We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff but not knowledgeable about beer or ales”
Review of Carolina Ale House

Carolina Ale House
Ranked #91 of 983 Restaurants in Columbia
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Bar
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Saluda, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice staff but not knowledgeable about beer or ales”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

The veggie pizza is good as are most specials. They have a nice selection of beer and the tap system is always clean. However the staff is largely clueless about craft beer. Beer prices are a bit higher than the flying saucer.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fast F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    60
    18
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sanibel Island, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great if you like local sports”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Very LOUD but great service, beer selection and menu. We were visiting the area and had no interest in the loud Saturday football games on all the TV's

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank noplacelikehome123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good eating”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great wings and cold beer. Not overly loud. Plenty of tv's for watching sports. Service quick and friendly. Covered smoking area outside.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JimB101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Nice atmosphere”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Drinks were very good and beer was ice cold. Bartender, guy wearing the glasses was amazing, always taking care of our needs. We enjoyed everything, I would recommend live music outside for happy hour.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Nothing Special and a Bad Hamburger”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

The restaurant was far from full on a Saturday evening which perhaps should have told me something. The beer menu was extensive but had little to offer in the way of local beers. As to food, I ordered a hamburger and it was pitifully overcooked. The meat was a shrunken, dried overdone piece of meat inspite of ordering it medium rare. The waitress and manager were apologetic but did nothing to correct the situation or get me something acceptable to eat. I was looking for some local flavor in a sports bar/restaurant with decent food. It was a sports bar but offered little else for my satisfaction. I will not return nor recommend this Carolina Ale House.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bizzy_livin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Carolina Ale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing