We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hampton Inn in Great Columbia Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District
Ranked #4 of 94 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Huntersville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Hampton Inn in Great Columbia Location”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We've stayed in Columbia several times, but never stayed in the historic downtown area. This hotel is in a great location--convenient to many restaurants, downtown museums, the university, and shopping. We will definitely be staying here when we visit Columbia in the future.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank sdaggett2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor J, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear TripAdvisor Member,

On behalf of the staff and management team, I wanted to personally thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent accommodation needs. We are glad to see that you enjoyed your visit and our location. I'm glad that you found your new home away from home when in the Columbia area.

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Columbia.

Sincerely,

Taylor Johnson
Taylor.Johnson@Hilton.com
General Manager
Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown Historic District
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    552
    208
    65
    17
    8
See reviews for
232
167
51
304
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Originally came for an overnight stay to catch our 4:00 a.m. Amtrak to New York, ended up staying an extra day when we missed the train. Very well appointed, huge rooms, and a friendly, responsive staff.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank davidjaspers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CDornhecker, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this review, January 7, 2015
Dear davidjaspers,

On behalf of the staff and management team, I wanted to personally thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent accommodation needs. It is wonderful to see that you choose to stay with us on your return trip to Columbia. We will always have a comfortable bed and the manager's reception waiting on you.

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Columbia.

Sincerely,

Casey Dornhecker
Casey.Dornhecker@Hilton.com
General Manager
Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown Historic District
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

This is probably the best hotel in Columbia. It's located in the hip historic district, within a block or two of fine dining and some popular bars. There are views from every window of the refurbished brick warehouses typical of this newly gentrified area. The lobby is upbeat and fresh, and there is a large free breakfast buffet with those pour-your-own waffles, hardboiled eggs, scrambled eggs, etc., as well as coffee round the clock. Also the duvet covers are washed for each new guest and the beds are VERY comfortable.

I've stayed here for the last 5 years, but on the most recent visit I felt my room was going downhill just a teeny bit, with a sticky closet door and a piece coming off the A/C unit. They are probably due for a carpet upgrade, but we are talking about Columbia, SC, not a five star hotel in Paris. Comparatively speaking the prices are extremely reasonable. The staff is nice. The room seemed fairly quiet to me. The breakfast room can be crowded at times and the hotel does sell out. They now charge 12$ per night for parking (dang it, Columbia is catching up to the big cities) and it seems that at times the locals use the lot to go to nearby bars to watch sports events.

This is the only hotel I will stay at in the area. Other hotels of the same price range nearby, such as the Hilton, smell horribly of cheap 80's eau-de-bus-station-bathroom.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nico848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CDornhecker, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this review, January 7, 2015
Dear nico848,

On behalf of the staff and management team, I wanted to personally thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent accommodation needs. It is wonderful to see that you choose to stay with us on your return trip to Columbia. We will always have a comfortable bed and the manager's reception waiting on you.

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Columbia.

Sincerely,

Casey Dornhecker
Casey.Dornhecker@Hilton.com
General Manager
Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown Historic District
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boonville, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 13, 2013

I have traveled and stayed at many hotels in my journey's. The Hampton Inn in Columbia, SC was amazing! The location, ambiance, staff, presentation of the Hotel and ground's were above board. Best Wishes for continued Success! CHEERS!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Melvin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tkentjohnson007, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Katherine M.,

On behalf of the staff and management team, I wanted to personally thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent accommodation needs. I am glad to see that you enjoyed the location and especially our staff. Thanks for the well wishes.

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Columbia.

Sincerely,

Taylor Johnson
Taylor.Johnson@Hilton.com
General Manager
Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown Historic District
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We enjoyed our visit to your hotel. The location was perfect for us and the service was very good. The employees were helpful and courteous. The rooms were clean and well decorated. The breakfast was tasty and convenient. We were close to the university and we had come to Columbia to attend an event there.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor J, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Katherine M.,

On behalf of the staff and management team, I wanted to personally thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent accommodation needs. We are glad to see that you enjoyed your visit and our location. Our staff is always glad to give a helping hand and I will be sure to pass your kind words along.

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Columbia.

Sincerely,

Taylor Johnson
Taylor.Johnson@Hilton.com
General Manager
Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown Historic District
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, SC, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 17, 2013

The hotel and staff were in excellent order. If you have a problem, the staff fixes the problem immediately with no questions asked. Breakfast was great as well. This hotel is well worth the cost. Housekeeping was excellent and attentive to the needs of the guests. Hotel is very well maintained and the staff are obviously trained very well.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Ronnie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor J, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Ronnie G.,

On behalf of the staff and management team, I wanted to personally thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent accommodation needs. Thank you for taking the time to let future travelers know that our staff is there for them when needed. Glad you were able to enjoy our breakfast and saw the attention our housekeeping staff gives the hotel daily.

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Columbia.

Sincerely,

Taylor Johnson
Taylor.Johnson@Hilton.com
General Manager
Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown Historic District
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed November 15, 2013

The hotel is wonderful location, close to the state capital and many dining options. The staff is friendly and personable, and were always striving to make sure my stay was as comfortable as possible. The room was clean, and well maintained. Spent many hours using the wifi without fail, and liked the fact that the desk lamp had electircal plugs, so the phone and computer could be easly charged in one location. Also, enjoyed the breakfast, which provided a number of hot and cold selections, and a number of coffee choices. You will not be disappointed. Thanks to the staff for an enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Wernher W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor J, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Wernher W.,

On behalf of the staff and management team, I wanted to personally thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent accommodation needs. Thank you for the comment about the staff and I will make sure that I pass them along. I know how important WiFi can be and glad to see that you were able to utilize it with no problems. Thank you for the review.

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Columbia.

Sincerely,

Taylor Johnson
Taylor.Johnson@Hilton.com
General Manager
Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown Historic District
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.8 mi away
Inn at USC Wyndham Garden
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Columbia / Downtown / The Vista
0.1 mi away
Hilton Columbia Center
Hilton Columbia Center
#10 of 94 in Columbia
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown/The Vista
0.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites Columbia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District

Property: Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District
Address: 822 Gervais St, Columbia, SC 29201-3126
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Columbia
#6 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
#9 Family Hotel in Columbia
#13 Business Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn® hotel in Columbia-Downtown Historic District is located at the heart of the Vista surrounded by over 30 bars and restaurants, less than a mile from the University of South Carolina, the South Carolina State Capitol, the Convention Center, the Colonial Life Arena, 10 minute drive to the Williams Brice Stadium, and most major museums. Get a feel for the southern charm by browsing our local specialty shops just outside our door, or get up close to history at the South Carolina Statehouse-both are within easy reach of our hotel in Columbia. Dig into more history at the South Carolina State Museum, the largest in the state. Our Columbia hotel also gives you easy access to nature wonders like Congaree National Park, one of the last old-growth forests in the south teeming with wildlife and our nearby local river walk, the Riverfront Park, only a mile away and just one exit away from the Riverbanks Zoo. You can also browse masterpieces by Monet at the Columbia Museum of Art. Our parking closed lot is located in the back of the hotel on Lincoln street with a small fee. Any other questions on our property please call us to speak to one of our Guest Service Representatives! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District Hotel Columbia
Columbia Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing