We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient location, right off the interstate.”

Maurice's Piggie Park BBQ
Ranked #136 of 969 Restaurants in Columbia
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: South Carolina's Favorite Barbeque! Real BBQ, Cooked on our Hickory Wood-Fired Pits for 24 Hours!We cook our BBQ the old fashioned way, over hickory coals for 24 hours to optimize that smoky flavor with no preservatives or chemicals! Taste our Ribs, Chicken, & Brisket, and one of the Best Burgers in Columbia! Family Owned and Operated since 1953.
Clover, SC
Level Contributor
133 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Convenient location, right off the interstate.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

Stopped because it was off the exit. Good portions, friendly staff. I tried the standard plate which has coleslaw and rice & hash with BBQ. Comes mustard based but cashier recommended that I put some of the tomato based on it also. Blended well. Both of the sides were excellent. We also got a banana pudding to go. Very good also and plenty for two people.

Helpful?
Thank Petey05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    20
    7
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, NC
Level Contributor
412 reviews
294 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Tasty - as always!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Being a NC guy (who loves Lexington-styled BBQ), I have found that SC's mustard-based BBQ is also pretty doggone good! Over the years, when visiting Columbia, SC, I've tried to stop in at a Maurice's Piggie Park - and once again, I was very pleased. The BBQ was moist, lean, and tasty... and cole slaw excellent, and the white rice & hash is really good too. Good place to chow down.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey Shore, New Jersey
Level Contributor
148 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“Always make a stop when in Carolina”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

It's been a long time since I lived in Columbia, but every time I visit, I make sure I stop at one Maurice's locations. The mustard based bbq is something that I can only find in SC, so it's a unique taste that I crave when I'm in the area. It's far from gourmet, but it is really good from time to time. I really think overall I enjoy the hush puppies and slaw the most. My friends, who live in the area, don't get as excited as I do about going here when I'm in town, but I guess it's one of those foods you only appreciate when you don't always have access to it. Yes, I'll be going there again on my next trip.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marvingardens1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Random stop found great food!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Big portions. Tried all the sauces, everyone great. Carolina Hash? I almost bought another plate of it. Highly recommend this place...

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tpurvis06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport
Level Contributor
72 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“BBQ changed recently”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stopped en route to Atlanta as we have many times. This was the location on S Lake Dr in Lexington SC just off I-20. The pork ribs were soaked in BBQ sauce and mushy. It was as though they had been cooked much earlier and then heated in sauce all day. My husband had the pulled pork, which was prepared in the same manner. This had to be the worst BBQ we have ever eaten. This was not at all like it originally was served, or even a year ago. The interior of the place has seen better days and there was only one waitress managing carryout and tables.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aubreyrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maurice's Piggie Park BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Maurice's Piggie Park BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing