We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVE Hampton Inn - Downtown Columbia”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District
Ranked #4 of 93 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 28, 2011

You can’t beat Hampton Inn – Downtown Columbia. Great Location, Excellent service and the most comfortable beds – AND CLEAN. Great choice – will stay again!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rgilliam76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlin17, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2011

Dear rgilliam76,

Summed up in a nutshell! We're glad that you had such an great experience at our location. Thank you for posting your review, and we look forward your return visit to the property.

Best regards,
Marlin Fludd - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (916)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

809 - 815 of 916 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2011

When staying at the Hampton Inn- historical district in Columbia, S.C. my husband and I had a fabulous time. From start to finish, the hotel employees were friendly, helpful, and gave the extra touches that make a trip more pleasurable. The room was very clean and had all the appointments that I expect. Our breakfast was wonderful, and the staff serving us were helpful and kind. The inn is located in the perfect spot for night-time fun as well. You always feel good when you hear comments like it is my pleasure, or have a wonderful day.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheilaClemson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlin17, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2011

Dear SheilaClemson,

The "extra touches" does make all the difference in making your stay great vs. good. Thank you for taking the time to post your review, and I look forward to accommodating you in the future.

Most sincerely,
Marlin Fludd - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

I have stayed at this hotel many times since my son is a student at University of South Carolina. We love staying here. Quality service, cleanliness and fabulous location. However, I am very disappointed in the substabtially increased rates for football weekends. Over $300 a night is so disappointing. Way out of the budget for a regular Hampton Inn customer and unfair pricing for your clientele. I can stay just down the street at a Marriott property on a football weekend for under $150. Sorry but I think it is shameful.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharonAnnapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlin17, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2011

Dear SharonAnnapolis,

Thank you for completing a review on your most recent experience with us; as well as thank you for voicing your concerns regarding our special event rates.
I do understand your point of veiw, and our rates have increased slightly from the previous years. I truly value your loyalty to our location and the Hampton Brand, and I will be more than happy to further discuss this with you, at your convenience. Again, thank you for your time and I look forward to hearing from you.

Best Regards,
Marlin Fludd - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2011

All you could want in a hotel. Karen at the front desk was very professional and accomodating. Rooms and hotel super clean- as I am personally annoyed when a hotel is ranke 3 star or higher and you arrive to a dated and dirty hotel. This hotel is great. Wished all the hotels I visit were of this caliber.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlin17, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2011

Dear WalterBTV,

Thank you for posting your review regarding your most recent experience at our location. I will make sure that Karen hears about her professionalism, as well as thank you for thinking so highly of us and giving us the opportunity to prove it!

Best Regards,

Marlin Fludd - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2011

Nice location-friendly staff.
TV remote was missing and a replacement was delivered in under a minute.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Masseyjake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlin17, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2011

Dear Masseyjake,

Talk about Service Recovery; I'm delighted to hear that we were able to provide you with an replacement remote in such a timely manner. Thank you for takng the time to post your review, and we look foward to your return visit.

Thank you,
Marlin Fludd - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

We were in Columbia for part business and part leisure. This hotel is ideally located in the historic district and is walking distance to many wonderful restaurants and art galleries. The beds were sooo comfortable and the rooms modern and clean. We enjoyed the complimentary breakfast and evening manager's happy hour. You must eat at The Blue Marlin, Ristorante Divino and Pearlz Oyster Bar which are all within a 2 block area around the hotel. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlin17, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2011

Dear Jamminmom,

WOW; it sounds like you enjoyed our fabulous location, neighboring restaurants, bedding, breakfast and happy hour; what an experience! Thank you for sharing your comments and we look forward to accommodating you in the near future.

Thank you,
Marlin Fludd - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2011

We could not have asked for a nicer place to stay! We went to Columbia for our Godson"s graduation . The hotel staff were just great. We absolutely enjoyed our stay and look forward to returning soon. Thanks again!!!

Room Tip: Just ask! if it is possible they will do it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adunn3irish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlin17, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2011

Dear adunn3irish,

Thank you for choosing our location for accommodations during such a special weekend. If you have reason to visit Columbia, SC again; please consider our location for accommodations. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

Marlin Fludd - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Columbia Center
Hilton Columbia Center
#10 of 93 in Columbia
937 reviews
0.8 mi away
Inn at USC Wyndham Garden
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Columbia / Downtown / The Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Columbia Marriott
Columbia Marriott
#23 of 93 in Columbia
594 reviews
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC
8.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia-I-26 Harbison Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District

Address: 822 Gervais St, Columbia, SC 29201-3126
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Columbia
#6 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
#9 Family Hotel in Columbia
#13 Business Hotel in Columbia
Price Range: $112 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn® hotel in Columbia-Downtown Historic District is located at the heart of the Vista surrounded by over 30 bars and restaurants, less than a mile from the University of South Carolina, the South Carolina State Capitol, the Convention Center, the Colonial Life Arena, 10 minute drive to the Williams Brice Stadium, and most major museums. Get a feel for the southern charm by browsing our local specialty shops just outside our door, or get up close to history at the South Carolina Statehouse-both are within easy reach of our hotel in Columbia. Dig into more history at the South Carolina State Museum, the largest in the state. Our Columbia hotel also gives you easy access to nature wonders like Congaree National Park, one of the last old-growth forests in the south teeming with wildlife and our nearby local river walk, the Riverfront Park, only a mile away and just one exit away from the Riverbanks Zoo. You can also browse masterpieces by Monet at the Columbia Museum of Art. Our parking closed lot is located in the back of the hotel on Lincoln street with a small fee. Any other questions on our property please call us to speak to one of our Guest Service Representatives! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District Hotel Columbia
Columbia Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing