We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$127
$118
Staybridge.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$100
$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$87
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$164
$147
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$89
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$125
$121
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$159
$143
SpringHill Suites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$158
$129
Sheraton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (954)
Filter reviews
954 results
Traveler rating
623
231
71
19
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
623
231
71
19
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationconvention centerwithin walking distanceblue marlingervais streetrestaurants and barsstate housevista areaparking lotcolonial life arenahotel is locatedusc campusstaff was friendlygreat place to staycomplimentary breakfastbusiness tripclean hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
719 - 724 of 954 reviews
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed at the Hampton Inn for the weekend of the state fair. Great location, really nice rooms ,and quiet considering the location. The staff were very friendly, and went out of their way to make our stay pleasant. Great breakfast, and 24 hour tea and coffee available. Only thing that stopped the 5 stars , is the plastic cutlery. Hard to cut bacon and sausage with a plastic fork. Plastic cups for hot drinks as well. Put that right and 5 out of 5 every time.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank merlin41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor J, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear Merlin41.,

On behalf of the staff and management team, I wanted to personally thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent accommodation needs. It is wonderful to see that you enjoyed our location and that you saw our staff going the extra mile to ensure a pleasant stay. Thank you for the review.

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Columbia.

Sincerely,

Taylor Johnson
Taylor.Johnson@Hilton.com
General Manager
Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown Historic District

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

We live in Lexington SC right outside of Columbia. We decided to spend the night in town and enjoy walking around and not having to drive.
The Hampton Inn is THE perfect location in which to do it! The bed was comfy and the room was clean. Everything I've come to expect at Hampton Inn.
This was the second time we've stayed there and look forward to doing it again.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank VickiWinSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CDornhecker, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2015

Dear VickiWinSC,

On behalf of the staff and management team, I wanted to personally thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent accommodation needs. Love to see that you enjoyed our property and that you would stay again. Thank you for the review.

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Columbia.

Sincerely,

Casey Dornhecker
Casey.Dornhecker@Hilton.com
General Manager
Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown Historic District

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

This was a great property. Staff was helpful. Check-in went very quickly The rooms were clean. Location was great with easy access to downtown Columbia. Family friendly. Really enjoyed staying at this property. We would stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Robbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor J, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Dear Robbie C.,

On behalf of the staff and management team, I wanted to personally thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent accommodation needs. Love to see that you enjoyed our property and that you would stay again. Thank you for the review.

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Columbia.

Sincerely,

Taylor Johnson
Taylor.Johnson@Hilton.com
General Manager
Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown Historic District

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

The Hampton inn was a very nice place. All city life is very close. The Parking charge was a bit of a surprise. $12 a day. Lack of parking was also an issue and I was charged for a day I didn't have a space. The staff did remove the charge. Rooms were a bit dated, AC/Heat was loud and very hard to keep to one temp in the room.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor J, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Dear Jim C.,

On behalf of the staff and management team, I wanted to personally thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent accommodation needs. I'm glad to see that you enjoyed our location and found the hotel enjoyable. I hate that you were not able to find a parking space one evening, but it's good to know the staff took care of you. I am having my maintenance team check the hotel to see if we can find a trouble AC/Heat unit, but if you have time to discuss the noise issue further please feel free to contact me at the below email or telephone number. Thank you for the review.

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Columbia.

Sincerely,

Taylor Johnson
Taylor.Johnson@Hilton.com
General Manager
Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown Historic District
(803) 231-2000

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Clean, comfortable and friendly. It's almost like home. The staff is outstanding! Great place to stay for a repeat guest! Check in/out quick and easy. Bathrooms clean and the full complimentary breakfast was outstanding offering a wide variety from fresh fruit and cereal to eggs, sausage, biscuits and gravy. This hotel is a great starting point to exploring Columbia SC. Go Gamecocks!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor J, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear Paul B.,

On behalf of the staff and management team, I wanted to personally thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent accommodation needs. Thanks for voting us Best in Columbia, because that is what we strive for everyday. Great to see that check in/out was a breeze and you enjoyed the variety we offer at breakfast.

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Columbia (and Go Gamecocks!!)

Sincerely,

Taylor Johnson
General Manager
Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown Historic District

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews