We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District
Ranked #4 of 94 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Rock Hill, United States
1 review
“Nice stay!”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Enjoyed my stay here for a conference. Room was clean and quiet and beds were soft. Breakfast was nice each morning! Loved that there is fresh coffee in the lobby all day long. The managers reception is nice each evening as well.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Mica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefanyL-Manager, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Mica B,

On behalf of the staff and management team, I want to personally thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent accommodation needs. We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review for our property on TripAdvisor. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here, we are very proud of our breakfast and try to keep our Manager's Reception, which occurs nightly Monday through Thursday, fresh and fun. Thank you so much for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Columbia!

Sincerely,

Stefany Lenhart
S.lenhart@hospitalityamerica.com
Front Office Manager
Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown Historic District
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    565
    214
    67
    17
    8
See reviews for
239
170
54
309
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We love staying in the historic district in Columbia and this hotel is within walking distance to our favorite restaurants. Plus, we love the local antique shops! We have returned at least 5 times and will certainly return again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Celadon906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefanyL-Manager, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Celadon906,

On behalf of the staff and management team, I want to personally thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent accommodation needs. We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review for our property on TripAdvisor. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here, our location really can't be beat! Thank you so much for staying with us so frequently and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Columbia!

Sincerely,

Stefany Lenhart
S.lenhart@hospitalityamerica.com
Front Office Manager
Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown Historic District
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonhead
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We stayed overnight here one night. My husband was attending an event at the convention center which is in walking distance. The hotel was very nice and very clean. Your typical Hampton with good service and what you would expect. We were on the 5th floor which was also very quiet. Not much shopping in the area. There is a huge antique market and several furniture stores. A Starbucks right across the street. We ate at Blue Marlin which was across the street and had a great dinner. I would suggest making a reservation. There is also a great tapas restaurant down the street, but we did not make it there. Plenty of bars and restaurants around.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HiltonheadGolfgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefanyL-Manager, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Hiltonheadgolfgirl,

On behalf of the staff and management team, I want to personally thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent accommodation needs. We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review for our property on TripAdvisor. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here, our location really can't be beat! Thank you so much for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Columbia!

Sincerely,

Stefany Lenhart
S.lenhart@hospitalityamerica.com
Front Office Manager
Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown Historic District
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We joined two other couples at this hotel for the weekend, in association with an event at the Colonial Life Arena. We parked our cars and didn't move them until we checked out. Everything we needed or wanted was within walking distance.

The hotel is very well maintained and the staff is friendly and efficient. We got a room with a sitting area so we had room to visit with our friends. The room included a refrigerator, microwave and a large flat screen TV. It was quite comfortable and well appointed.

We were within easy walking distance of the State House (interesting history), shopping, many restaurants, ice cream shops, candy stores, bars, museums, as well as the arena. There were plenty of interesting places to explore.

The hotel's parking lot is to the rear of the hotel and there's a daily $12 charge, but that seems common for most downtown hotels and it's not unreasonable.

The complimentary breakfast is quite adequate. It's not gourmet, but it beats spending $20 for something comparable. It included fruit, cereal, omelette (undoubtedly not made on site), sausage, waffles, pastries, coffee, juices, etc.

Other than the breakfast, there is no restaurant in the hotel. There are many just a few yards away, though.

The city and state have a wide array of taxes they add to the base room cost, so just be aware that the room rate is somewhat lower than what you'll actually pay.

We would definitely choose this hotel for our next trip to Columbia.

Room Tip: This is only a four-story hotel, but I would request a room away from the elevators and the ice mach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littletm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefanyL-Manager, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Littletm,

On behalf of the staff and management team, I want to personally thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent accommodation needs. We really appreciate you taking the time to write such a thorough review for our property on TripAdvisor. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here! Our centrally located hotel in the Vista has over 50 bars, shops and restaurants within walking distance, which as you pointed out, is a great benefit of staying at our property. Thank you so much being our guest and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Columbia!

Sincerely,

Stefany Lenhart
S.lenhart@hospitalityamerica.com
Front Office Manager
Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown Historic District
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south carolina
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

I am currently sitting in my room, getting ready to check out after my anniversary weekend spent in downtown Columbia. Went to the state museum, a college baseball game, a college basketball game, and ate some of the best food I have had in a very long time. All of this within walking distance of the hotel property. We haven't had the need to use our car all weekend. All of the staff from the front desk,to their housekeeping, right down to Allen with the maintenance department have gone out of their way to make sure that our weekend was perfect. The owners and management should be extremely proud of the staff they have assembled. They are as good as it gets. This hotel is a great value, made even better by "their team" of professionals. I would certainly recommend this hotel for anyone needing to stay in downtown.

Room Tip: There are many restaurants within a 2-3 block walk from the property. I strongly recommend the Itali...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolinamike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefanyL-Manager, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Carolina Mike,

On behalf of the staff and management team, I want to personally thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent accommodation needs. We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review for our property on TripAdvisor. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here, we are very proud of our staff and have passed along your compliments to them. Thank you so much for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Columbia!

Sincerely,

Stefany Lenhart
S.lenhart@hospitalityamerica.com
Front Office Manager
Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown Historic District
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United States
1 review
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Many name brand hotels that I've stayed in were very beat up, not this one. Very nice room in great shape with a big tv and free internet. Walk to dozens of restaurants/bars including the Flying Saucer. Safe fun area of town.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Christopher G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefanyL-Manager, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Christopher G.,

On behalf of the staff and management team, I want to personally thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent accommodation needs. We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review for our property on TripAdvisor. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here, our location really can't be beat! Thank you so much for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Columbia!

Sincerely,

Stefany Lenhart
S.lenhart@hospitalityamerica.com
Front Office Manager
Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown Historic District
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
288 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Our room was just what one might expect at a medium priced hotel. It was clean as a whistle. I stayed at the Hilton around the corner last time I was in Columbia and the major difference is in the quality of the materials in the room...more granite, nicer features. For the price difference, this is fine for a night as it was clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful at every turn. I would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wakanwalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefanyL-Manager, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Wakanwalk,

On behalf of the staff and management team, I want to personally thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent accommodation needs. We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review for our property on TripAdvisor. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here and look forward to you staying with us in the future!

Sincerely,

Stefany Lenhart
S.lenhart@hospitalityamerica.com
Front Office Manager
Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown Historic District
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Columbia / Downtown / The Vista
0.8 mi away
Inn at USC Wyndham Garden
0.2 mi away
Hilton Columbia Center
Hilton Columbia Center
#9 of 94 in Columbia
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites Columbia
Staybridge Suites Columbia
#10 of 94 in Columbia
406 reviews
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown/The Vista
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District

Property: Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District
Address: 822 Gervais St, Columbia, SC 29201-3126
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Columbia
#6 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
#9 Family Hotel in Columbia
#13 Business Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn® hotel in Columbia-Downtown Historic District is located at the heart of the Vista surrounded by over 30 bars and restaurants, less than a mile from the University of South Carolina, the South Carolina State Capitol, the Convention Center, the Colonial Life Arena, 10 minute drive to the Williams Brice Stadium, and most major museums. Get a feel for the southern charm by browsing our local specialty shops just outside our door, or get up close to history at the South Carolina Statehouse-both are within easy reach of our hotel in Columbia. Dig into more history at the South Carolina State Museum, the largest in the state. Our Columbia hotel also gives you easy access to nature wonders like Congaree National Park, one of the last old-growth forests in the south teeming with wildlife and our nearby local river walk, the Riverfront Park, only a mile away and just one exit away from the Riverbanks Zoo. You can also browse masterpieces by Monet at the Columbia Museum of Art. Our parking closed lot is located in the back of the hotel on Lincoln street with a small fee. Any other questions on our property please call us to speak to one of our Guest Service Representatives! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District Hotel Columbia
Columbia Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing