We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quite a gem.”

Oyster Bar Columbia
Ranked #77 of 974 Restaurants in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Quite a gem.”
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

This place was recommended by a local who described it as a dive with amazing food in a relaxed atmosphere. That description was dead on the money. We had boiled shrimp, raw oysters, low country boil, shrimp and grits and cold beer. All were absolutely outstanding. No need to dress up to go here. Just got and enjoy a simple menu done just right.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tdgator1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    29
    11
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
65 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“best place in columbia for oysters”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

ONe of my favorite go to spots in Columbia. Hang out at the front bar and enjoy drinks and sports on the big TV. Grab a stool in the back and watch the guys shuck away for you. Put them down by the dozen... Makes me want some right now..

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wranglerspace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, South Carolina
Level Contributor
80 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“If You Love Oysters This is the Place”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

The entrance to the Oyster Bar is unassuming: a small dark room with a semi-circular bar with one or two hangers-on and a few empty tables. The magic happen behind it. Walking around either edge of the bar you will enter a bright large room with long bars parallel to each other. Perched on a stool, facing the other guests on the other bar, and the "shuckers' scurry in between, serving up great raw (dozen or half-) or steamed oysters (peck or half-) and shucking them for you. The shuckers are chatty like a floor show, usually, or if you're focused on your partner that's ok, too. I recommend a chilled bottle of Muscadet de Sèvre et Maine, but if you're a beer drinker you'll find a decent variety. I usually start with a cup of their excellent New England clam chowder. An evening at the Oyster Bar is always a treat, worth the 45 minute trip for me to get there.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johnmoncure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
56 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great oysters!”
Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

I have eaten here many times over the years and although expensive the raw bar is fresh and the seafood is good. I don't know why but I LOVE their cocktail sauce. I wouldn't suggest the crab legs or crawfish as these are obviously frozen and not much put into them. But if you are in the mood for oysters this is the place to go!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YblesEnahs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Delicious and Fun”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

What a great time we had here! After some slightly annoying confusion over seating our party of four at the oyster bar, we settled in comfortably. You can get a "peck" of oysters for $21 which is a great deal. They shuck them right in front of you and give you at the accouterments necessary for an oyster-binging session!
Brock was our server and he was attentive and knowledgeable with the food and wine list. We even took home a couple bottles of specialty hot sauces.
Also it was very affordable, with tip around $40 for each person and we had plenty to eat and drink!
I highly, highly recommend a visit here!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KEO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oyster Bar Columbia also viewed

 

Been to Oyster Bar Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing