We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oysters always fresh”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pearlz Oyster Bar

Pearlz Oyster Bar
Ranked #17 of 967 Restaurants in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Original, Eclectic Little Oyster BarPearlz Oyster Bar is committed to serving only the best seafood South Carolina has to offer. Our Seafood Menu features an assorted mix of raw shellfish, local seafood, Lowcountry recipes, and regional favorites. Our raw bar offers a variety of oysters and fresh seasonal shellfish. We're also a part of the Sustainable Seafood Initiative, so eating at Pearlz is good for both the palate and the planet.A full-service bar serving the coldest beers and unique, refreshing cocktails, Pearlz has become a favorite happy hour meeting spot for both locals and visitors alike.Patrons looking for a nightcap and a bite to eat can order from our late night menu, which features several of Pearlz' signature dishes.
columbia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Oysters always fresh”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

If you want the best oysters in Columbia SC and a nice atmosphere, Pearlz is the only oyster bar for you. Beer and drinks always cold and good too

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LittleDogAgency, Public Relations Manager at Pearlz Oyster Bar, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you so much! We are very happy to hear you continue to enjoy our oysters and your experience with us. We hope to see you again soon!

-Pearlz/Little Dog Agency (Marketing Agency)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    81
    26
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Georgia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Our favorite restaurant in Columbia”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

We discovered Pearlz on our first trip to Columbia last year, and we have returned there several times. We sat at the bar at our most recent visit, we enjoyed it very much. The oysters we had were not memorable but they were fresh. My husband and I love shellfish and seafood and we have sampled many of their dishes and always enjoyed them. The prices are reasonable. We love sitting in the front area, especially when the big windows are open. I know we will be back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SolangeI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LittleDogAgency, Public Relations Manager at Pearlz Oyster Bar, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you so much! We are happy to hear you continue to enjoy your experience with us at Pearlz. We hope to see you again soon!

-Pearlz/Little Dog Agency (Marketing Agency)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
288 reviews
207 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 311 helpful votes
“Get There Early!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We tried to get in the night we got to Columbia and gave up. So we were there at 4 p.m. when they opened the next day. The service was very good. They oysters were just ok and the corn fritters and cold steamed shrimp were lack luster. The prices are very fair which explains the crowds I guess. Worth a try.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank pahhobbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumter, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great happy hour and staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

Nice atmosphere, our server was caring and had a nice attitude. We had excellent drinks and delicious food. Tried the oysters and shrimp from the happy hour menu. Anxious to return

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beverly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sqerlygirl
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Amazing food and great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

My husband and I ate here for the first time and were very impressed...the food and service were great! I had the whle flounder with asparagus as a side. The portion was huge! Cooked and flavored to perfection...I enjoyed every bite.
My husband had the salmon and loved it.
They sold out of the Red Velvet Cake which I really wanted, so have them put a piece to the side for you when you order your app. I saw others eating it and it looked delish! We ended up sharing the Triple Play which is a enormous slice of chocolate cake...crazy good!
Happy Hour drink specials were great...canned beer came in a Pearlz cozzi...nice touch.
Our server was wonderful...made food recommendations and told us which sauces went best with what. We loved sauces and trying new flavors...she sent us home with several in to go containers so we could try them. Great dinner and date night with hubby!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sqerlygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pearlz Oyster Bar also viewed

 

Been to Pearlz Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing