We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hampton hospitality was there.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District
Ranked #4 of 93 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 24, 2011

We really had a wonderful time from the beginning to the end.
Thank you so much.
All the staffs were very nice to us.
And the room, it's HUGE!! and super clean.
You can use a big chest and some empty drawers in the bathroom to put your things in them.
(plus the drawers smell nice and clean, you won't imagine who put their clothes before you. This has never been on my mind when I select a hotel room, I felt OK to put my stuff on top of every flat surfaces I could find. From now on, I'll prefer a room with a big chest.)
I have to mention the great FREE breakfast (including the waffle you can bake your own) they offer. There are so many choices and it's fresh and delicious!!

To Japanese hotel seekers:
アメリカは南部も楽しいところです。特にこのホテルではスタッフが親切で、つたない英語でもゆっくり話を聞いてもらえて、とても安心できました。
貴重品を預ける金庫もフロント内にあり、パスポートなどを預けるのも安心でした。
とにかく部屋が広くて、引き出しも綺麗で、ベッドが天国のようで、朝ごはんが美味しくて、清潔感たっぷりの快適な滞在でした!ありがとうございました!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlin17, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2011

Dear R T,

Your're correct; Hampton Hospitality IS here! Thank you for posting your review, and from the sounds of it, you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. I'm glad you felt comfortable with placing your belongings on the flat surfaces; that speaks highly of our hotel cleanliness. Again, thank you and we look forward to accommodating you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Marlin Fludd - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (930)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

820 - 826 of 930 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2011

The location of the Hampton Inn is excellent if your interested in dining out and not having to get in the car and drive around. There are nice clubs and restaurants right outside the hotels front and rear doors. The staff was very friendly and make an effort to speak to you upon entering a and leaving.
The room is somewhat cramped if you are traveling with kids and the beds were not as great as I have experienced at other Hampton Inns.
There was no microwave or mini fridge in room 516, so we were unable to bring leftovers for the kids to snack on if they got hungry later in the day.
The breakfast was the usual options of muffins, bagles, cereal and yogurt.

Room Tip: Request the amenities you need and not assume you will have a mini fridge or microwave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LibbyLove111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlin17, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2011

Dear LibbyLoveIII,

Thank you for your review!
Most definitely on your next visit, we will have to make sure that you are accommodated in a much larger room type (micro/fridge unit included); as we have different room types that can accommodate larger families. Again, thank you for your feedback and we look foward to your return visit with us at our location.

Best regards,
Marlin Fludd - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

This location is within walking distance to great restaurants and Starbucks, THE morning essential. It is downtown, so even many of the historic or more popular attractions are very close. In fact, the state capital buildings are so close you never know who you might see at the exceptional breakfast the hotel provides.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WineFoodTravelLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlin17, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2011

Dear WineFoodTravelLove,

By the way, I admire your User Name - it defines "comfort". However, thank you for taking the time to post your review. Our location does play a part in the fabulous experience at our location, and I'm thrilled to hear that it was very accommodating.
Please visit again very soon.

Best regards,
Marlin Fludd - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

You can’t beat Hampton Inn – Downtown Columbia. Great Location, Excellent service and the most comfortable beds – AND CLEAN. Great choice – will stay again!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rgilliam76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlin17, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2011

Dear rgilliam76,

Summed up in a nutshell! We're glad that you had such an great experience at our location. Thank you for posting your review, and we look forward your return visit to the property.

Best regards,
Marlin Fludd - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

When staying at the Hampton Inn- historical district in Columbia, S.C. my husband and I had a fabulous time. From start to finish, the hotel employees were friendly, helpful, and gave the extra touches that make a trip more pleasurable. The room was very clean and had all the appointments that I expect. Our breakfast was wonderful, and the staff serving us were helpful and kind. The inn is located in the perfect spot for night-time fun as well. You always feel good when you hear comments like it is my pleasure, or have a wonderful day.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheilaClemson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlin17, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2011

Dear SheilaClemson,

The "extra touches" does make all the difference in making your stay great vs. good. Thank you for taking the time to post your review, and I look forward to accommodating you in the future.

Most sincerely,
Marlin Fludd - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

I have stayed at this hotel many times since my son is a student at University of South Carolina. We love staying here. Quality service, cleanliness and fabulous location. However, I am very disappointed in the substabtially increased rates for football weekends. Over $300 a night is so disappointing. Way out of the budget for a regular Hampton Inn customer and unfair pricing for your clientele. I can stay just down the street at a Marriott property on a football weekend for under $150. Sorry but I think it is shameful.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharonAnnapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlin17, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2011

Dear SharonAnnapolis,

Thank you for completing a review on your most recent experience with us; as well as thank you for voicing your concerns regarding our special event rates.
I do understand your point of veiw, and our rates have increased slightly from the previous years. I truly value your loyalty to our location and the Hampton Brand, and I will be more than happy to further discuss this with you, at your convenience. Again, thank you for your time and I look forward to hearing from you.

Best Regards,
Marlin Fludd - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2011

All you could want in a hotel. Karen at the front desk was very professional and accomodating. Rooms and hotel super clean- as I am personally annoyed when a hotel is ranke 3 star or higher and you arrive to a dated and dirty hotel. This hotel is great. Wished all the hotels I visit were of this caliber.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlin17, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2011

Dear WalterBTV,

Thank you for posting your review regarding your most recent experience at our location. I will make sure that Karen hears about her professionalism, as well as thank you for thinking so highly of us and giving us the opportunity to prove it!

Best Regards,

Marlin Fludd - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Columbia Center
Hilton Columbia Center
#9 of 93 in Columbia
951 reviews
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Columbia / Downtown / The Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aloft Columbia Downtown
Aloft Columbia Downtown
#19 of 93 in Columbia
75 reviews
0.8 mi away
Inn at USC Wyndham Garden
8.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia-I-26 Harbison Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District

Address: 822 Gervais St, Columbia, SC 29201-3126
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Columbia
#6 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
#9 Family Hotel in Columbia
#13 Business Hotel in Columbia
Price Range: $131 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn® hotel in Columbia-Downtown Historic District is located at the heart of the Vista surrounded by over 30 bars and restaurants, less than a mile from the University of South Carolina, the South Carolina State Capitol, the Convention Center, the Colonial Life Arena, 10 minute drive to the Williams Brice Stadium, and most major museums. Get a feel for the southern charm by browsing our local specialty shops just outside our door, or get up close to history at the South Carolina Statehouse-both are within easy reach of our hotel in Columbia. Dig into more history at the South Carolina State Museum, the largest in the state. Our Columbia hotel also gives you easy access to nature wonders like Congaree National Park, one of the last old-growth forests in the south teeming with wildlife and our nearby local river walk, the Riverfront Park, only a mile away and just one exit away from the Riverbanks Zoo. You can also browse masterpieces by Monet at the Columbia Museum of Art. Our parking closed lot is located in the back of the hotel on Lincoln street with a small fee. Any other questions on our property please call us to speak to one of our Guest Service Representatives! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District Hotel Columbia
Columbia Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing