We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT hotel in a very cool location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District
Ranked #4 of 94 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I stayed here for two nights for a business trip and loved that it was across the street from Starbucks and within walking distance to a lot of cool restaurants. The staff was SUPER friendly and really went out of their way to make sure everyone was taken care of and happy. I definitely recommend this hotel and am excited to have a great place to stay when I'm back again later this year!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AZAshcraft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Dear AZAshcraft,

Thank you for your most recent review concerning your most recent stay at our hotel. Through our guests feedback is the best way for us to know how we are doing. Here at the Hampton Inn Columbia Downtown Historic District we take pride in ensuring that each and every guests stay here exceeds thier expectations and they leave here 100% satisfied. I will be sure to pass on your review to our staff and hope that the next time you find yourself in the city, that we will be your hotel of choice. If my staff or I can be of any assistance in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Wishing you safe travels in 2013,
J. Benjamin Blackwell
General Manager
Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown Historic District
822 Gervais Street
Columbia, SC 29201

803-231-2000 (Hotel)
803-744-3321 (Direct)
803-231-2868 (Fax)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (885)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

723 - 729 of 885 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

Once again on our way to Florida we stopped at this hotel. We had stayed here 8 months earlier and liked the hotel a lot. This time we were traveling with our son and his family on our way to Disney World. Since it was the night before Thanksgiving, we had made reservations.once again we were very pleased with our choice. Check- in was a breeze and as a bonus, fresh baked cookies were still available. We two connecting rooms on the second floor - fine location. Quiet! The front desk was very helpful with direction for pizza for the kids. Grandma and Grandpa opted for a walk to stretch our legs and dinner at a closeby pup followed by a trip to Starbucks. Great early breakfast and another trip to Starbuks and we were on our way. Great location!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paweibel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Dear paweibel,

FIrst and foremost, I would like to thank you for thinking of us again as you traveled to Florida. We love seeing familair faces! Secondly I would like to thank you for your most recent review of the hotel. We are glad that not only you but your family was able to join you in enjoying our Historic Vista area. We take pride in ensuring that each and every guest leaves here 100% satisfied! We hope to see you again this year and if my staff or I can be of any assistance in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us. We wish you safe travels in 2013!

Best regards,

J. Benjamin Blackwell
General Manager
Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown Historic District
822 Gervais Street
Columbia, SC 29201

803-231-2000 (Hotel)
803-744-3321 (Direct)
803-231-2868 (Fax)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Staying here when in Columbia, SC is a good idea. You are within walking distance to many non-chain restaraunts. The fare is from sea food to steak or light pub food. You can find asain one block to the left and a Star Bucks just across the street. The Hotel is clean and very quiet. Just what the road warrior needs after being on the road.

Room Tip: Try the Liberty Tap Room right next door. I had the filet Mignon and it was excellent!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dandapatioman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Dear dandapatioman,

I just wanted to take a moment to thank you for your recent review of our hotel. We take pride in hearing from each and everyone of our guests. Here at the Hampton Inn Columbia Downtown Historic District, we love to ensure that each and every guest that stays with us is 100% satisfied with thier stay. We were also glad to hear that you were able to get out and enjoy some of the Historic Vista area, ecspecially some of the unique restaurants surrounding the hotel and hope that the next time you are in the area that you are able to stay with us again and more of the area. Our front desk is very knowledgeable of the area and have some great recommendations for dining in the area! If my staff or I can be of any assistance in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us. We wish you safe travels in 2013!

Best regards,

J. Benjamin Blackwell
General Manager
Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown Historic District
822 Gervais Street
Columbia, SC 29201

803-231-2000 (Hotel)
803-744-3321 (Direct)
803-231-2868 (Fax)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Reserved a block of room for out of town guests attending a professional development course at our organization on Main Street. Rates were grate, staff extremely easy to work with. Every guest booked with them and gave great hotel reviews all three days of the course. Located in the Vista district with easy access and short walk to great local stores and restaurants.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomKaten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Dear TomKaten,

I just wanted to take a moment to thank you for your most recent review. I also want to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your most recent stay. We want to ensure that each and everyone of our guests are 100% satisfied during their stay and afterwards! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and the Vista area as well as everyone in your block! We hope that the next time you find yourself in Columbia that we would be your hotel of choice. If my staff or I can be of any assistance to you now or in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us! Thank you again and we wish you and you're a very happy holiday season.

Best regards,

J. Benjamin Blackwell
General Manager
Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown Historic District
822 Gervais Street
Columbia, SC 29201

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed two nights the weekend of Dec. 1, 2012. Hotel is very nice, located downtown convenient to many attractions. Hotel fronts Gervais Street but entrance is off an adjoining road, Lincoln, making our first entry a tad bit confusing. Parking lot is gated with a daily charge of $12. Numerous restaurants/bars are within walking distance, crowds on weekend nights tend to be younger as the University of South Carolina is closeby. Our room was a king, first floor on Gervais side which I thought was going to be a problem with vehicle noise. Sleeping with the AC fan on high, we seldom heard any street noise. The blinds and shades made the room incredibly dark for late morning sleeping. The free breakfast was ample, waffles, sausage, fruit, plenty to choose from. Juices were watery but coffee good. Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. We'd strongly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms not facing Gervais may be quietest.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BK13906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Dear BK13906,

I just wanted to take a moment to thank you for your most recent review. I also want to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your most recent stay. We want to ensure that each and everyone of our guests are 100% satisfied during their stay and afterwards! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and the Vista area. Our Hampton breakfast is ever exanding as we try to meet the demands of today's traveler. We hope that the next time you find yourself in Columbia that we would be your hotel of choice. If my staff or I can be of any assistance to you now or in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us! Thank you again and we wish you and you're a very happy holiday season.

Best regards,

J. Benjamin Blackwell
General Manager
Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown Historic District
822 Gervais Street
Columbia, SC 29201

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

This hotel is conveniently located downtown, with options for restaurants, bars, coffee shops, and salons with one block. Clean hotel, lots of choices for breakfast, coffee anytime of day in the lobby, and cookies!. Staff was helpful, friendly, polite. Second stay was just as nice as the first (one year ago). Will return again.

Room Tip: I was in a room on the main street side of building on the second floor. It was a little noisy, but...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dmoyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Dear dmoyer,

I just wanted to first and foremost thank you for choosing us for your recent stay as well as for you most recent review. We take pride in hearing from our guests and love to hear back from them. The Vista area is a very unique area and we were glad to hear that you were able to get out and enjoy it. We hope that you have the oppertunity to come back and explore the area some more and enjoy some more of our fine city. I hope that the next time you find yourself in the Columbia area, that we are able to accomodate you again! If my staff or I can be of any assistance in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us.


Best regards,

J. Benjamin Blackwell
General Manager
Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown Historic District
822 Gervais Street
Columbia, SC 29201

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed here for a nearby conference. Short walk to convention center with no crossing of traffic. However, try to arrive before dark. Is a bit challenging to find the entrance and parking during peak evening hours. NIce looking building inside and out. Clean with helpful staff. Food for breakfast was great, changing a little each day. Managers reception fine except double check the times. Found 2 different times posted. My TV kept losing signal which was frustrating. The nice desk guy came quickly to reset it but on third ocassion I was trying to get ready and didn't call him. Also, I found that although all 3 exercise machines in fitness center have individual TV screens, only one has a jack for the headphones. The volume didn't work so I had to just watch the news and try to figure out what was going on. Wish they had room for another treadmill. A marathoner beat me to it the second day and I was stuck with the stationary bike. Lots of great restaurants in walking distance is one of the great things about this location. It was pricey but typical for hotels this close to major venues.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shorttrips60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Dear shorttrips60,

First and foremost I just want to thank you for staying with us and secondly I just wanted to thank you for your review. I also wanted to aplogize for the technical issues that you experienced during your stay, as well as to let you know that we take pride in ensuring that each and every one of our guests leave here 100% satisfied. I have taken your review and reported it to all of my staff to ensure that in the future, the TV issues are corrected. I was glad to hear that you did enjoy your stay and the Vista area. We do hope that the next time you find yourself in the Columbia area, that you will choose us as your hotel of choice. If my staff or I can be of any assistance now or in the future, please do not heistate to contact me.


Best regards,

J. Benjamin Blackwell
General Manager
Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown Historic District
822 Gervais Street
Columbia, SC 29201

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Columbia Center
Hilton Columbia Center
#10 of 94 in Columbia
912 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Columbia / Downtown / The Vista
0.8 mi away
Inn at USC Wyndham Garden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown/The Vista
0.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites Columbia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District

Address: 822 Gervais St, Columbia, SC 29201-3126
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Columbia
#6 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
#9 Family Hotel in Columbia
#13 Business Hotel in Columbia
Price Range: $143 - $368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn® hotel in Columbia-Downtown Historic District is located at the heart of the Vista surrounded by over 30 bars and restaurants, less than a mile from the University of South Carolina, the South Carolina State Capitol, the Convention Center, the Colonial Life Arena, 10 minute drive to the Williams Brice Stadium, and most major museums. Get a feel for the southern charm by browsing our local specialty shops just outside our door, or get up close to history at the South Carolina Statehouse-both are within easy reach of our hotel in Columbia. Dig into more history at the South Carolina State Museum, the largest in the state. Our Columbia hotel also gives you easy access to nature wonders like Congaree National Park, one of the last old-growth forests in the south teeming with wildlife and our nearby local river walk, the Riverfront Park, only a mile away and just one exit away from the Riverbanks Zoo. You can also browse masterpieces by Monet at the Columbia Museum of Art. Our parking closed lot is located in the back of the hotel on Lincoln street with a small fee. Any other questions on our property please call us to speak to one of our Guest Service Representatives! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District Hotel Columbia
Columbia Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing