We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Great Team”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District
Ranked #5 of 94 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Greer, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel, Great Team”
Reviewed August 27, 2014

The team at this hotel is great and makes you feel very welcome. I was welcomed to my room personally by the Area Director of Sales Holly Boozer. The leadership at the hotel makes it one of the best Hampton Inns in the country.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LenG-Manager, Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Michael H,
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments on the Hampton Inn Columbia Downtown Historic District. We loved having you here and we hope to see you many more times for years to come. We cannot tell you how much we appreciate you complementing our staff and leadership it brings a smile to our faces to hear that all of our hard work has paid off. Please let me know if there is anything we can do for you on your next trip to the area so that we can accommodate your needs. Have a great day and we hope to see you soon!!

Sincerely,

Len Gilbert
Assistant General Manager
Hampton Inn - Downtown Historic District
822 Gervais Street
Columbia, SC 29201
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    551
    208
    65
    17
    8
See reviews for
231
167
51
304
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2014 via mobile

This is my favorite hotel in Columbia. The staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms are undergoing renovation, the new look is pleasing. The location downtown, within walking distance of many restaurants and bars is a real plus. You cant go wrong here.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank TedinPensacola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LenG-Manager, Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear TedinPensacola,
Thank you so much for your gracious comments on the Hampton Inn Downtown Columbia Historic District. We loved having you and we hope you stay with us every time you are back in the area. We have worked so hard on the new rooms and it brings joy to our hearts that they please you. Our staff will always be here for you greeting you with a smile. Please let us know if there is anything we can do for you on your next trip and have a wonderful day!!

Safe Travels,
Len Gilbert
Assistant General Manager
Hampton Inn - Downtown Historic District
822 Gervais Street
Columbia, SC 29201
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2014

Location is perfect, lots of restaurants! Just finishing up a refresh and it was very well done. Love staying here! People Re always gracious and friendly. Breakfast is great and fresh. I would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LenG-Manager, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Kenneth b,

Thank you so much for your gracious comments on your enjoyable stay at The Hampton Inn in Downtown Columbia. We are so glad you were able to enjoy our great location in the Vista. With over 50 bars and restaurants within walking distance of our property, relaxing after a long day is that much easier, We are happy that our staff was able to brighten your day with wonderful service. Our breakfast is one of our largest assets we have on property. From fresh scrambled eggs, to fresh doughnuts and waffles, our breakfast has something for everyone. Again, thank you so much for your kind review, and we look forward to seeing you again at the Hampton Inn in Downtown Columbia!



Best Wishes,
Allan Galatolo
Guest Service Representative
Hampton Inn Downtown Columbia
822 Gervais Street, Columbia SC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2014

Everyone that works here is so friendly and helpful. Amenities are great - breakfast, cookies, nightly food and drinks. We've stayed 3 times since November and will stay a lot more over the next 4 yrs. Home away from home.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank shirmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LenG-Manager, Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear shirmy,

Thank you so much for your fantastic review on the Hampton Inn Downtown Columbia Historic District. This is such a great review and we are so happy to hear how much you enjoy our property. We cannot wait to be your home away from home the next four years and we hope every time gets better than the last. Please let us know if there is anything we can do for you and we hope to see you again soon!!!

Sincerely,
Len Gilbert
Assistant General Manager
Hampton Inn - Downtown Historic District
822 Gervais Street
Columbia, SC 29201
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2014

Excellent location, excellent product that has been recently renovated and extremely professional and accommodating staff. A must stay if you are in the area. Best breakfast selection that is well. Maintained throughout the breakfast period.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dkasten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LenG-Manager, Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Dkasten,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review on the Hampton Inn Downtown Columbia Historic District. We are so happy to hear that you loved our new renovated rooms. We have worked so hard to deliver a new product to our guests and it brings a huge smile to our faces to see that it paid off. We would also like to thank you for your positive comments about our breakfast product and staff. We agree that our breakfast is top notch, with tons of options and smiling faces. Please come see us again very soon and have safe travels.

Sincerely,

Len Gilbert
Assistant General Manager
Hampton Inn - Downtown Historic District
822 Gervais Street
Columbia, SC 29201
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2014

This is by far the best hotel to stay at in Downtown Columbia. The location is walking distance from great restaurants and bars and only a few minutes drive to the University of South Carolina. This hotel was recently remodeled and the rooms are incredible. Really comfortable bed! This was my eighth time staying at this location. Over the past year , I have had the opportunity to meet many wonderful staff members at the front desk who were also students at the university of South Carolina. The students and staff were all exceptional! The staff members, especially Allan, go out of their way to provide the best service to their guests. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a fabulous hotel in Downtown Columbia. We look forward to our next stay in September for Parents Weekend at the University of South Carolina!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MonicaAZN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LenG-Manager, Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear MonicaAZN,
Thank you so much for your fabulous review on the Hampton Inn Columbia Downtown Historic District! We loved having you and we cannot wait for you to come back again for parent’s weekend. Our staff takes pride in delivering the best quality customer service around and thank you so much for recognizing it. We really enjoy hearing about your experience with our NEW RENOVATED ROOMS. We have been working so hard to get them perfect and it is great to hear you loved them. We can’t wait to see you in September and have a great day!

Len Gilbert
Assistant General Manager
Hampton Inn - Downtown Historic District
822 Gervais Street
Columbia, SC 29201
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Vale, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2014

The location of the hotel is convenient and the front desk staff is nice. If you are in a room like I was facing the street you are going to hear every step and conversation outside the hotel. I also had some knuckleheads out in the hallway, laughing, screaming, and fighting. at 3 am. Call the front desk and they addressed it right away. I don't understand how people can be that rude and inconsiderate. The rooms were clean. I got one of the newly renovated rooms so it was nice. Half the floor I was at was under construction so it was messy. Breakfast was just OK if you are on a low carb diet it is not for you. I wouldn't stay here again. I'm going back to the Hilton down the street.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Spren4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LenG-Manager, Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear Spren4,
Thank you so much for your comments on the Hampton Inn Downtown Columbia Historic District. We agree that our staff is friendly and deliver great service. We work day and night to deliver the 100% Hamptonality that all of our guests deserve. We would also like to apologize about the "knuckleheads" running around in the hallways. With us being located centrally around 50 bars and restaurants that may happen from time to time, but I am glad we addressed the situation for you that evening. Please come see us again real soon and have safe travels.

Len Gilbert
Assistant General Manager
Hampton Inn - Downtown Historic District
822 Gervais Street
Columbia, SC 29201
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.8 mi away
Inn at USC Wyndham Garden
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Columbia / Downtown / The Vista
0.1 mi away
Hilton Columbia Center
Hilton Columbia Center
#10 of 94 in Columbia
860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown/The Vista
0.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites Columbia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District

Property: Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District
Address: 822 Gervais St, Columbia, SC 29201-3126
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Columbia
#6 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
#9 Family Hotel in Columbia
#13 Business Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn® hotel in Columbia-Downtown Historic District is located at the heart of the Vista surrounded by over 30 bars and restaurants, less than a mile from the University of South Carolina, the South Carolina State Capitol, the Convention Center, the Colonial Life Arena, 10 minute drive to the Williams Brice Stadium, and most major museums. Get a feel for the southern charm by browsing our local specialty shops just outside our door, or get up close to history at the South Carolina Statehouse-both are within easy reach of our hotel in Columbia. Dig into more history at the South Carolina State Museum, the largest in the state. Our Columbia hotel also gives you easy access to nature wonders like Congaree National Park, one of the last old-growth forests in the south teeming with wildlife and our nearby local river walk, the Riverfront Park, only a mile away and just one exit away from the Riverbanks Zoo. You can also browse masterpieces by Monet at the Columbia Museum of Art. Our parking closed lot is located in the back of the hotel on Lincoln street with a small fee. Any other questions on our property please call us to speak to one of our Guest Service Representatives! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotel.de, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District Hotel Columbia
Columbia Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing