We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loving Hampton more and more”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District
Ranked #4 of 94 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
nc
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“Loving Hampton more and more”
Reviewed June 16, 2011

Every time we stay in a Hampton, I find myself saying the same thing: I love these hotels. And this one was no exception. We stayed here for 1 night only for a wedding; pretty much everyone in our family was there. In our party was me, my husband, our 15-year-old daughter, our 19-year-old son and his girlfriend. Even with a large air mattress on the floor, we still had plenty of room. The outside of the hotel (landscaping) was very pretty; front desk staff greeted us and were very friendly; and our room was exceptionally clean and comfortable. The bed could have been just a tad more comfy, but still wasn't bad. Breakfast the next day was ample, about what you would expect. If we ever return to this area, we would stay here again, but will always look for Hamptons wherever we go.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nervousnelly2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlin17, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this review, June 28, 2011
Dear Nervousnelly2,

Please keep on loving Hampton Inn hotels more and more because we strive to make your experience better and better on every stay! I'm glad our hotel assisted in keeping Hampton Inn's name alive. We look forward to your return visit with us in Columbia, SC, as well as THANK YOU, for supporting the Brand!

Sincerely,
Marlin Fludd - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    556
    212
    66
    17
    8
See reviews for
236
168
52
305
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
Reviewed May 23, 2011

this is easily one of the best hampton inns or any hotel for that matter. location great. staff great. parking and amenities were really great for my very picky family.

Room Tip: web site
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chico3223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlin17, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this review, May 24, 2011
Dear Chico3223,

Thank you for completing an review on your experience, as well as thank you for the compliment! We look forward to your return visit.

Best,
Marlin Fludd - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed May 16, 2011

I have always preferred Hampton Inns for hotels in the mid-range; however, this hotel is very much like a high-end hotel. The room I stayed in had high-end details and was very attractive. The bed was very comfortable, as was the bedding. The room was very quiet. The location is perfect in Vista area of Columbia, a restored warehouse area with tons of character and charm. Lots of restaurants, shops, and a Starbucks across the street (very important to me). The area is very walkable, so great for someone like me in Columbia without a car. Staff is great. By the way, for all of you travelers out there, don't forget to tip your housekeeping staff.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Academic_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlin17, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this review, May 24, 2011
Dear Academic_11,

Thank you for your great testimony! Besides our outstanding service level, our location is very much a plus for us; as you've experienced. We sincerely appreciate the your business, and yes, please tip the housekeeping staff members - the hardest working people in the industry!

Thank you,
Marlin Fludd - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Va
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2011

I have stayed at this Hampton Inn on several occasions in the past year as my daughter is in college in Columbia. The hotel is always clean and the beds are as comfortable as luxury beds in other high end hotels. The staff is always polite and courteous. The location is fabulous, close to campus and within walking distance of great restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dhk923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlin17, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this review, May 24, 2011
Dear dhk923,

Thank you for taking the time to post your reveiw. It's very delightful knowing that you consider our location your home away from home! We look forward to accommodating you in the future throughout your daughter's college career.

Best Regards,
Marlin Fludd - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2011

When a co-worker booked me into this Hampton Inn I choked a bit at the price. I knew it was in a great location, but a Hampton in Columbia, SC at $169 per night? Then I found out why:
- Location is awesome. 20+ cool places to eat in short walking distance.
- Staff is uber-friendly.
- Room was excellent. Big, well appointed, comfortable. The bathroom was huge and elegant. I was really impressed by the Palmetto tree etching on the shower door glass.
- Afternoon free happy hour with buckets of beer, wine and appitizers: nice.
- Free breakfast: excellent.
Not only can't I think of anything bad, but I can't think of anything that wasn't at least Very Good.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pabrro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlin17, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this review, May 11, 2011
Dear Pabrro,

Thank you for taking the time to respond through Trip Advisor regarding your recent experience with us - and what an great experience!
I'm glad that you felt that you recieved "value for the price paid" , as well as thank you for giving us the opportunity, and not being discouraged by the cost - as you found out that it was well worth it!
Thank you, and we look forward to accommodating you again in the future.

Marlin Fludd - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2011

When we arrived there was no cart available help us take our bags to our room. We had to search to hotel to find one. And there was no person to help either. This was at 6PM on Friday, so it was not some unusual hour.

Our room was not well lit. Reading lamps were only installed on one side of the bed, so one of us had to read with poor lighting.

There was an empty space where a little table should have been -- one for sitting and perhaps eating a sandwich or snack. I inquired and was told it would be taken care of but I never heard again from anyone.

On Sunday we went to sit by the pool and relax or eat our lunch, but the pool was being repaired and there was no place to sit. Although it was small, it would have been fine for us.

Pillows were small and uncomfortable.

Everyone was pleasant, but no one cared or did anything.
It has a fitness center, but it was pretty sparse.

Air conditioner and fan was quite noisy, which made it difficult to sleep.

Advertised hot breakfast was marginal. Oatmeal was instant.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bionicgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlin17, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this review, May 16, 2011
Dear Bionicgirl,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your experience at our location. I would first like to apologize for the feeling that "Nobody Cared". That is definately not the case with our staff; we do care and we want to correct matters so that you're satisfied. However based on your reporting, I do understand your frustrations, and again, I apologize. I hope this particular stay doesn't discourage you from choosing our location again in the future, as I know our service level is significantly above what you experienced. Please feel free to contact me to further discuss. I look forward to hearing from you.

Most Sincerely,
Marlin Fludd - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, SC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2011

We enjoyed our two days. The staff (at the counter, stocking the coffee bar and housekeeping, especially Sheila) were very friendly, repsonsive and extremely helpful. The room was great. The service was beyond great. It was nice being so close to so many differnt things. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank busbeeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlin17, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this review, April 12, 2011
Dear busbeeg,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent staying with us. It's always good to hear that our daily efforts paid off in making your stay a memorable one, and we look foward to accommodating you in the future.

Thank you,
Marlin Fludd - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Columbia / Downtown / The Vista
0.8 mi away
Inn at USC Wyndham Garden
0.2 mi away
Hilton Columbia Center
Hilton Columbia Center
#10 of 94 in Columbia
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites Columbia
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown/The Vista
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District

Property: Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District
Address: 822 Gervais St, Columbia, SC 29201-3126
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Columbia
#6 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
#9 Family Hotel in Columbia
#13 Business Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn® hotel in Columbia-Downtown Historic District is located at the heart of the Vista surrounded by over 30 bars and restaurants, less than a mile from the University of South Carolina, the South Carolina State Capitol, the Convention Center, the Colonial Life Arena, 10 minute drive to the Williams Brice Stadium, and most major museums. Get a feel for the southern charm by browsing our local specialty shops just outside our door, or get up close to history at the South Carolina Statehouse-both are within easy reach of our hotel in Columbia. Dig into more history at the South Carolina State Museum, the largest in the state. Our Columbia hotel also gives you easy access to nature wonders like Congaree National Park, one of the last old-growth forests in the south teeming with wildlife and our nearby local river walk, the Riverfront Park, only a mile away and just one exit away from the Riverbanks Zoo. You can also browse masterpieces by Monet at the Columbia Museum of Art. Our parking closed lot is located in the back of the hotel on Lincoln street with a small fee. Any other questions on our property please call us to speak to one of our Guest Service Representatives! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District Hotel Columbia
Columbia Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing