Sleep Inn at Bush River Road
10.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Columbia / Northeast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Property: Comfort Inn
Address: 911 Bush River Rd, Columbia, SC 29210-7516 (Formerly Days Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Columbia
#11 Business Hotel in Columbia
#18 Family Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn of Columbia is located just off I-26 at exit 108A with easy access to I-20, I-126 and I-77. Minutes from downtown Columbia and the Columbia Metropolitan Airport. This pet-friendly hotel is brimming with many excellent amenities including a free Comfort Sunshine breakfast featuring hot Belgian waffles, free wireless Internet access, free USA Today, 24-hour coffee and tea service, airport shuttle, exercise room, seasonal outdoor pool, business center and banquet/meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Columbia
Comfort Inn Columbia
Columbia Comfort Inn
Columbia Days Inn
Days Inn Columbia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing